We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belly dancing and more .....much much more.”

Hodjapasha Cultural Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.26*
and up
Whirling Dervish Show in Istanbul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 1. Istanbul Dervishes: Mevlevi Sema Ceremony / Everyday except Monday and Friday at 19:00 Price: 60 TL pp / Free refreshments including tea , Turkish Cofee , water and fruit juice + Free booklet + free DVD for every online purchase of 2 tickets. 2. Rhythm of the Dance :Featuring variety of charming folkloric dances of Anatolia , Balkans and Caucasian regions combined with exotic oriental dances. Tuesday Thursday Saturday 21:00 Alternating biweekly with White Rose . Price : 70 TL pp / Free refreshments including tea , Turkish Cofee , water and fruit juice + Free booklet + free DVD for every online purchase of 2 tickets. 3. White Rose : A theatral dance show that sensationally combines oriental dance , harem dance and modern dance together. Theme is based on an extraordinary true love story of an Ottoman slave woman and ambassador during Tulip Period in 17TH Century. Tuesday Thursday Saturday 21:00 Alternating biweekly with Rhythm of the Dance . Price : 80 TL pp / Free refreshments including tea , Turkish Cofee , water and fruit juice + Free booklet + free DVD for every online purchase of 2 tickets. See our website for the calendar of the shows.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Belly dancing and more .....much much more.”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had watch the Whirling Dervishes at a local restaurant (enjoyed it very much) and do not wish to be trapped at some sleezy place offering belly dancing....hence we were delighted to come across this poster at a local tour agency about this show " White Rose" ...cultural and musical experience at the Hodjapasha Cultural centre. Ticket cost 70 TL. This show runs on Tues,Thurs & Saturday. The show is enjoyable ...featuring life at the Tokapia Palace.... through a series of dances and musical performances. Belly dancing is features and we were pleasantly surprised that the version by a young man is especially captivating. Thoroughly enjoyed the evening.
The Hodjapasha Cultural centre is interesting too. It was even used as a Turkish Bath centre before its latest transformation. Enjoyed reading the murals on the wall , introducing the Turkish cultural evolution through the different glorious era in it rich history.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chanykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    299
    128
    70
    67
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
183 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Significant Decline”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I am in Istanbul once a year with students. I saw the Whirling Dervishes in 2012 and the traditional dance performance in each of the last three years. It is the latter that has become disappointing. Before, the dance troupe was excellent and combined traditional dances from all over Turkey and its many minorities. But this year (2014), it changed. All but one dancer appears to have left or been let go, and their replacements are not very skilled (although they can occasionally pull off a high energy dance). And almost all of the elements of tradition except some of the costuming have been lost. At some point, dancers broke into Irish river dance! And the use of black lights twice during the performance -- I'm pretty sure Anatolian villages did not have black lights to use during wedding and festival events. The live music has been replaced with recorded music that is played very loudly. The light show sometimes made it feel like we were at a high school prom with the spinning mirror ball. It was a big disappointment this year. I give it two stars only because I assume the Dervishes are still worth watching.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JMB-NLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Pressed for time? - watch Whirling Dervishes here...”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a very touristy place. However, if you do not have to much time and cannot sacrifice an entire evening to watch the whirling dervishes - this is the place to visit. Regularly showing the dervishes in this central location - a good opportunity to get a feel about this phenomenon.
1 hour long show and you'll get dizzy - just watching it. Amazing - worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dmsdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unique divine experience- Sufi Night Experience”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A very unique experience. As the dervishes slowly twirl and the divine music transcend you to the other world. The experience is just mesmerizing. One in a lifetime experience. Worth every lira spent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank explore_enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“AVOIDABLE with capital "A" RUN AWAY”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is supposed to be an old historical theatre in Istanbul which holds regular cultural shows for Tourists. One such shoe, called "Dance for Divine Love" the WHIRLING DERVISHES was witnessed by me along with other 176 guests. It cost us 60 Turkish lira per head for a 45 mins show and at the end of the show, the general feeling was, What the hell hv we seen?
It is supposed to be an important religious cum cultural performance in Islamic faith in turkey and I respect the feelings of the believers. I offer my apologies up front, to any one who feels offended by my comments, but for a tourist who is not a follower of Islam, this show is just a waste of money and time. It is hyped about so much and that is one reason that you feel a big let down after watching this. I will recommend this to any one if I am a SADIST.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank COOPER123NewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hodjapasha Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Hodjapasha Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing