We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was like visiting a friend overseas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Offbeat Istanbul Walking Tours / Day Tours

Offbeat Istanbul Walking Tours / Day Tours
Ranked #151 of 402 Tours in Istanbul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: sharing with you the true colours of Istanbul – off the beaten track
Leicester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was like visiting a friend overseas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have just spent a really lovely time with our guide, Duygu. Her fluent English and charming manner made the tour so relaxed and comfortable. She tailored our day to include our interest in artisanal and historical Istanbul in Beyoglu. We found out good places to eat, to shop for food and to explore where we could find creative and artistic designers selling objects and furniture. On top of that, Duygu showed us history in the streets of Beyoglu and was such a wonderful host we felt we were visiting a friend overseas. We will surely remember it as one of the highlights of our visit to Istanbul.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneyP03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The real Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My friends and I took the Beyoglu orientation tour, starting at Galata Tower. Duygu, our guide, was warm, friendly and knowledgable, and made us feel instantly at home in the city. Spanning the surrounding area down to the Bosphorus river, along the waterfront and back, we explored the nooks and crannies of the Beyoglu area. Duygu tailored the walk to the things we were interested in (food, more food) and the three hours flew by. She showed us a number of places we would have otherwise missed, and afterwards she sent us a list of the local places to check out, which we spent the rest of the trip working through.

It is a great way to acquaint yourself with the city through the eyes of a local, and I highly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank superhighfives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Tips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My family and I took the Beyoglu Orientation tour. This proved to be a great idea as our guide Duygu made as feel comfortable from the word go and showed around areas we would of missed if on our own. We had a 7 year old in our party and Duygu went out of her way to make it interesting for her as well, she thoroughly enjoyed herself and was sad when the tour ended after a very quick 3 hours ( as we all were)..

Lots of top tips for places to eat and great views to be had, all in all a very valuable help in making our stay in Istanbul more enjoyable, highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John122112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing introduction to Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and I visited Istanbul this past July and one of the best things we did was to arrange for walking tours through Offbeat Istanbul Walking Tours. Our guides Duygu and Necla were fantastic and generous in providing very insightful comments about contemporary Turkish society. We signed up for 3 tours initially (introduction tour, otherside tour and foodie tour) and we found the experience so great that we squeezed in another tour before we left. I was travelling with my elderly mother and her friend and I really appreciated the care that these ladies took in making sure that the tours met their needs as well. Duygu and Necla gave us a great sense of what is like to live in Istanbul and insights into everyday life. The tours were structured with great care and we learned things about Turkish life that a tourist could never glean through the more traditional tours. Highly recommended. A highlight of our trip to Turkey!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank romyandtoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fabulous insight into Istanbul”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent 3 hours wandering the streets of Galata and Beyoglu with Duygu our delightful guide. She was passionate, knowledgable and insightful and showed us some really interesting out of the way places. We ate at a few of the places she recommended - delicious. It was a really enjoyable and worthwhile way to see and understand a city. Highly recommend this.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Offbeat Istanbul Walking Tours / Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Offbeat Istanbul Walking Tours / Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing