We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place”

Kilic Ali Pasa Hamami
Ranked #2 of 132 Spas & Wellness in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kılıç Ali Paşa Hamam; The elegant authentic surroundings of this Turkish bath, magnificent creation of Mimar Sinan, transcends the timeless barriers between old and new… Giving you an escape from the hustle and bustle of beautiful Istanbul City.Mimar Sinan the legendary Architect of that period was commissioned by “Kilic Ali Pasa” to build the Hamam to withstand the ravages of the sea and time. The large light, Magnificent Dome above the Camegah (relaxation area) is 14 meters across and 17 meters high one of the largest single domes built by Sinan. The features of the Kulhan Chimney/exhaust, the leaded domes and the glass elephant eyes along with brick by brick reappointing, original Kurnas and some carved stone and marble slabs found during excavation have been retained and used within the premises adding to its extreme historical beauty and interest.The Hamam Ritual is an ancient one, the materials used have not significantly changed and used to restore energy and vitality to the body by reducing the toxins, and allowing the skin to breathe again
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“beautiful place”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

lovely staff, beautiful building, wonderfully restored. Spotlessly clean as well. Easy to find - just next to the Mosque at Tophane

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dolores186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    76
    21
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Contemporary tradition in the hammam”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very good experience. Great architecture, just restored, nice english speaking girls at the desk, relaxing atmosphere, professional women for washing, supermassage afterwards. You have the feeling the procedure is part of a tradition that is still alive, and you are there to enjoy yourself, not a turist to be squeezed. Not cheap compare to others, but worthed every lira. Very important: remember to book it in advance. I will go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Melina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Know before you go”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was my first ever hamami experience, and I am so glad I did a little bit of reading up on it before I arrived. The place itself is newly remodeled, very clean, and beautiful. It has a relaxing atmosphere but the experience overall was far from relaxing. I was greeted quickly but really did not have any individual care, no explanation of what to expect or even a simple question like "is this the first time you have been here or to any hamami"? After signing some paperwork, I was quickly rushed into a changing room and had to sort of figure out what to do and then rushed into the wash room, doused with water, and then told to lay down among the other ladies already in the room. The scrubbing, washing, and rinsing process was okay but again, it felt rushed and definitely not individualized. I was then quickly taken to the towel room and quickly escorted to the relaxation couches where no one offered me anything to drink, a magazine, or anything. I finally just got tired of waiting and went back up to the changing room and got myself ready to leave. The place really has a lot of potential, but I will not return until it feels more like a personalized experience and less like trying to rush cattle through a run.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kg1froggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montenegro
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

If your hotel is located in the area, it is worth a visit to Kilic Ali Pasa Hamami. I was my first experience to get a Turkish style scrub. Very relaxing and very clean. Highly recommend

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nadia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The place to retreat from Istanbul´s noisy streets”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Having been to hamams of varying quality, the Kilic Ali Pasa Hamami definitely maintains a high standard. It is beautifully restored in its historic place, the same time as it appears modern and bring associations to the spa-phenomenon of our time. The staff were nice and accommodating and wil make first-timers relax. Credit cards are accepted, although bring cash for the tip. The hamam is pretty easy to find, which also is good when one tries to make the most out of ones stay in Istanbul.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MagnusSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilic Ali Pasa Hamami also viewed

 

Been to Kilic Ali Pasa Hamami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing