We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally hip little outdoor cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Urban Cafe

Urban Cafe
Ranked #1,856 of 13,397 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Bar, Italian, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
phoenix
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Totally hip little outdoor cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Cool hangout for drinks, we stumbled onto it, in an alley behind the main street. Tea, coffee, wine, beer. They also have some food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoenixLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool hipster hangout behind the main street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great for a drink and to see locals from the University, hipsters, young people and their lecturers, and a beatiful vine canopy keeping you cool.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TorsieandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Go there for drinks and to hang out. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Visited Urban Cafe with some friends after wandering around Taksim trying to find a restaurant with traditional food for dinner. We couldn't find much around the area except bars that served "bar food" - quesadillas, fried snacks etc - but wanted something substantial before hitting the bars.

Found Urban down an alleyway and found it to be a very local, trendy venue outside. The menu had a couple of local dishes alongside pizzas and pastas. We went with the most traditional options - grilled beef/chicken with aubergine puree for example. Food was decent quality but could have been bigger. Taste was nice but not amazing.

Unfortunately it was quite busy so we could only get a table for 5 inside on the lower ground. Not much atmosphere in there and it was quite stuffy.

This was definitely the type of place my friends and I would hang out in London on a lazy Sunday afternoon. Cool vibe if you can get an outside our lobby seat, nice prices with food available if you want it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cally1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hip bar near Istiklal St”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a cool bar - good for people watching and afternoon or evening drinks. We didn't eat there but the pizzas looked good and lots of people were ordering them. It's in a back alley with street art under a vine awning - a nice place to chill out. Prices were a bit high by Istanbul standards but still cheaper than we'd expect at home.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eLiZa_m_m_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Instinct is everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stumbled upon this charming gastro-pub in a back alley just off Istikal Cad. and enjoyed several drinks followed by delicious food. The decor is elegantly aged (turn-of-the-century chandeliers & molding, etc.) and the layout allows for a view of the painted (with artistic graffiti & passers-by) alley or the low-lit bar. There are 3 seating areas each with 6-10 tables, but insterior stairs make this (like many sights in Turkey) inaccessible for those with mobility issues. That said there is only 1 small stair going into the main seating area. Washrooms are down a small flight, and are equally charming and fairly clean. Service was fairly quick and helpful and the food at the right temperature with good portions. Only the fish in the fish & chips disappointed: it was clearly not fresh and soaked in oil.
Overall, we recommend a visit here!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Larsey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Urban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing