We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem ”

Istanbul Photography Museum
Ranked #228 of 1,033 things to do in Istanbul
Attraction details
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I went there after checking the reviews on trip advisor and I must say this place is awesome. They not only have great photographs but the background music creates a great atmosphere. Also, unlike other places in Istanbul, it's very cheap. The adult ticket is 3tl but as a student I spent only 1tl

Helpful?
Thank Matheus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A hidden gem for photography enthusiasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This museum was an unexpected find that turned out be amazing! It was right next to a cafe my husband and I frequented (highly recommend that cafe, too, by the way). We decided to go because my husband has a great interest in photography and we were not disappointed at all! The entrance fee was ~5 liras but we got a free entry because it was free for students and educators. It was great to find an attraction in Istanbul that was quiet and not crowded at all. When we visited, they had 6 exhibits including historical photographs from Turkey, artistic photos of the Whirling Dervishes, and photos of famous Turkish photographers/journalists themselves. I got to know about many important moments in the country's history and got a peep into the Turkish culture as well. A real hidden gem. Go explore!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MeghaGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great visit and gives a modern day image in the middle of all the history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Istanbul Photography Museum is a very good visit. The museum is located in Fatih, in the historical peninsula, relatively near the Gran Bazar. It gives a nice change in the middle of all the historical sights.

The museum is small and the tickets are 1-3 liras. When we visited they had five different small exhibitions. My favorites were one with pictures from the best Turkish photographers and one that was a collection of press photos since the beginning of the republic. Both were very accurate and professional.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mil123lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location? 60km, 12hr walk?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I did not go there. The address seems to be 60km & a ferry ride from the described location. I would like to go there if the location could be verified.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Tyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must if you love photography!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The museum is not i a very touristic part of the Sultanahmet district, but still about only 15-20 mins by foot from Blue Mosque and is absolutely a must for everyone who likes photography. It's not that big and hosts one permanent exposition and some exhibitions. The museum is on the 2nd floor of the building.The staff is very nice and friendly. I was really impressed by the quality and artistic expression of the works displayed. Exhibition "Cuba" by Izzet Keribar is absolutely fantastic. Museums also gives brief description of the photography history in Turkey.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ajonins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Photography Museum also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul Photography Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing