We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice hotel in a great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aprilis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aprilis Hotel
Ranked #206 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel in a great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Aprilis is located a two minute walk away from the Cemberlitas Tram Stop. The heart of the old historic district is at your beck and call! There is a small department store on the corner and plenty of restaurants and shops. All the major historic sites (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, etc) are within a 10 minutes walk, or just a couple minutes by tram to the next stop. Directly outside the hotel, there is a lot of hustle and bustle on the street. There is no noise in the hotel, however.

The lobby doubles as a jewelry store front, so be sure not to walk right by it! The lobby is small, but very nice. The rooms are furnished nicely and are bigger than most rooms you'll find in Europe. As is typical in Europe, most rooms have two double beds that you can push together to make a queen. Also the beds are a bit more firm for my taste, but still not too bad.
The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They also have a currency exchange, which is very convenient.

The bathroom was nice and modern, but the shower was either missing a sliding glass door, or it was removed. This resulted in extra water splashing out, but was of no real concern for us.

Only a few rooms have an actual view, as the buildings are all attached to each other. Our room had a window that looked into the 4 foot wide opening between the next building. Again, if you're out sightseeing, this should not bother you.

The breakfast was ok. It felt more like a lunch buffet, due to the selection of bread and meats. There was cereal, yoghurt, and fruit available though, among other items. It was included with the room and was a good start to a day of sightseeing.

My wife took advantage of the Hammami (Turkish Bath) that was advertised on the hotel's city map brochure. It is on the other side of the street from the tram stop, again, two minutes walk from the hotel. She highly recommends it!

The entire area is busy at all hours of the day and night. We walked around and never felt insecure or concerned.

If we find ourselves in Istanbul again, I would definitely stay here again. The price was great and the location makes seeing the city easy.

Tram/train ride to/from the airport took us about 45 minutes, with one transfer between the metro and the tram.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjhess74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    129
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
154
74
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Location - very close to transport, resturants, shops, monuments etc.

At first I was given a room different to what I booked. It was a smaller room with no kettle, tea or coffee. I had to insist on compliance to the booking confirmation and was only moved to the correct room a day later. Not much information provided on checking in, for e.g about the location of the breakfast room, how to get the TV channels operating.....
But overall a clean hotel that offers basic amenities. Breakfast is limited but "does the job"

Room Tip: Insist on getting the type of room that you booked and don't accept anything less favourable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vinnie275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naxos
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The room was reserved by mail with the manager of the hotel,from the begining saw me how friendly they are and all the information for the hotel was exactly as it said to me.
When we get there the staff was very friendly with us and anything we asked for,or for the room or information for the area,was given to us.The room was perfect bradly new great decorated and with the one wall of the room full with windows!About the breakfast maybe it was the best i have ever had in a hotel as traveller!Many different local products and many other things.The location of the hote was perfect near to everything in the center like Ayia Sofia Grand Bazaar tram stop...
We really enjoy this place and we are sure that first the God we return back to Konstantinoupoli and special to this hotel.I recomende it 100%.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full wall window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camarast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Lebanon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have been there for 4 nights with children, the hotel was new and clean, the room was big enough for 4 beds and a baby cot but no view from the window (view of the emergency exit).
The location is great, 2 min from tram station.
The staff was kind but not very qualified, the breakfast is very poor (no diversity but not bad).
I would come back, but I don't know if it will remain good , or it just was good because it was new ...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaleno1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here last month for 5 days. I also had problems with my reservation and airport pick up, i think the hotel location is perfect as it is within walking distance to everywhere nearby such as the blue mosque,ayasofia and the grand bazaar. The room is a basic room - If youre not bothered about staying in the hotel much then its fine. Only one light worked in our room which was poor, we told reception about this and nothing was done to correct it. We didnt have any natural light in our room whatsoever - So be sure to ask when booking. We only asked for our room to be made up once and this was not done, we had to keep asking for this even though we put the 'Make up our room' switch on before heading out for the day. This was very irritating. The breakfast was poor, there isnt much of a selection. They have biscuits, some fruits,hard boiled eggs,one cereal and tea/coffee. We only went down once for breakfast and ate out every other day.

Room Tip: Make sure it is not a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DubaiLoverLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, Michigan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This notel is more towards the Grand Bazaar, and it's well located for using the mass transit--half a block away and will take you anywhere. But it seems every old house is getting converted to Hotel in Sultanhamet. This is just not a cute neighborhood. The cute neighborhood is next to the Blue Mosque--. This hotel isn't around any others. No restaurants or cute shops nearby. But on the other hand, it's probably more authentic, and there are plenty of shops including a good rug shop right across the street.

Also, beware of the rooms that are on an air shaft with virtually no natural light or ventilation. That was our room It had great air conditioning, so it was ok for a day or two....breakfast was nice. In the basement though. The worst thing...our friend came late with a one day reservation...and they had over booked and asked he share with one of us. The only compensation was they half priced the shared room.

Room Tip: Make sure the room has an exterior window--not the air shaft. Also ask them to make sure they haven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The rom was reserved over the phone by the Turkish friend who wanted to show us his birth place for a 5 days trip.

We arrived at 3 am at the hotel and although we had a confirmation email, the receptionist could not find our reservation. And the hotel was full.

We slept on the floor in the janitor rooms of each floor, where the store additional beds. They did not even have enough pillows to give us.

After, the manager tried to make it up and told us, take whatever you want in mini bar and we will get you a basket of fresh fruit. Still waiting.

Do not go to this hotel, they lack organisation and are not professional. They just might forget your reservation.

Room Tip: If they tell you that you can have a room with see view, but more expensive, do not believe them, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AprilisHotel, General Manager at Aprilis Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Aprilis Hotel.

Yes we got a some problem about your reservation but if that possible could you share with us your reservation number ? I think no because i said your Turkish friend 'i need a credit card details for confirm your reservation' and your send card is not valid. I inform this via e-mail but no back from you.. For that your reservation was not confirmed.

Yes i did not charge any amount for first night, using the mini bar or other extras. Would take ?

The mistake was not ours but hope to confirm your request for next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#90 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Sultanahmet
Miran Hotel
Miran Hotel
#191 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#26 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#292 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#108 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#81 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aprilis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aprilis Hotel

Property: Aprilis Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Peykhane Sk. No 4 | Cemberlitas, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aprilis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the world of hospitality and comfort. Discovery Istanbul with its history culture and traditional. Stay with us and enjoy all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Aprilis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing