We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely beautiful location with a tasty mix of local and continental fare”

The House Cafe Ortakoy
Ranked #139 of 13,822 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Besiktas
Reviewed April 8, 2013

One of the hipper hangouts of Istanbul, also visited by young couples with children. Good breakfast on the terrace, which is right on the Bosphorus Strait with an amazing view of the Bosphorus Bridge. A bit overpriced but definitely worth the visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
There are newer reviews for The House Cafe Ortakoy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 263 of 536 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

is to die for! Beautiful setting by the Bosphorus. It is worth waiting a little while inside to get access to a table outside by the water.
Highly recommend the brownie and the strawberry tart. Did not like the mud cake as much...

Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THC_Management, Manager at The House Cafe Ortakoy, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are grateful for your kind feedback and very glad that you have spent an enjoyable and relaxing time with us.

We are pleased to hear that you were delighted by our design and the 'setting' as you mentioned. We regret about your dissatisfaction about our mud cake and service quality. Our team members are trained to perform our customer's needs in the best way. Our desserts are prepared daily and selected carefully. In addition, we really appreciated your comment about our brownie and strawberry tart.

We hope to see you again and welcome you back to The House Café Ortaköy.

Kind Regards,
THC Customer Relations Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We waited for thirty minutes to get seated. Then waited for another twenty minutes to get a drink order in - which did arrive promptly. But my god, a beer and a teeny glass of wine cost 33 tl.

We happily drank reading the vast menu, deciding what to eat. The place was heaving. Half an hour later, I asked to give our orders. 'Yes, yes,' the waiter said. Ten minutes passed. Again we asked. 'Yes, yes.'

A further ten minutes passed, by this time we were hungry and annoyed and left leaving the money for our drinks on the table.

I know it was busy, but the wait was ridiculous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank lulujack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THC_Management, Manager at The House Cafe Ortakoy, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The House Cafe Ortaköy.The feedback of our guests, whether positive or negative, is always held in high regard and valued.

First of all, we would like to apologize for the quality of service you've experienced. Our whole staff members are trained on a regular basis and checked properly. However in particular times of the day our restaurant is over crowded which causes our staff to become really busy. We regret our staff’s attitude towards you has not reflected our company’s morals. Please be assured that this does not correspond to our usual standards of service and that we will do our utmost to improve and avoid similar situations in the future. We took note of your comments and we would be happy if you could contact us with further details about your visit or any other point you would like to share with us. We would like to mention that our prices are set according to the guidelines prepared by our general commission after a long market search.

We will appreciate it if you could give us another chance to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
THC Customer Relations Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a hip place where like a lot of 'outdoor' 'enclosed' cafes they allow smoking...this younger crowd really lights it up. Yuck, but they do have a small inside room for healthier folks.

Thank Boxer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THC_Management, Manager at The House Cafe Ortakoy, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. As you mentioned we do have a non-smoking area indoors; However, smoking outdoors are allowed. We would like to apologize for any of the inconvenience this may have caused. We would be happy to take your concerns into consideration. Thank you, for sharing your experience with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
THC Customer Relations Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The service was outstanding. The waiter went out of his way to make me apple iced tea with slivers of apple in it. The food was reasonably priced with big portions. The fresh fish melted in your mouth. We were a group of 5 and there were no complaints only compliments on the food, service and pricing. Will go back again next time I am in town!!

Thank eponau2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House Cafe Ortakoy also viewed

 

Been to The House Cafe Ortakoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing