We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Walking!”

Istanbul On Bike - Tours
Ranked #17 of 119 Outdoor Activities in Istanbul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Istanbul On Bike is the first and only professional guided bike tour of Istanbul. The tour is designed to show you the best of Istanbul - great monuments as well as hidden nooks and crannies – and to give you a taste of its daily life. Several itineraries of different lengths and difficulty are available. Istanbul On Bike is the perfect mix of sightseeing and sport: simply the best way of visiting this amazing city!
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better Than Walking!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We took the Classic Tour for the first morning of our stay to get an idea of what we could go back to visit during our trip but the ride also took us through other areas which you would not normally visit as a tourist. Although some of the ride was in the busy traffic it always felt safe as a group. It was great fun with Dario as our guide. He was very knowledgable and made frequent stops to talk about what we were seeing (and to let us get our breath back at the top of hills!). Included was a break with a drink and Turkish snacks which was a nice bonus. We would thoroughly recommend this as a way to get the feel of the city.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    11
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great introduction to the city!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our Classic Tour with Dario last week. It was our first day in the city, so we wanted to use it to get our bearings, and an initial overview of the city. Dario was great; very informative, friendly, professional. We had a mixed ability group which he managed extremely well. We saw all the main sites, as well as some more quirky ones, like tasting 'Boza', the traditional energy drink. Despite the mad traffic, we always felt safe, and being on a bike gave us the best of both worlds: close enough to get a real sense of the atmosphere, but fast enough to cover quite a lot of ground in a short space of time. I'd highly recommend this to anyone who can ride a bike! We'd have loved to book another tour with Dario, but unfortunately ran out of time. Next time!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vjlawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volendam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect City view”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked the Istanbul Classictour, the booking proces worked perfect and the meetingpoint was easy to find. The Belgium guide (Geert) arrived on time and the bycicles whe perfect. The weather was fine, Geert wo has a background in archeology spoke about the city like he was borned her. We had a great time and recommend the tour for every 8 - 80´s.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EricVolendam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful time--Excellent tour”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hi, my girlfriend and I took a tour about two weeks ago and we had a wonderful tour! It was extremely informative and we were able to see not only the areas highlighted in every tour book all in one day, but also some out-of-the-way neighborhoods as well. All while being guided professionally and safely on two sturdy bikes. Dario and Geert (spelling? sorry!) were a lot of fun to cycle around with, in an amazing city. We also got to eat the freshest simit on our journey!

Overall, highly recommended, and very, very much enjoyed.

-Luke & Libby

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant classic Istanbul cycle tour”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Really enjoyed this tour. Great guides. Perfect balance between seeing and learning about old Istanbul and at the same time making good progress on the bikes. Guides (Gem and Dario) we're friendly, fun and knowledgable. Would highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoddersHodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul On Bike - Tours also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul On Bike - Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing