We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property a bit removed from key attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Ranked #132 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at the Renaissance Bosphorus primarily for business but with plans to spend a weekend at leisure exploring the city. My colleague picked the hotel -- largely due to his Marriott loyalty and status. Overall, the property was very modern and I encountered excellent service throughout my stay for the most part -- except for two separate instances with two different concierges, who were both more interested in saying "yes" than answering my questions truthfully (possibly due to a bit of a language barrier). Also, although I had booked a room on the club level (via Marriott.com), I was surprised to be given a standard guest room. When I returned to the Front Desk to inquire about it, I was informed that there was no club at this location and therefore "club rooms" were just standard rooms. (In retrospect, the club room rate was the same as a standard room when I booked it... which is the only reason I booked a club room at all. Since I didn't pay any more for it, I wasn't too upset when I didn't get the club access... but, it's still odd that they made a distinction at all in the booking site... hopefully just a glitch that has since been fixed.)

My room and en-suite bathroom were very well-appointed, although very tight (even by European standards).

Istanbul is such a decentralized city that there really is no central location, but this property is definitely a decent cab ride away from most historical/tourist sites (and given traffic backs-up round-the-clock, even the short ride to the Old City on paper can be a good 30-40 min jaunt). Overall, not a bad pick if you're looking for a traditional business hotel without much local character but complete with ultra-modern design and amenities.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, although if I returned to Istanbul on vacation (and had the opportunity to pick the hotel entirely by myself), I'd likely opt for one of the many boutique hotels in town with lots of local character and closer to most tourist attractions.

Room Tip: If a "club level" room is offered, don't be fooled -- it's just a mis-marked stand...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sww326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel. It is great to receive such positive comments, especially about our staff and navigator team.

I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our new Club Lounge is recently opened. It is located at the same floor R Fitness & Spa Club, with new food and beverage amenities between 12:00 – 22:30 every day. We will be delighted to welcoming you again to discover all our new amenities in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anıl Boydas Tınaz - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 454 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Really nice hotel. Good spa and gym area, The executive lounge on the top of the hotel was a happy surprise, really nice view and chill-out atmosphere. Breakfast and afternoon snacks was quite good as well - above my expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krismort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel. We are delighted to hear that our staff service exceeded your expectations. We always look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and to discover something wonderfully new.

Kind regards,
Anıl Boydas Tınaz - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The stay in this hotel started with a very nice check experience and all the staff in the hotel were just wonderfully nice.
The choice ,variety and quantity of food at breakfast or dinner buffet is quite disapointing, and even if you asked the restaurant just did not have enough supplies. The quality was excellent but there was not much to choose from.
The swimming pool is great, but you have to wear a swimming cap, if you dont have one you can buy an expensive one that has a strange odor. This used to be a must many years ago nowadays I have not seen such a condition anywhere. If you are bald headed then you don,t need a cap.

Room Tip: Only the higher floors and front facing rooms have a view of the Bosporus, but the Roof Top bar is g...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus experience with us. I like to inform you that we recently renovate all breakfast set-ups, hopefully in your next visit to our hotel, we will exceed your expectations and create a wonderful experience.

Usage of the swimming cap for the pool is a Hotel policy to offer a healthy and clean swimming experience for all our guest.

We always look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Anıl Boydas Tınaz - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was at Istanbul for the first time with my wife and two kids. This hotel is a bit distance from all the attractions in Istanbul, but it is worth the stay. I read all the reviews on this site before booking it and they all say the same thing I have to say. The staff are wonderful. All you have is to ask them for where you want to go and they will help you on how to get there and all the needed information. I like to take the public transportation when I go places. From this hotel to center of Besiktas is only fifteen minutes walk and its all downhill. From there to Kabatas is another fifteen minutes walk or you can take the bus. Along the way you will pass Dolmabahce Palace. From Kabatas which is the beginning of T1 metro line you can go to all the major attractions. The taxi ride to Kabatas is from the hotel is 10-12 liras which is not bad. But on the way back they will charge you double. Don't ask me why! On the way back we usually walked back from Kabatas to center of Besiktas and from there right at the beginning of Barbaros Blvd there are these minibuses which are run privately and for 1.5 liras they will pass right in front of the hotel. They will stop anywhere you ask them to.
The breakfast at the hotel is great and the variety of options they have is wonderful.
All together I tell you if my kids were happy at this hotel, it was a good hotel and they were. I used my Marriott points to reserve two rooms for the three nights we stayed in here and It was worth it.
I forgot our passports in the room's safe. I remembered it when I got to airport. I called the hotel on my way back to pick them up and they got the passports ready for me and I still made it to my flight.

Room Tip: Any upper floor room facing the Bosphorus is good
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank attarfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Renaissance İstanbul Bosphorus Hotel. It is great to receive such positive comments, especially about our staff and navigator team. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anıl Boydas Tınaz - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My room (standard) was excellent - small but perfectly formed. Certainly not a lot of space but the level of finish is very high. The bathoom and the room itself were flawless. Instead of a bath there was a large shower 'compartment' (1x3 metres!) and there was the possibility to attach a computer or HDMI device to the TV from the desk. My only complaint is the bed was quite soft so not suitable if you need a firm mattress/divan to sleep on.

Internet is extremely good (free and fast - 16Mbit/s - http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/2810818400) and the location near the bridge means you can get to most of the city including the Asian side without having to endure too much Istanbul traffic.

The roof bar and terrace has great views of the river and beyond. All in all an excellent base for your business trip

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlibFlob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Renaissance İstanbul Bosphorus Hotel. It is great to hear that our hotel exceeds your expectations.
We always look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and to discover something wonderfully new.

Kind regards,
Anıl Boydas Tınaz - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Arrived from the airport by taxi in about an hour to this boutique hotel. I loved the roof bar it has superb views of Bosporus. My room had the same view too, I really like the -all around window- style, the very practical bathroom (no bath tub though) and space layout. Breakfast and lunch options are buffet in the same area with the food being ok and the service also ok, maybe some of the staff is struggling to understand English. I really didn’t like the internet option where you have to put a different password for every device and if a little time passes you need to retype the passowrd again and again. Lack of business centre was a big minus too.

I was on business close by so it was very convenient for me; I didn’t like the area much though... The location is not as convenient if you want to visit centre: Agia Sofia etc. With the horrible traffic it took me about an hour to get there by taxi. Next day I tried the metro which is about 20-25 minutes’ walk from the hotel to Taxim, but overall that took about an hour too. So if you can afford a taxi just go for it and be prepared to withstand the traffic (also beware many taxi drivers will try to get much more money of you than the taxi ride’s worth…).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTMdots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Renaissance İstanbul Bosphorus Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, especially the great Bosphorus view from your room and the Bar 212.
Our highest priority is to provide our guest a memorable stay and I would like to take this opportunity to inform you about our new Business Center. It is located near our Ballroom under the lobby area with comfortable services. And we are also working on the internet issues which you mentioned. We will update the internet log-in procedures as soon as possible.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and to discover our wonderfully new services.

Kind regards,
Anıl Boydas Tınaz - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Trying to decide where to stay in the very large city of Istanbul can be daunting. We first try to find a Marriott because of our membership status but in Istanbul there are no Marriott near the tourist sights and I was worried about the traffic problems that are mentioned in other reviews. We decided to go ahead and stay at Renaissance even though it is not near tourist sights because of the additional benefits of Marriot membership- happy hour cocktails and breakfast included.

We were happy with our decision.

Now after having been to Istanbul I think the view to have is of the Bosphorus! It is magnificent to be on the top floor of the hotel at the bar, outside, and view the Bosphorus.

Though there is no executive lounge there is happy hour in the living room with complimentary drinks and breakfast was expansive. We got upgraded to a lovely room. I thought the bathroom, hot water, toiletries etc were wonderful. Staff was helpful, hotel was clean, everything worked well!

We would stay again! One splurge suggestion- go for drinks and/or dinner at the 4 Seasons Hotel Bosphorus at Aqua Restaurant. Then you will have seen the Bosphorus from high on top of a building as well right at waterside. It truly is magical.







suggestion

Room Tip: High up facing Bosphorus
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your Renaissance İstanbul Bosphorus experience with us. It is great to receive such positive comments which motivate us to go above and beyond. I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our new Elite Members Lounge is recently opened. It is located at the same floor R Fitness & Spa Club, with new food and beverage amenities between 12:00 – 22:30 every day.
We will be delighted to welcoming you again to discover all our new amenities in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anıl Boydas Tınaz - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel
Levent
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
#97 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,204 reviews
Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
#219 of 1,159 in Istanbul
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Besiktas
Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
#116 of 1,159 in Istanbul
586 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#110 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel

Address: Barbaros Bulvari No: 145, Istanbul 34349, Turkey (Formerly Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $81 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to welcome you here at stylish Renaissance Polat Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel. Discover international excellence blended with local passion.''No matter where or why you travel, there's always something wonderfully new to be found.'' Is the integrated philosophy of Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel. Offering stunning views over the Bosphorus, the magnificent towering Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel is reflecting the modern life style norms with its architectural design. The hotel is located on the European side of Istanbul, in Besiktas, midway between the areas of Taksim and Levent, and in a walking distance to key shopping malls and Bosphorus' main boat harbor. This luxury newest addition to Istanbul hotels is designed to meet most demanding requirements of today's modern traveler, whether the trip is for business or holiday in Istanbul, Turkey. Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel offers you a comfortable accommodation with its 213 rooms accompanied by a breathtaking Bosphorus view. You can organize your successful and unforgettable events with the hotel's 11 meeting rooms which are mostly daylighted and a unique Ballroom.You can enjoy extensive food and beverage alternatives of our hotel such as Arts Restaurant with its modern cuisine and stunning design, Bar 212 where international excellence meets local passion accompanied by spectacular Bosphorus view and Living Room&Terrace with its pop in atmosphere and smells of coffee. Both fitness and spa are together at R Fitness & Spa. You can refresh your body as well as your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing