We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sultan Mehmed Hotel
Ranked #256 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I can talk about the stratigic location and the cleanliness of the rooms and the new interior work done in the hotel, but i have decided to focus on how exleccelnt and caring the team at this hotel is
From the moment you arrive they greet you help you advice you hand you brochures and maps they carry the bags they smile they are patient accurate and extremely caring team begning of the manager and owner mr Mehmed whom the hotel is named after , his generosity and patience were amazing
to the manager and reception guy who's really a gentle man and a n ideal face to turkey and a n honorable representation to tourism ,he more than caring to extent you feel he is a family member
We stayed three night in october then had an earlier booking at another part in town thus we had to checkout ,other wise we would have loved to stay more
We will Sure come back again i do advice you to book in this petit nice hotel specially if you would lime to spend more time in the ancient part of the historical area of the European side of Istanbul,

( the only downside to our stay is that the double room wr had was abit small and the closet is super tiny and the tiny tiny terrace over looked the back area of the old houses near by and balconies ) but it really does not matter believe me..try this hotel and you will NOT regret it.

Room Tip: Book the room with the from view of the hotel which is usualy a king size bed not a twin)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 93 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is located in the old town, close to the Blue Mosque. So, you can reach many touristic points by foot, avoiding the infamous Istanbul traffic jams. The staff is very attentive, they really care about the guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlosPinheiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Everything was amazing, from the Hotel owner who was helpful with tours and daily excursions, the staff, the breakfast. Can very highly recommend. Very close to many sites. Shortly going to open a Cafe.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarionCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to people who will travel to Istanbul. The hotel is just launched and very new. The rooms are very limited though, yet it is very nice, pleasant, and comfortable. It could be better if they improve the duvet, however everything is perfect.

The staff is very helpful and always try to help you.

The location is in the heart of Sultanahmet, which is 5 minutes form Blue Mosque and 7 minutes to Grand Bazaar, and there are lots of restaurant around the hotel. It will take you around 30-45 minutes to Airport to the hotel, and if you travel alone, it is better to get their pick up service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wveronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I really recommend this hotel because they are very good professionals: always trying to help. The hotel has an awesome structure (room, beds, bathroom, service). There is all day tea, coffee, snacks and water if you want in a lobby table. The breakfast is awesome too. Its very close to a lot of good restaurants and the major mosks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeydess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is in a prime location within walking distance to all the major tourist attractions. We stayed here for 2 nights. they setup our roundtrip transfers from the airport. Our room (204) had 2 twin beds with hard mattresses, the view from the balcony was decent, the restroom/ showers are small but very clean. The turkish breakfast is standard (made to order eggs). The hotel staff kindly walked us into the blue mosque giving us a history of the area. Being american-korean, we enjoyed dining at a korean restaurants across the street and found a lot of korean tour groups everywhere we went. Overall, despite the rainy cold weather, we enjoyed our short visit to Istanbul and would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moxie381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Анар И
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#20 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,016 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
319 reviews
Sultanahmet
Barbera Hotel
Barbera Hotel
#11 of 1,163 in Istanbul
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,140 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#4 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,475 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#121 of 1,163 in Istanbul
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Mehmed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Mehmed Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasoyfa Cad. No:43, | Sultanahmet - Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $55 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sultan Mehmed Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Mehmed Hotel located only 300 m from the Blue Mosque; Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern are 650 m away ; the Topkapi Palace and Sultanahmet Tram Station is 750 m away from the property. Ataturk Airport is 18 km from Sultan Mehmed Hotel. A shuttle service can be arranged on request at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Sultan Mehmed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing