We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel and service”
Review of Grand Ons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Ons Hotel
Ranked #886 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good hotel and service”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I just returned from Istanbul, very satisfied with this small hotel. It's very clean, every day towels changing, hotel stuff friendly, free wi fi. Food for brekfast was also good. Only thing I didn't like is glass bathroom door... no privacy if you are with friend, like I was.
But, I would recommend this hotel, it's ok.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    68
    66
    40
    26
See reviews for
34
73
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have just returned from a 4 day trip to Istanbul, part of a small group. I and my husband received a triple room with no window, actually there was a small window opening inn an inside space where all the smells were coming (cigarette smell, food etc) - there was no way to get any fresh air or see something. The a/c was not working. We went back twice to the front desk where we tried to talk to Ficri - front desk agent, very impolite and pretending not to speak any English, instead of changing our room he said he had none available, we asked to fix the a/c at least, he said it couldn't be fixed, he treated us with " I don't care" attitude. In about 2 hours after our request he checked in guests - the hotel has 8 floors, so he refused to change the room , knowing the conditions (bad smell, dirty room, no air). Other than this the hotel is in a good location, but I will never ever go there again, unless I have no choice and I have a room with a window and fresh air. The other members of the group received rooms with a window...

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to have a guaranteed room with a window or at least a/c that is working. Staff doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramonica2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Hotel staff friendly.
Location of hotel on pedestrian road between hours of 7am to 8pm so you have to walk to get a taxi. Metro 5 mins walk. Grand bazaar and blue mosque also walking distance. Clean basic accommodation. View from roof top terrace over the sea. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Liz50488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in January 2014. The room and bathroom was quite small but adequate and they do get cleaned everyday. We had a fridge in the room which didn't work and kept all drinks warm. Our room faced the street so our view was the clothes shops outside.

Pros: 1.Reception staff were nice and friendly, some had trouble with English when we called from the room though. Neslihan on the front desk was very helpful.
2. The hotel is a walking distance from Sultanahmet and most of the sights in the area. Good transport links (tram and metro) as well from Askaray and Laleli university.
3. Good view from the terrace, the swimming pool was closed while we were there but I've heard good things about it.

Cons:
1. Wifi access from the room is outrageously bad, I was only able to use this. We were advised to use the lobby (which was fine) but I'd have preferred to chat with my family in the room
2. Breakfast was a bit blah to be honest, with an odd selection that includes chips and some soup but it's OK for the price being paid. I have a sweet tooth but the sweetness of the fruit juices on tap was almost unbearable
3. There's no clear sign of the hotel on the street (it's a bit hidden) and we got lost a few times as there are so many clothes shops in the area and you could miss it without even trying.
4. Hotel is situated in Laleli which is sort of the red light district, coming back at night with my friend we had someone try to proposition us!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ij3oma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaa, Yemen
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My husband and i stayed in grand ons for Christmas and the new year eve 2014 we stayed for 10 days.
At first we booked the hotel through a travel agency and the rate was a bit expensive, the agency made a mistake and booked a twin room for us, when we arrived we asked at the front desk if they could change the room to a double instead, their answer was "impossible" they were too rude to answer and they were never helpful when we ask about directions with their frown faces and unfriendly attitude.
For the rooms they were too small we had a problem with the heater, the fridge was not working no matter how high we set it, its kept in a wooden cabin which kept it even warmer, the wall was too thin i could hear the TV from the neighbor room, the toilet is really small too, whenever i turn hot water in the shower, it shows dirty brownish water then i have to wait and waste lots of water till i finally get it clean. In our day 9 we paid more for a double room and all what we received was two beds joined together in other words twin room that was changed to double I couldn’t reason why we even paid more for?
The breakfast was the same from day one until now, no changes at the menu and i can rate it average.
Luckily, we were not at the hotel most of the time, we leave the hotel in the morning and we came at night tired and sleepy. The only good thing about this hotel is the location. it is in Aksaray area, close to sultan Ahmed and Aya Sofia. Close to grand bazar and bus station, Metro is few steps away.
Other hotels in the area are much cheaper find an alternative.

Room Tip: look at the room before you book it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hajer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greytown, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

To be honest I booked this hotel with great apprehension, however comforted myself with knowing that should it be terrible when I get there, I would move somewhere else. Needless to say, I stayed there for 10 nights without even thinking of moving! Rooms were small, but clean and tidy. The best thing about this location, is that everything is so easily accessible. There is a station literally a minutes walk away and using the local train was not difficult at all. The reception staff are extremely obliging. Beautiful views from the breakfast balcony which becomes even more stunning in the evening. Breakfast is typically boring and the same everyday, but its sufficient to boost you for the day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. These rooms are quiet and also have excellant wifi connecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_Gangz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Room was very small. Bed not comfortable at all. No minibar,We could hear the neighbors.
Constant problems with Internet 3 days we were not able to use it from room at all, we were recommended to use the INTERNET only in Lobby !!
Breakfast: No change in the Menu 3 days at the same choice, only regular bread roughly cut, no choice for the fruits only apples ( not fresh).
Staff are not friendly at all !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nansoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Istanbul Royal Hotel
#971 of 1,140 in Istanbul
167 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Laleli Gonen Hotel
Laleli Gonen Hotel
#471 of 1,140 in Istanbul
215 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Barin Hotel
Barin Hotel
#611 of 1,140 in Istanbul
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ant Hotel
#887 of 1,140 in Istanbul
151 reviews
Delta Hotel
#470 of 1,140 in Istanbul
114 reviews
Tayhan Hotel
#996 of 1,140 in Istanbul
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Ons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Ons Hotel

Property: Grand Ons Hotel
Address: Azimkar Sok. No:22 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34480, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #886 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Ons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Grand Ons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ons Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing