We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but elegant and well-appointed rooms plus friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Ranked #130 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I wish the concierge lounge were open. It isn't. Rooms are very small but new and beautifully decorated. Staff are great and make the hotel a pleasant place to stay. I am returning st the rind of this week.

Stayed: April 2013
1  Thank sautillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 453 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is nice, but nothing special. The rooms are quite small for the price you pay, the breakfast is so and so for the standard in Turkey, as for the lunch. They have a nice meeting hall downstairs. The view from the roof terrace is amazing, and in 20 minutes walk you are on the Bosphorus. But it is quite far from the center, and there is not so much around. A special thank to Celine from the Spa/gym that allowed me to use the computer to print my boarding pass when the business center printer was out of order. She was nice and went the extra mile.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus experience with us. We will change some of our breakfast set-ups and items very soon, hopefully in your next visit to our hotel, it will be more variety and much better presentation.
In the meantime we appreciate your kind words about our outlets and staff. We hope to welcoming you again soon.
Anıl Boydas Tınaz - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you don't need alot of space for luggage, this Marriott property is ok cause it's next to a bus stop. But the rooms are very small, they don't have an executive lounge. They compensate with a small spot in the bar area with some nibbles & they give you a voucher for a free beer or wine! Ouch. Would never have booked here for 5 nites if we had known. The bed & linens are great, they give you free bottled water in your room. We did arrive very early(6 am) and got into a rm by 8 am, thanks! Concierge is lovely & helpful, staff are all wonderful & kind.the Marriott's in Shanghai & Beijing are far superior!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hafkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent experience at Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel. We are sorry to read that we were not able to meet your expectations.
We are just working on a new executive lounge project for our Elite Members. New executive lounge will be open soon together a new business center.
Onthe other hand we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed our navigator services which we also call concierge.
We would like to welcoming you back for a different and a memorable experience.
Anıl Boydas Tınaz - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have found the Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus hotel to be an excellent choice. We had some debates about staying, only because we knew the location is not near the historic area and would require either taxis or public transportation. We found the tradeoff worthwhile, as the rooms are very nicely designed, the staff has been very friendly and very professional. We passed on the 55 Turkish lira breakfast, however good the comments of previous visitors made it sound. We simply could not justify paying 55 Turkish lire (around $35 US) for breakfast anywhere! There are numerous places for breakfast across the street from the hotel. We also found that the restaurant two doors away, Cinifli Firin (see review) was also very nice, home cooked food, reasonably priced and friendly staff.
As for transportation, we got a transportation pass. There are several buses that stop almost directly in front of the hotel that can take you to the Kabatash station, from which you can take the tram to the historic Sultanahmet area, or you can take the finicular to Taksim, or the metro to other areas. Public transportation in Istanbul is not only pleasant, with clean vehicles, but given Istanbul's traffic, it is often much faster. We took taxis the first day, but found that they can get stuck in traffic like any car and the taxi fares mounted up very quickly.
In summary, we would highly recommend the Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerryTheRugGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Well appointed room with King Size Bed. Exceptional level of cleanliness. The room was set-up with the international traveller in mind with three plugs that could accommodate multi plug types and voltages. Also there was a 5amp USB charger ideal for BB10 or iPhone (iPad would not charge since the amps were too low; but the other plugs made a charge easy). Wifi was perfect with strong signal and high speed. Hotel staff were perfect and attentive-they could not be more helpful and accepted full responsibility to resolve minor matters. The Spa area was wonderful and spotlessly clean. Only silly part is the requirement to a bathing cap for men in the swimming pool! Wonderful penthouse bar lounge and outside seating except the night they decided to hold a birthday party in when the music was too loud! The lobby bar was fine but lacked a level of energy (likely because of the price of drinks). Only warning, a coffee and muffin in the restaurant costs 55 Turkish Lira which is out unbelievable - a flat price regardless of what you have! Taxis are always available outside to shuffle you to other fun parts of the City!

Room Tip: The best rooms are a high floor facing the Bosphorus. You will have a wonderful view of the bridge...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromToronto2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel. We are delighted to read that the Hotel amenities and staff service exceeded your expectations. I would like to take this opportunity to inform you about our new outlet, Living Room Bistro & Terrace located near the lobby area. It is a beautiful Terrace where you can enjoy various snack menus and drinks with an reasonable prices.
We would like to welcoming you again to discover our new amenities.
Anıl Boydas Tınaz - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a shame! This brand new hotel has all the hallmark of a great Renaissance experience however fell short of the service, standards and quality we have come to expect from this chain. The hotel room is very well equipped (in terms of features) however it is by far the smallest room (by size) I have stayed in with barely enough room to move around. There’s no bath tub in the bathroom and there isn’t bathrobes for guests in the wardrobe. Wireless internet was not free as we have come to expect in Renaissance hotels.

In terms of service, unfortunately, the front desk staff are not courteous to their guests. When we tried the traditional Turkish Bath (Hamam), we had to wait for 15 minutes for our bathrobe to arrive before we can begin the treatment. Lastly, the location isn’t the most central so if you are looking to stay in the middle of the tourist/nightlife action, do not choose this place. Further, there isn’t any close subway stations close by either so taxi is your only way to get around the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lohao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel had a lovely view of the bosphorus river, but was 30 minutes away from where the action is. However, the prices being 50 euros less than what an equivalent hotel would charge, for the old city, it was worth the effort. It has a nice coffee shop, a little deli serving wonderful desserts and savouries. It is a good business hotel [ and good for a holiday too ]. The concierge was very chirpy and helpful in fixing appointments and recommending good places.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjunbajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel
Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
#237 of 1,161 in Istanbul
95 reviews
Levent
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
#98 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#112 of 1,161 in Istanbul
2,610 reviews
Besiktas
Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
#120 of 1,161 in Istanbul
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel

Address: Barbaros Bulvari No: 145, Istanbul 34349, Turkey (Formerly Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $82 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to welcome you here at stylish Renaissance Polat Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel. Discover international excellence blended with local passion.''No matter where or why you travel, there's always something wonderfully new to be found.'' Is the integrated philosophy of Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel. Offering stunning views over the Bosphorus, the magnificent towering Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel is reflecting the modern life style norms with its architectural design. The hotel is located on the European side of Istanbul, in Besiktas, midway between the areas of Taksim and Levent, and in a walking distance to key shopping malls and Bosphorus' main boat harbor. This luxury newest addition to Istanbul hotels is designed to meet most demanding requirements of today's modern traveler, whether the trip is for business or holiday in Istanbul, Turkey. Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel offers you a comfortable accommodation with its 213 rooms accompanied by a breathtaking Bosphorus view. You can organize your successful and unforgettable events with the hotel's 11 meeting rooms which are mostly daylighted and a unique Ballroom.You can enjoy extensive food and beverage alternatives of our hotel such as Arts Restaurant with its modern cuisine and stunning design, Bar 212 where international excellence meets local passion accompanied by spectacular Bosphorus view and Living Room&Terrace with its pop in atmosphere and smells of coffee. Both fitness and spa are together at R Fitness & Spa. You can refresh your body as well as your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing