We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little hotel - wonderful staff”
Review of Divalis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Divalis Hotel
Ranked #252 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely little hotel - wonderful staff”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The staff at Divalis go above and beyond. The hotel is very clean, has great decor and is in a great location just behind the Blue Mosque. I stayed in room 110 with the ocean view and it was lovely. Beware the stairs if you choose this room but otherwise - Divalis is a gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BontleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    38
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
81
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The location is perfect - within strolling distance from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and Sultanamet square. The hotel is right on the city wall. There is a cookery school nextdoors, restaurants on the street and some lovely shops and markets close by. Close to trams for further adventures.

The staff were super - friendly and kind. We appreciate the thoughtful service we received from Aamir, Altan, Osman and Arzu who improved on our attempts at Turkish, provided tips, hints and insight, and helped with shuttles, bus and flight bookings.

We stayed on the top floor (bit of a climb) for a few days. The room is small but is situated next to a rooftop lounge area with great view. On our return to Istanbul we stayed again, this time in a room on the first floor - much bigger and also lovely. The rooms are stylish, well furnished with attention to detail. The airconditioning is great as afternoons were very hot but the rooms are pleasant.

Breakfast is provided and is an excellent and generous start to the day. We had a great time and will definitely stay here on any subsequent visit to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Top floor most romantic and private! Ground floor has patio against city wall with romantic alcove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieRayHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

First off, the room. Nicely decorated and smells great. I like the bathroom most despite its small size but with its modern touch, make awesome shower after long walk especially during summer. We were given room 110 which is at the top floor. The hotel manager Amir did exactly what was requested by my wife. It is quite a climb up the stairs but the view from the terrace is fantastic. Secondly, the location is simply great!
Just five minutes by foot northwest of Divalis, I could see the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern and the Sultanamet Square.
Now this is a big plus.
I don't have to worry about food as there are nice restaurants and mini-markets within the area.
Third, the staffs.
Attentive and extremely helpful.
In fact I don't feel like they're the staff after a few minutes sitting down and talking with them.
Always ready to answer your queries.
I was greeted by Altan and Arzo upon arrival.
While my wife and I were still admiring the surrounding our luggage was already being carried by Altan to our room.
Later on he offered to help with the tour by giving some brochures.
Amir is a great guy as well. He's always concern if we've got everything in order like the room and the whole trip.
Osman whom is the cook also rendered help regarding my plan to Bursa and I'm glad that I got his help.
Aisyah, the housekeeper is really sweet.
Both my wife and I really had a great time while we were there.
Thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AriffinAmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The location of the hotel is great
The staff at the hotel is very welcoming and hospitable
Amir speaks turkish, urdu english and Arabic
Altan is a great guy, very helpful and very good english
Arzo is a sweet heart and Usman, an awesome cook
They all made us feel at home, even gave us free welcome breakfast as we were super tired when we arrived
The hotel is clean and has reasonable rates
Breakfast is also good and enjoyable

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laila1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Arriving at Divalis was a pleasant surprise. We were shown to the top floor (quite a climb but worth it) room which is next to the roof top Terrance, a glorious area to unwind with views over the cities streets.
Rooms are well furnished and the bed is very comfortable. Great shower too!!
Breakfasts were delicious and the staff really make an effort.
Perfect location in the heart of Sultanahmet. A short walk to the Mosques, Trams, shopping with loads of cafes right on your doorstep.
TIP: Do eat at Sofas Cafe around the corner!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We've spent one night in Divalis hotel in Istanbul and we left with the willing of coming back and spend more time there. The hotel is very very nice, with rooms having character and very good design. The breakfast is very nice, in the hotel terrace and most of all the personnel: incredible helpful and always smiling, a service better than the one of several 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdarmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

we stayed 3 nights in the hotel.
The location is simply perfect and the hotel is so cute. A small hotel, just 10 room and the entire staff dedicated to make your stayed a very pleasant one.
The hotel manager Aamir is simply amazing, he helps us all the time making sure we can make out of Istanbul the best trip ever.
We would definitely recommend this hotel, as we are planning to go back and stay there again!!!

Room Tip: Room in the top floor has view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#259 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#269 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#135 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Point Hotel
Best Point Hotel
#28 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Aslan Istanbul
Hotel Aslan Istanbul
#511 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alilass Otel
Alilass Otel
#250 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divalis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divalis Hotel

Property: Divalis Hotel
Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:76 | Sultanahmet - Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divalis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical Sultanahmet area, Divalis Hotel is only 200 metres from the Blue Mosque. The hotel offers a terrace with sea views, and modern rooms with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. The rooms of Divalis are elegantly decorated with wooden furniture. They all include an LCD TV, minibar and an electric kettle. Some rooms have a French balcony. The day starts with an open buffet breakfast, which is served in the lobby area. During the day, you can enjoy drinks and snacks from the lobby bar. The hotel also has a charming outdoor seating area on the street. The hotel is just a 5-minute walk from Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace. The Grand Bazaar is 1 km away with its colourful shops. Ataturk International Airport is 16 km from the property. Fatih is a great choice for travellers interested in monuments, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Divalis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing