We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small dingy rooms with no window”
Review of Aprilis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aprilis Hotel
Ranked #262 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is really lacking, we had a dingy room with a lift shaft and no window. No natural air and dirty carpets. Dark, dingy and depresssing rooms. Wouldn't use again or recommend. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Aprilis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 383 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

My friend and I recently stayed at the Aprilis Hotel for several days. The hotel staff were so kind and accommodating. We arrived early in the morning by taxi and the manager asked if we would like breakfast. Since we had already eaten, they kindly offered us a cup of tea until our room was ready. One of the employees, Enes, was the nicest person and he went out of his way to make our stay comfortable. Since I did not know where the post office was, he said he would walk me there. The breakfasts at the hotel were served in a cute café-like setting and the food was very fresh and appetizing. In addition the location was perfect. You could walk to the bazaar and the Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Mosque) were very close. In addition, there was trolley transportation within steps of the hotel. It was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann1529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ercan Y, Yönetici at Aprilis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Ann,

Thanks a lot for your valuable feedback.Your contentment about chosing our lovely hotel made us so happy...

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Aprilis Hotel in the near future...

Best Regards,

Ercan YALCIN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Spent 8 nights in this lovely hotel centrally located! And great services from all the staff. Gurkon made sure our stay ran smoothly. Staff are always ready to help and very welcoming. We stayed in room 307 which was a quad room lovely bathroom but carpet is a bit tired and also no view unfortunately. Nether the less good hospitality and service.
Doaa

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Doaa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ercan Y, Yönetici at Aprilis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Doaa,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and nice comments.We are so happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us...

We was delighted to read that you had positive thoughts about our hotel and your stay...

We look forward to welcoming you back soon...

Best Regards,

Ercan YALCIN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Recently travelled to Istanbul on vacation with my family. The Aprilis hotel offered excellent room rates in a central location quite literally a minute walk from all the major destinations as well as a tram station. When we first arrived we were greeted kindly with freshly made refreshing lemonade and were quickly escorted to our rooms. Everything was in perfect order and the room was very clean. Had a great night's sleep every night and the breakfast was satisfying and served it's purpose. The gym was fine however one complaint was that they didn't have enough weights. However there wasn't a lack of cardio machines!
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, never shying away from offering some help or a cup of tea!
Overall I would highly recommend the Aprilis hotel if you're looking for a hotel within walking distance of all major tourist attractions such as Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. (Sultanahmet Mosque) Without sacrificing comfort or quality!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 642Nasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ercan Y, Yönetici at Aprilis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Nasr,

First of all thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aprilis Hotel.It is so appreciated by us that you had told honestly all details about your holiday and stay.Your contentment about chosing our lovely hotel made us so happy.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Aprilis Hotel in the near future...

Best Regards,

Ercan YALCIN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The hotel serves as a great 'base' to explore Istanbul. All the major sites such as the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and the Grand Bazaar are all within easy walking distance.

I booked 3x Quadruple Rooms for 5 nights which provided ample space for our large group.

The breakfast provided by the hotel offered a good variety and choice. In general, the hotel's public areas, our rooms and our en-suite bathrooms were very clean throughout. The hotel's staff are their most valuable asset; they were incredibly friendly, helpful and always smiling especially when we saw them in the breakfast room! Ercan in particular was lovely.

However the only dampener to our otherwise brilliant holiday was that when we had booked an airport transfer through the hotel (despite being the more expensive choice) we needed the reliability that the transfer would be on time to take us to the airport, but this was evidently not the case. On the day of our departure, the hotel's transfer arrived 30 minutes late! Luckily we did not miss our flight, but this situation could have been dealt with better by the hotel, making sure their transfer left earlier to pick us up on time.

Other than the transfer issue, there is no doubt this hotel provides clean, good-sized rooms and a very friendly service. The location allows you to explore the city by foot/tram being centrally located within the Sultanamhet area. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others considering its good value for money.

Room Tip: 501 in particular provides ample space for 4 people. 401 has a lovely large balcony!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aniquack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ercan Y, Yönetici at Aprilis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Aniquack,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and nice comments.Your contentment about chosing our lovely hotel made us so happy.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel..

Best Regards,

Ercan YALCIN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Spent two nights here. Many sites such as the Blue Mosque are within easy walking distance as are many restaurants. The rooms, while small compared to those found in the U.S. are comfortable and quite adequate. Will consider staying here again should I find myself back in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCTraveler340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The location was amazing: Extremely close to the tram station, all the major sights including the famous Haman, and a great value (I did the pre-pay rate on Expedia so got a great deal). I got the standard room for 2 people (2 beds) our first night and then had upgraded us to the deluxe room for the next 3 nights. The real difference is the size of the room which for us, made a difference. Here are the only drawbacks that I had workarounds to:
- deluxe rooms face the main street so somewhat noisy but I bring a sound machine when I travel so that wasn't an issue.
- No lotion. I asked several times about it but they just don't provide it. I brought my own anyway and to be honest, surprisingly the next hotel I stayed at which is basically rated 5 stars didn't offer it either
- The bed covering is a thin waffly blanket, no fitted sheet. I did request extra blankets for us so they brought in more traditional duvets bc in the summer it's too stuffy without the AC on and just that sheet wasn't enough to keep us warm.
- carpet in both rooms needed a deep clean. That I would say is important.

All in all, the issues were worked around and it was an fantastic value and super convenient for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dealgal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#255 of 1,159 in Istanbul
716 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Newport Hotel
Sultanahmet Newport Hotel
#656 of 1,159 in Istanbul
43 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanhan Hotel
Sultanhan Hotel
#153 of 1,159 in Istanbul
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#88 of 1,159 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Miran Hotel
Miran Hotel
#187 of 1,159 in Istanbul
158 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#217 of 1,159 in Istanbul
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aprilis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aprilis Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Peykhane Sk. No 4 | Cemberlitas, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $42 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aprilis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the world of hospitality and comfort. Discovery Istanbul with its history culture and traditional. Stay with us and enjoy all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aprilis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing