We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible food and service!”

Shadow Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 13,493 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Description: We are located right in the heart of old Istanbul, Sultanahmet. We are just 2 streets away from the Blue Mosque and walking distance to all major attractions in Istanbul. We offer high quality food from our qualified chef. And always give outstanding service. You will enjoy our Ottoman Turkish cuisine.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible food and service!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I ate there two nights in a row. The food was authentic, fresh and with very generous portions. The staff were warm, friendly prompt and quite entertaining.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,299
    220
    77
    38
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best service, best Tasti Kebab for 2, Incredible atmosphere and diverse menu!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

After living 4 days in the new district we switched hotels in the old town. As we walked down Akbiyik we randomly stopped here after speaking with Gino the restaurant manager. He offered us some free nargile so we sat and had a drink. Little did we know that we had just walked into one of the friendliest restaurants but also with an incredible menu. The garlic bread is great. We ate mezes the first visit drank and smoke nargile but after seeing the presentation of the Tasti kebab in the clay pot we knew we had to return. The food is amazing and the Tasti kebab for 2 was phenomenal. I traveled in Istanbul with 2 friends for 9 days, four of my meals were at shadow because it was so great and Gino always took care of us.

I felt welcomed always and it was nice to have a place to sit relax and enjoy the atmosphere after long days sight seeing.

The menu here is not only excellent in terms of its authentic Turkish cuisine but after being in Istanbul for Multiple days it was nice to have a place to go that offered something different but equally as good.

You cannot beat the staff at this place! After eating at so many different cafes and restaurants this place has the best staff hands down, I cannot stress that enough.

Ask for Gino! But he will probably already be the first person you meet with a friendly smile and inviting charisma.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtufton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Shadow puts on a show”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Shadow was recommended to us by the hotel where we stayed and after the first dinner there, we kept going back every night. Delicious Turkish food, with a "burning specialty" and quite a performance by the charming waiters Gino and Hakan made it a very pleasant and fun place to relax after a tiring business day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place for Nargile (Sheesha) and vegetarian friendly!!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I stumbled upon this Turkish cafe restaurant on our hunt to a good water pipe cafe. Here's what we thought of the place. While from the outside it looks like any other cafe on the road, once we entered, the friendly owner greeted us with a big hello and a "sit wherever you like". For our first two visits we only sampled some lovely cay (Turkish tea) a water pipe and their friendly service. Our third visit was the best one! We came for another hookah date but ended up ordering dinner as well and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of food. The mezze platter was excellent. And we've sampled quite a few. Being vegetarians, it was one of the best bets. We ordered a veggie tortellini and that was great too! We ended our night with a tea each and a baklava on the house! Look out for Gino who'll make sure you're comfy and well fed! Oh and they play the most recongnized music on the street! Do drop in atleast once!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TanviBhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“not called a "fun pub" for nothing”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We would normally avoid places that call them selves a "fun pub" and have big screens showing sport - not our scene. But glad we fell under Titch's spell early on in our visit to Istanbul - we ended up going back there several times. A late afternoon lunch was quiet and relaxed and the food is good, whether you just want Turkish meze or pizza or the 'clay pot' experience!!! (see the descriptions of this by others on here...!) Equally good fun was a whole evening spent drinking, snacking and people watching in this lively street. We were staying nearby so it was easy to treat this like our 'local' during our short stay. The waiters are fun - special mention to Hakan, Gino and Apo as well as the irrepressible Titch, who works his butt off getting the punters in - his magic worked on us and it will on you too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank localyokel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shadow Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shadow Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing