We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Istanbul Gonen Hotel
Ranked #345 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for a stopover”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I opted for this hotel as we just needed a place to crash for 2 nights (for connecting flights) and did not want to be in the old city amongst the hustle SMS bustle as this was now our 3rd time in Istanbul. Hotel is very close to the airport, which we reached by use of the hotel shuttle, and is across the road from a large outlet mall. Apart from that, not much else to do but lie at 1 of the 3 pools which is just what we wanted after a month in Europe. Hotel room was large, clean and comfortable. Room service and restaurants was adequate and reasonably priced.

The only downfall, which is not necessarily a hotel fault, is that my girlfriend had an unpleasant encounter with a gentleman staying in the hotel who kept following her around, and at some points, making obscene gestures. I would just recommend for females to be cautious at all times, anywhere.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danleibman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliTurk, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Gonen Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Sir,
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Istanbul Gonen Hotel.
We do appreciate your positive feedback and we continue to thrive to improve our standard of service at all times.
Your comments have been shared with our Team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,

Ali Turk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    133
    36
    14
    15
See reviews for
42
66
33
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

As this was midway through my trip and needed an airport layover for 1 night I decided to splash out on a 5star hotel, of which the hotel does fit into this class.

Having had some confusion with the airport shuttle, i arrived to a fairly grumpy lady on reception and got my key for my room.

Room was incredibly impressive, huge area with a bath and seperate shower, mini bar was stocked and full although not sure about the 'condom' option in the fridge for 15tl!

Wifi not good enough on the 9th floor considering price paid. Breakfast incredibly varied with some dubious choices but on the whole very good. Pools were not open outside when I arrived or before I departed.

Would stay again

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliTurk, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Gonen Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Sir,
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Istanbul Gonen Hotel.
We do appreciate your positive feedback and we continue to thrive to improve our standard of service at all times. I have also noted your comments regarding the shuttle and the receptionist.
Your comments have been shared with our Team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,

Ali Turk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

5 star facility close to the airport but far from town
Excellent concierge service, but sadly not the rest of the front office.
Great buffet breakfast.
Took a cab to the hotel for about 10 TLR & took the efficient hotel shuttle back to the airport.
Would be a true 5 star if they can just improve the customer service to match the facility.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ochriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliTurk, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Gonen Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Sir or Madame,
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Istanbul Gonen Hotel.
We do appreciate your positive feedback and we continue to thrive to improve our standard of service at all times. I have also noted your comments regarding the service at the reception.
Your comments have been shared with our Team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,

Ali Turk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

This the worse hotel i ever stayed in very noisy all night you can hear the airplanes movement and slow respond from the staff and restaurant are small and bad reception attitude.I dosent recommend it

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliTurk, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Gonen Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Mr Ahmad,
We would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your experience at the Istanbul Gonen Hotel.
We are extremely sorry about the unsatisfactory level of service that you experienced during your stay and we can assure you that the matter has been thoroughly investigated and will not re-occur.
We do hope that we will be in a position to Welcome you back at the Istanbul Gonen Hotel and redeem ourselves.
Once again, thank you very much for bringing your dissatisfaction with the levels of service to our attention.
Kind regards,

Ali Turk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I stayed here for one night because I needed to fly out the next day. The location is excellent and they have a free shuttle to and from the airport. I think it comes on the hour. Like other reviews, the shuttle is hard to find but you just go where all the other shuttle's are (International arrivals A). You could always phone when you arrive at the airport. After I did that it wasn't so complicated.

They have swimming pools, fitness room, and the room was so comfortable. The towels were huge and you get shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion and some other things and a very generous amount. They have more a few good English channels like CNN and BBC news and some other English movies were on. A few French channels as well. Very quiet atmosphere and I couldn't hear the other people's tv;s etc..

Not only is the location great for being close to the airport but its right across the street from a shopping centre (I think StarCity Outlet its called) and in the food court they have McDonalds, Burger King, Pizza, kebabs etc... And crispy creme donuts! They have a big supermarket too. The ATM machines are located downstairs as many of these places don't take credit card's.

BUT WAIT!! The breakfast. You sure don't want to miss out on that! It was lovely and such an amazing presentation! They had pancakes, french toast, scrambled eggs, lots of fruits and breads and so many other things. Great service too. Although remember the food may be different than your used to but take time to appreciate how they present it and work so hard.

Overall a fabulous stay. Many people complain about the lack of English and the people not being so friendly. Remember you are not in an English speaking country so therefore to avoid frustration and disappointment not everyone will speak English or great English but people try their best.

This is also an airport hotel so if you are wanting to go do tourism, it might not be the best option. But remember don't miss out on the breakfast!!!!..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliTurk, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Gonen Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Istanbul Gonen Hotel.
We do appreciate your positive feedback and we continue to thrive to improve our standard of service at all times.
Your comments have been shared with our Team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Ali Türk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I usually stay at the Radisson when I have to spend a night near the airport in Istanbul. I decided to try the Gonen because the reviews were great and I wanted a change. It's fine, really, but I prefer the Radisson.

Location is great, very close to the airport. I took a taxi on the way there, it took about 5 minutes and cost 10 TL. There's nothing in the area; I actually like the seedy area around the Radisson, where there are lots of dining options. Here, there's the mall just across the street, and that's basically it.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. No more, no less -- really perfect for a one-night stay. At the Radisson I'm always upgraded to a business class room so the comparison is unfair. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom spacious, amenities were fine, towels a little too thin.

Breakfast was generous, but most things I tried weren't very tasty. I love Turkish food, so this was a mild disappointment. To be honest, the Radisson breakfast isn't superb either.

Took the shuttle back to the airport, less than ten minutes and I was there. All in all, a good experience. For 63 eur, I can't complain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliTurk, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Gonen Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Sir or Madame
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Istanbul Gonen Hotel.
We do appreciate your positive feedback and we continue to thrive to improve our standard of service at all times.
Your comments have been shared with our Team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Ali Turk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Booked here to be close to the airport, which it was. The shuttle was very difficult to locate at the airport end, but we persevered. Asked the man at the airport tourist info booth to phone the hotel and ask about the shuttle. We were informed that it was at Gate A, International Arrivals. There was no Gate A sign to be seen, but by just exiting the first door on the International Arrival level and standing there we met up with the shuttle, which has a Gonen Hotel sign on it. Tried to take a taxi instead of the shuttle but were refused (we assume it's not far enough to be worth it).
Reception staff were not overly friendly, but efficient. The staff in the pub made up for it. Disappointed and slightly amused by the staff member by the indoor pool who rudely insisted that my husband (barely any head hair) must purchase a bathing cap for 10TL prior to entering the pool! We laughed and refused and just moved on. The indoor pool is beautiful. Steam rooms were not very hot. The pretty outdoor pool was unfortunately open only from 10 to 6. Breakfast was interesting. Lots of things to choose from though so one could easily avoid the pink pretend sausages...
The Star Mall across the street is fun to wander. We had coffee at a place on the 4th floor, very good, and also bought excellent Turkish chocolate and coffee beans cased in chocolate - addictive!

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor overlooking the mall and had a peaceful sleep - good sound insulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infopro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliTurk, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Gonen Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Sir or Madame,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Istanbul Gonen Hotel.
We are extremely sorry about the unsatisfactory level of service that you experienced during your stay with us, we do take each and every Guest/s comments very seriously and we can assure that the appropriate measure have been in place in order to avoid a re-occurrence of this sort (especially shuttle service)
We do hope that we will be in a position to Welcome you back at the Istanbul Gonen Hotel and redeem ourselves.
Once again, thank you very much for bringing your dissatisfaction with the levels of service to our attention.
Kind Regards,
Ali Turk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.6 mi away
Gorrion Hotel Istanbul
Gorrion Hotel Istanbul
#313 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.0 mi away
Divan Suites Istanbul GPlus
Divan Suites Istanbul GPlus
#447 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#303 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Istanbul
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Istanbul Ataturk Airport
0.3 mi away
Pullman Istanbul Airport Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Gonen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Gonen Hotel

Property: Istanbul Gonen Hotel
Address: Degirmenbahce Avenue No.15, Yenibosna, Istanbul 34197, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Istanbul Gonen Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Istanbul Gonen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing