We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, great setting, awesome cocktails”

The House Cafe Ortakoy
Ranked #153 of 13,707 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Besiktas
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty food, great setting, awesome cocktails”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had breakfast and returned for a dinner meal also. Staff were always friendly and attentive. Cocktails before dinner were fantastic. We also thoroughly enjoyed sitting right on the water's edge for the evening meal. A great atmosphere on the Friday night we ate, very busy, but this did not compromise service. The food is tasty, although I'd recommend choosing local cuisine here over more standard European meals (e.g. my steak was not as tasty as other cuisine). The zucchini fritters are a must have for a starter / appetiser.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank milkynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    218
    58
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Arrogant and Silly Behaviour”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

The venue is nice but the behaviour is silly. You can't sit where you want. The reason is all the tables are reserved somehow. Don't lose your time here. There are better cafes around.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neandartel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great spot for dinner or a drink.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great discovery, superb location and atmosphere. The house was a place we discovered by accident, but we will return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12Mirdif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice place to chill out.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

nice cool place in a hot summer day.
Its more of a cafe than a restaurant,with an excellent view of the Bosphorus.
people are very friendly with a cheerful altitude,the place is very spacious with three levels on Bosphorus so you will see the water anywhere you sit,its not the cheapest place in Istanbul so carry some money on you.
P.S. if your hotel is in Taksim take the bus there don't take a taxi.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hossamyassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An evening with Mrs Jones”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The taxi ride down from Beyoglu through the old cobbled streets and early evening freeway traffic is the most exhilarating experience we have had so far in Istanbul. We are in silent agreement that the provided seatbelts would be more reassuring if they also came with buckles.

Eventually, safely ensconced on the balcony of the House Hotel Bosphorus’ upstairs bar, restorative cocktails at hand, the grandeur of our setting becomes apparent. The Bosphorus. Commuter ferries defer to oil tankers and bulk carriers; sleek motor launches weave their way through the maze. Beyond, Cunard’s liner Queen Elizabeth lies at berth with a trio of other ocean going monoliths. The last warm rays of the day’s sun bounce back at us from a million windows along the Asian shore. A deep blue twilight envelops all.


After dark we adjourn next door to the House Café Ortakoy, avoiding the achingly romantic waterside tables for a more practical dry position close to the bar. A rogue wave from a passing ferry would likely dampen both ardour and outfit in short order. The mezze platter tempts, but we opt for the herb, zucchini and feta fritters with yoghurt sauce, grilled halloumi cheese in vine leaves, and raki, Turkey’s anise flavoured “national drink.” To follow, spicy meatballs on a smoky aubergine puree, and a black rice and chicken salad, while behind us the main span of the Bosphorous Bridge becomes a spectacular, kilometer long LED light show.

Turkish ice cream, chocolate, and almond pieces suggest the Ice Cream Cake warrants serious attention, but the House Café boat service awaits our presence. A blast down the straights and under the Galata Bridge, a short ride on the funicular, and we are home again; satiated and sleepy. An evening to remember.

Like
The boat, the backdrop, the girl; never mind Mastercard moments. This one was pure James Bond.

Dislike
We found the music choice loud and at times abrasive. We think the House Café group is ripe for its own signature set of chilled grooves, like Hotel Costes in Paris, or Hemmesphere in Sydney. Get those DJ’s to work. The House Café: Mezze? Sign us up for a copy.

H.J.

House Café Ortakoy
Salhane Sokak No:1 Ortakoy Istanbul
Ph 0212 227 2209
www.thehousecafe.com

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HieronymusJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THC_Management, Manager at The House Cafe Ortakoy, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are really grateful for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor and glad to hear that you have spent an enjoyable and relaxing time with us.

About our ice cream cake, our desserts are prepared daily in our bakery and transferred directly to branches and we make sure that all of our branches consume our products on required dates. After your comment about the ice cream cake, we have checked our branch Ortaköy and observed that our desserts are up to the standard. We would very much appreciate, if you could give more information about your concerns on the dessert. We would also like to mention that, we do have DJ performances at The House Café by a well-known DJ who is pretty good at his work. We update our music time to time, considering our guests' requests, and our playlist generally consists of relaxing and good quality music.

We hope to see you again and welcome you back to The House Café Ortaköy.

Kind Regards,
THC Customer Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House Cafe Ortakoy also viewed

 

Been to The House Cafe Ortakoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing