We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOIDABLE with capital "A" RUN AWAY”

Hodjapasha Cultural Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.66*
and up
Whirling Dervish Show in Istanbul
More Info
$24.00*
and up
Whirling Dervishes at Hodjapasha
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Rhythm of the Dance Show at Hodjapasha In Istanbul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 1. Istanbul Dervishes: Mevlevi Sema Ceremony / Everyday except Monday and Friday at 19:00 Price: 60 TL pp / Free refreshments including tea , Turkish Cofee , water and fruit juice + Free booklet + free DVD for every online purchase of 2 tickets. 2. Rhythm of the Dance :Featuring variety of charming folkloric dances of Anatolia , Balkans and Caucasian regions combined with exotic oriental dances. Tuesday Thursday Saturday 21:00 Alternating biweekly with White Rose . Price : 70 TL pp / Free refreshments including tea , Turkish Cofee , water and fruit juice + Free booklet + free DVD for every online purchase of 2 tickets. 3. White Rose : A theatral dance show that sensationally combines oriental dance , harem dance and modern dance together. Theme is based on an extraordinary true love story of an Ottoman slave woman and ambassador during Tulip Period in 17TH Century. Tuesday Thursday Saturday 21:00 Alternating biweekly with Rhythm of the Dance . Price : 80 TL pp / Free refreshments including tea , Turkish Cofee , water and fruit juice + Free booklet + free DVD for every online purchase of 2 tickets. See our website for the calendar of the shows.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“AVOIDABLE with capital "A" RUN AWAY”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is supposed to be an old historical theatre in Istanbul which holds regular cultural shows for Tourists. One such shoe, called "Dance for Divine Love" the WHIRLING DERVISHES was witnessed by me along with other 176 guests. It cost us 60 Turkish lira per head for a 45 mins show and at the end of the show, the general feeling was, What the hell hv we seen?
It is supposed to be an important religious cum cultural performance in Islamic faith in turkey and I respect the feelings of the believers. I offer my apologies up front, to any one who feels offended by my comments, but for a tourist who is not a follower of Islam, this show is just a waste of money and time. It is hyped about so much and that is one reason that you feel a big let down after watching this. I will recommend this to any one if I am a SADIST.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank COOPER123NewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    300
    130
    71
    68
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“White Rose ... excellent”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Unlike many of the reviewers of this experience who saw Twirling Dervishes we saw the show called White Rose which tells the story of an Ottoman slave girl from the Harem who meets and falls in love with the Dutch Ambassador in the 18th century.

We thought it was an excellent show with great dancing and colourful costumes and video projections around the walls taking the place of scenery. The story is told in dance was very easy to follow.

Cost was 80TL p/p with children under 12 50TL. Considering the show runs for 1hr 45 mins we thought this was reasonable

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HawkerAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“We liked the whirling dervishes”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We enjoyed it. It was impressive to see the 5 men whirling for almost 50 minutes. We are glad that we saw it. We think that it was a good introduction to the ceremony.
Book early to get better seats. We booked the tickets on the website about 3 weeks before and we got seats at the center of the front row. And you get a free DVD when you order 2 or more tickets online. Don’t forget to ask the staff for the DVD.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MidcoVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“The whirling Dervishes A religious ceremony performed for a paying audience. Interesting but not to everyone's taste...”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Whilst the whirling dervish "show" is on many tour company program's it is essentially a religious ceremony performed for a paying audience. It is not therefore a choreographed dance designed for audience entertainment.

The performance is approximately 50 minutes to 1 hour long starting with a 10 minute music introduction prior to the 5 man dervish performance of a very structured ceremony. The performance takes place in an old converted haman. Free material is provided (in 10 languages) to explain the meaning of each section of the ceremony but it almost certainly won't help your understanding of what's going on. The majority of the ceremony involves the 5 participants whirling around the stage. Definitely not something to try at home!

I enjoyed it but I could see many people (particularly those in tour groups) wondering why they were there. It is something that will inevitably get reviews from one to 5 stars depending on your expectations. Research the background and history of the dervishes and if you like what you see definitely try it at one of the several venues in Istanbul where it's performed !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stuffmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“beautiful venue, interesting performance, steep price”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We saw the twirling Derviches. Performance was 1 hour long, but the derviches came out rather late (after 30 mins or so) and twirled for the next 20 mins or so. The venue is a beautifully restored hammam/turkish bath. It all feels very luxurious. But the price, for the performance, was just too high. At 60 turkish liras per person (about 25 euros) we would not come again.

It was interesting to be part of/witness a sufi ritual, but the mere fact that it was being done as a performance made it not very unique. If it was then only a performance, then the performance lacked much entertainment. The live music was very nice but, really felt like a touristic pop. Will spend my money better next time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank edictamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hodjapasha Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Hodjapasha Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing