We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, in a non-touristic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Ranked #121 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed at the Renaissance Hotel for a couple of days. It's a nice and modern hotel. I stayed in a deluxe room, which was average sized (I think the starting category has much smaller rooms), with a nice (if somewhat far) view of the Bosphorus.

I also tried the rooftop restaurant, where the food was decent. And breakfast is not bad.

A couple of issues result in the 4 star rating:

- Staff are somewhat aloof and not very reactive. I don't know if it's due to their English skills (which at times was lacking), or whether they could benefit from a bit more training.

- The location of the hotel is in the business district of the city (Besiktas), and so is quite far from the touristic parts of Istanbul. Bear that in mind if you're here for tourism only (traffic is a nightmare in the city!).

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Paradectral A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, Genel Müdür at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel.

We highly value our guest comments and consider them as one of our best opportunity in order to increase our quality of service and product.

We would like to restore your faith in the hotel and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anil Boydas Tinaz – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 462 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

Hotel clean with very friendly helpful staff. Room was adequate and clean. Location away from the main but of town but easily accessible with a bus stop right outside the hotel. Breakfast was very good with lots to choose from. Experienced a true Turkish Bath (hammam) at the hotel, amazing, this is something everyone should experience when visiting Turkey.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, Genel Müdür at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel.

It is great to receive such positive comments about our services and staff which motivate us to go above and beyond. Our highest priority is to provide our guest a memorable stay.
We are also happy to hear that you’ve enjoyed your time at our R Fitness & Spa and our Turkish Bath (Hammam) services.

We always look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and to discover something wonderfully new.

Kind regards,
Anil Boydas Tinaz – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hotel is well maintained.
Rooms are very small, you could barely move, on the other hand the toilet is spacey!
Room service is fast and food is good.
Breakfast at the hotel restaurant is below average.
Hotel location is not good at all.
You need to walk around 1.6 to the nearest metro station.
Very difficult to get a taxi at peak hours.
Better stay at Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zuhair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, Genel Müdür at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel.

It is great to receive such positive comments about our services.Also,we highly value our guest comments and consider them as one of our best opportunity in order to increase our quality of service and product.

We always look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and to discover something wonderfully new.

Kind regards,
Anil Boydas Tinaz – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

My family and I traveled to Istanbul on a whim. Absolutely unprepared and not completely sure what to expect. We're Marriott loyal so we expected a clean and decent hotel from the renaissance. That is the understatement of the year. Renaissance not only gives a spectacular view of Bosphorous but the customer service was spot on. The lead navigator/head concierge Anil Gunsurdu, was extremely helpful, patient, and charming when planning and guiding us through an itinerary every morning. Sometimes we would just spend two hours going over the map of Istanbul and taking down all sorts of constructive notes to get a true Turkish feel and experience! Without his suggestions we had absolutely no idea what to do! I've visited many countries and I've stayed at top notch hotels but to be frank I've never seen a team that cares so much about their guests like I've seen from Anil and the rest of the staff at the renaissance in Istanbul. I definitely recommend visiting gorgeous Istanbul and staying at the renaissance whether it's for business, family quality time, or pleasure.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Nida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, Genel Müdür at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel.

It is great to receive such positive comments about our services and staff. I personally shared your kind words with Anıl and his manager and they were delighted to hear as well.
As Renaissance Brand we believe; “no matter where or why you travel, there is always something wonderfully new to discover”. Everyone of our Navigators are the micro local experts and they will always be delighted to help you, to discover the hidden gems of the City.

We always look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Anil Boydas Tinaz – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Located near Besiktas area, walking distance.
the property is neat , clean , with excellent rooms facing the city side and higher up floors looking the Bosphorus from a far distance.
breakfast is excellent and a good spread as per the internaitonal standards. the hotel is just 4km away from the convention center (ICC) thus making a meet group stay comfortable too.
the reception is mordern and fast, staff is friendly and service is excellent .
taxis are easily available from outside. ATM is right outside the hotel at a very short distance. Public transport is just outside as a bus stop.

Room Tip: go for higher floors. overlook the bosphorus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vikrantg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, Genel Müdür at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel. We very much welcome all guest feedback, as we are constantly striving to achieve the highest standard within our hotel and its services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anil Boydas Tinaz – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had two rooms because of our kids were with us. We were all amazed by quality of service and cleanliness right at the beginning. The staff are wonderful. I have read about the people of Turkey and how inviting and kind they are to foreigners. This group of staff proved it. The only draw back is the location. I knew about that before I we arrive there. The first night we walked with the kids at 11:00 pm down to center of Beskitas. It took us 15 minutes since it's downhill. I definitely recommend taking the private minibuses back. The breakfast were perfect. It has everything you can imagine with a touch of Turkish delight. The head waiter whom name I forgot, sat down with us and gave me a good review of how to get around from this location to see all the attractions of Istanbul. My wife and I are definitely planning to go back and we will stay here again. One last story. I forgot all of our passports in the safe box our room. I took a taxi back to the hotel and called them ahead of the time. They assured me that they had found the passports and once we pulled into drive way of the hotel the bell man had it ready for us. I did not miss my flight. Thanks to my driver and good people of this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank attarfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, Genel Müdür at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel.
It is great to receive such positive comments about our services and staff which motivate us to go above and beyond. Our highest priority is to provide our guest a memorable stay.
We always look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Anil Boydas Tinaz – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days on business. I am gold member and always try to stay within the group if possible. I got an upgrade to an amazing room. It was truly a great experience. Hotel is conveniently located with a beautiful view of Bosporus. Very clean with nice amenities.

Staff was extremely helpful including front desk, housekeepers, bellman and security people. They would really go step ahead for the guest. As soon as you arrive you feel the great hospitality.

Special thanks to Onur who was very helpful whenever i needed assistance.

Just be careful if it is raining traffic can be bad in Istanbul. Leave for the airport early.

I will be in Istanbul once a year and will be back.

Highly recommended!

Ivan N.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel.

It is great to receive such positive comments about our services and staff. I personally shared your kind words with Onur and his manager and they were delighted to hear as well. It is great to receive such positive comments which motivate us to go above and beyond.

We always look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Anil Boydas Tinaz - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel
Levent
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
#99 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,230 reviews
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
#188 of 1,160 in Istanbul
109 reviews
Besiktas
Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
#120 of 1,160 in Istanbul
597 reviews
Besiktas
Dedeman Hotel Istanbul
Dedeman Hotel Istanbul
#519 of 1,160 in Istanbul
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel

Address: Barbaros Bulvari No: 145, Istanbul 34349, Turkey (Formerly Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $79 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to welcome you here at stylish Renaissance Polat Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel. Discover international excellence blended with local passion.''No matter where or why you travel, there's always something wonderfully new to be found.'' Is the integrated philosophy of Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel. Offering stunning views over the Bosphorus, the magnificent towering Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel is reflecting the modern life style norms with its architectural design. The hotel is located on the European side of Istanbul, in Besiktas, midway between the areas of Taksim and Levent, and in a walking distance to key shopping malls and Bosphorus' main boat harbor. This luxury newest addition to Istanbul hotels is designed to meet most demanding requirements of today's modern traveler, whether the trip is for business or holiday in Istanbul, Turkey. Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel offers you a comfortable accommodation with its 213 rooms accompanied by a breathtaking Bosphorus view. You can organize your successful and unforgettable events with the hotel's 11 meeting rooms which are mostly daylighted and a unique Ballroom.You can enjoy extensive food and beverage alternatives of our hotel such as Arts Restaurant with its modern cuisine and stunning design, Bar 212 where international excellence meets local passion accompanied by spectacular Bosphorus view and Living Room&Terrace with its pop in atmosphere and smells of coffee. Both fitness and spa are together at R Fitness & Spa. You can refresh your body as well as your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing