We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Hostel
Ranked #102 of 1,191 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay here!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Very poor stay here! Booked a private family room, got the tiniest room ever! Bunk bed pushed against the wall ( plugs were hidden behind here) and 2 single 'beds' touching off each other. No bin, mirror, chair or anything to hang your clothes on. We couldn't unpack our bags and were there for 6 nights! Arrived late so got the worst room I think.
There was construction next door literally and was very noisy in the morning - even Sunday! Also curtains didn't close the whole way do also awoken by morning light.
Smoking area is pretty much IN the kitchen - called a balcony but its a 'side' of the kitchen.
Had read owner Ali v friendly but found him very intrusive. Kept trying to massage me and my friend, constantly knocking on our bedroom door and sulked when we didn't want to go out with him at night. He sleeps on the kitchen floor at night which is just wierd! It's clearly his apartment in. The guise of a hostel. Only 2 bathrooms and long queues every day! And we are 3 young travellers so can't imagine what others must think!!!
Price is its saving grace - just about. If weren't so lazy would have gone elsewhere

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madrocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
9
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Location is good and the staff very friendly. However, there are only two bathrooms for the whole hostel and sometimes the queue to them can become long. It is stated that you were able to pay by card which is not true. No privacy, small rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuptu_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Castle Hostel is a small hostel located on a street near Sultanhamet tram station just minutes away from the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. The rooms are small and basic, but clean and they serve their purpose. The real outstanding feature to this hostel is its wonderful staff; the owner Ali made us welcome, serving us tea, coffee, wine, baklava, chocolate and his home made food from start to finish. He is a genuine and friendly person who is on hand to make your stay enjoyable. We were also lucky enough to meet his nephew Cem who showed us around Istanbul on our first day and became a friend to us while we were staying there. The other guests in the hostel were also lovely, so we came away feeling as though we had met some great people on our stay. The breakfast is really good; a selection of cheese, meat, olives and bread, and the customer service is second to none.

Thank you Ali and everyone at Castle Hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hostel is much more like a home then a hostel. From the moment you walk in the door you are greeted with a lovely hot tea and told to sit down and relax. The man who manages this place is the sweetest Turkish man who will do anything to ensure you enjoy your stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable and have recently been refurbished. There are clean shared bathrooms, which is fine as it is a hostel after all.

The breakfasts here are great!! The kind lady in the kitchen will wait around all morning until you are up and ready to cook you a big traditional Turkish breakfast to start your day. Once again nothing is too much for them and they will keep offering you plenty of food and drink. They also offer bath towels free of charge.

You cannot beat the position of this place! It's only a short walk to both the Blue Mosque and the Grand Bizarre. There are also plenty of restaurants near by and the tram stops just moments away from this place.
But be careful finding it! Unfortunately, the Castle is not signed very well and it's a case of blink and you will miss it! Also there a quite a few stairs to get to the hostel, so be prepared for that.

Overall though this place is not like other hostels. I have been to Istanbul three times and stayed here each time, as it truly does have that homely feel.

Room Tip: Get the family room - it's airconed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cait_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#299 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#123 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#78 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#116 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Beyoglu
Levanten Hostel
Levanten Hostel
#63 of 1,191 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hostel

Property: Castle Hostel
Address: Binbirdirek mahallesi. Klod farer Caddesi. Uluca apt. No:11 L:3.Istanbul, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34200, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 1,191 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Castle Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing