We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice ,nice., nice”

The Byzantium Terrace
Ranked #329 of 13,493 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
“Nice ,nice., nice”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Best view, staff, food and service.
Tuncay Ceyhan was especially friendly,he made sure that our holiday were entertaining and nice.
I recommend Byzantium Hotel and Terace to everyone,because there you will feel very welcome and comfortable.
I hope to come back soon

Thx. TJ
Love Istanbul

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J0zefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    33
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
“fabolous view from the roof terrace, good food, great staff! highly recommend to everyone visiting Istanbul!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel Byzantium is at great location..in the heart of the historical district of Sultanahmet! You are literally 5 minutes away from all the major historical attractions in Istanbul ; Blue Mosque. Aya Sofia, Basilica cistern,Topkapì Palace, Gülhane Park..etc. Also at the square there's a tram stop from which we took all our trips ( like to Taksim square, Egyptian and Grand bazaar ).
We stayed in hotel for 6 nights and were very satisfied! :) :)
I loved the terrace restaurant&bar on top of the Byzantium hotel !!!


If you are in Istanbul, this is a place you really have to visit!!! I highly recommend it to anyone wanting great food, service and view.
It has lovely indoor and outdoor roof terrace with a spectacular view on the sea, Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and the city. A night view from terrace to the sea on the moonlight was marvellous and breathtaking!!! Also this roof restaurant 

offers great food! there's big variety of food and has a nice selection of tasty modern and traditional turkish dishes. All the staff are friendly and hard working.
The terrace restaurant on top of the Byzantium hotel is run by Tuncay Ceyhan, who made sure that we feel comfortable and have a fun time.
T.J. Teşekkür ederim! :)
I hope to come in visit soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 17032013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We also stayed at the hotel wich was a fabulous find. It's right in the middle of an awesomely fun street. The restaurant is excellent! The food, service and view were amazing- the blue mosque on one side and water view on the other. The best part was the barker out front! He was fun and entertaining for our whole stay and made sure we had a great experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
“A must if you're in the Sultanahmet area”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

After two days of traveling, the last thing my travel companions and I wanted to do was search for a good place to eat. Lucky for us, the Byzantine's owner sold us on his establishment as we walked by.

Tuncay assured us we would not be disappointed with the Turkish cuisine at his restaurant, and to prove it, he gave us a ticket for a free appetizer. Turkish hospitality!

A short lift ride led us to the top of the restaurant, which has a wonderful view of the Marmara Sea and the mouth of the Bosphorus on one side, and Ayasofya and the Blue Mosque on the other.

What is more impressive, however, is the food this place serves up. I had heard about Mantı before I came to Turkey, so ordering it was a must. My friends ordered Musakka and Ali Nazik (a dish with meat and veggies in a wonderful tomato-based sauce).

Everything was delicious! Each one of us left the Byzantine full and happy, all without breaking the bank.

If you're in the area, stop by and see Tuncay and grab a bite; it's worth it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kameron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic food fantastic view”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The terrace restaurant on top of the Byzantium hotel is run by Tuncay Ceyhan and has reputedly the best chef in the area. We went there on our first night of our holiday and ate there every night after as we could not fault the food. We selected from the Turkish menu as a new experience and found it superb. On top of this is the outstanding view of both the Marnara sea and the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia which are only a stones throw away, magical at night. The terrace has both open area and also a very large closed area which is nice on a cool night, but the windows slide open if you want. The staff are all very friendly and makes for a very pleasant evening meal or drink.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 13933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Byzantium Terrace also viewed

 

Been to The Byzantium Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing