We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Istanbul January 2014”
Review of Grand Ons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Ons Hotel
Ranked #886 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Istanbul January 2014”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Hotel staff friendly.
Location of hotel on pedestrian road between hours of 7am to 8pm so you have to walk to get a taxi. Metro 5 mins walk. Grand bazaar and blue mosque also walking distance. Clean basic accommodation. View from roof top terrace over the sea. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Liz50488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    68
    66
    40
    26
See reviews for
34
73
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in January 2014. The room and bathroom was quite small but adequate and they do get cleaned everyday. We had a fridge in the room which didn't work and kept all drinks warm. Our room faced the street so our view was the clothes shops outside.

Pros: 1.Reception staff were nice and friendly, some had trouble with English when we called from the room though. Neslihan on the front desk was very helpful.
2. The hotel is a walking distance from Sultanahmet and most of the sights in the area. Good transport links (tram and metro) as well from Askaray and Laleli university.
3. Good view from the terrace, the swimming pool was closed while we were there but I've heard good things about it.

Cons:
1. Wifi access from the room is outrageously bad, I was only able to use this. We were advised to use the lobby (which was fine) but I'd have preferred to chat with my family in the room
2. Breakfast was a bit blah to be honest, with an odd selection that includes chips and some soup but it's OK for the price being paid. I have a sweet tooth but the sweetness of the fruit juices on tap was almost unbearable
3. There's no clear sign of the hotel on the street (it's a bit hidden) and we got lost a few times as there are so many clothes shops in the area and you could miss it without even trying.
4. Hotel is situated in Laleli which is sort of the red light district, coming back at night with my friend we had someone try to proposition us!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ij3oma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaa, Yemen
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My husband and i stayed in grand ons for Christmas and the new year eve 2014 we stayed for 10 days.
At first we booked the hotel through a travel agency and the rate was a bit expensive, the agency made a mistake and booked a twin room for us, when we arrived we asked at the front desk if they could change the room to a double instead, their answer was "impossible" they were too rude to answer and they were never helpful when we ask about directions with their frown faces and unfriendly attitude.
For the rooms they were too small we had a problem with the heater, the fridge was not working no matter how high we set it, its kept in a wooden cabin which kept it even warmer, the wall was too thin i could hear the TV from the neighbor room, the toilet is really small too, whenever i turn hot water in the shower, it shows dirty brownish water then i have to wait and waste lots of water till i finally get it clean. In our day 9 we paid more for a double room and all what we received was two beds joined together in other words twin room that was changed to double I couldn’t reason why we even paid more for?
The breakfast was the same from day one until now, no changes at the menu and i can rate it average.
Luckily, we were not at the hotel most of the time, we leave the hotel in the morning and we came at night tired and sleepy. The only good thing about this hotel is the location. it is in Aksaray area, close to sultan Ahmed and Aya Sofia. Close to grand bazar and bus station, Metro is few steps away.
Other hotels in the area are much cheaper find an alternative.

Room Tip: look at the room before you book it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hajer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Greytown, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

To be honest I booked this hotel with great apprehension, however comforted myself with knowing that should it be terrible when I get there, I would move somewhere else. Needless to say, I stayed there for 10 nights without even thinking of moving! Rooms were small, but clean and tidy. The best thing about this location, is that everything is so easily accessible. There is a station literally a minutes walk away and using the local train was not difficult at all. The reception staff are extremely obliging. Beautiful views from the breakfast balcony which becomes even more stunning in the evening. Breakfast is typically boring and the same everyday, but its sufficient to boost you for the day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. These rooms are quiet and also have excellant wifi connecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_Gangz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Room was very small. Bed not comfortable at all. No minibar,We could hear the neighbors.
Constant problems with Internet 3 days we were not able to use it from room at all, we were recommended to use the INTERNET only in Lobby !!
Breakfast: No change in the Menu 3 days at the same choice, only regular bread roughly cut, no choice for the fruits only apples ( not fresh).
Staff are not friendly at all !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nansoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed 16 nights at this hotel in october. It is very well situated,near the main objectifs of Istanbul.The room was cleaned every day, the towels were changed daily, the bathroom was ok. The beds were very comfortables and the furniture ok. There is a refrigerator in the room.The breakfast is typical for Istanbul: excellent and abondant, with many possibilities of choice:cheese, yogourt, cookies, eggs, confiture etc etc etc.Do not forget to taste the excellent halva.The breakfast room is situated at the 8th floor and the view is fantastic-the sea and the ships.The staff were very friendly and helpful.The only minus : the internet connexion in the room s did not work sometime. You can take the dinner very cheap in the locantas, all around the zone.But take care and do not pay much: you can eat very well paying only 9-10 liras a meal. And before ordering, ask the price, because they can try to peak you. In general,in Turkey, the prices are very cheap.(Croisiere of Bosphore-10 liras, a bottle of water-0.5 lira, a shirt for man-10-15 liras. Next time, we will come again to Grand Oms hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our room was very small. Just big enough to be able to walk around the bed. Bed itself is not comfortable, you feel every spring of the mattress. Thru thin walls we could hear neighbors snoring in both neighboring rooms. The fridge instead of cooling drinks (room temperature inside no matter how you turn the regulator) was warming up the whole table it was built in, melting chocolate put on it. Unhidden electrical wires to air-conditioner literally INSIDE of the shower cabin. CONSTANT PROBLEMS WITH INTERNET, 3 of 6 days we were not able to use it from room at all, we were recommended to use internet in lobby. Breakfast - another disappointment. Cold boiled eggs, extremely sweet fruit concentrate drink, not even toaster bread for toaster, but regular bread roughly cut. All 6 mornings we had absolutely same selection without even a slight change in menu.

Location is good. That's a big advantage for this money. Just few minutes from Grand Bazaar, 3-4 tram stops from Sultanahmet.

Although we were disappointed with hotel, somehow it wasn't pissing us off :) We had no other Istanbul hotel experience to compare with, so maybe it's a 3* level of Istanbul. We liked the city a lot, so hotel did not ruin the good impression from the trip at all :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Konstantin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Istanbul Royal Hotel
#968 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Ant Hotel
#926 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Prestige Hotel
#589 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Delta Hotel
#480 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Barin Hotel
Barin Hotel
#621 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Grand Asiyan Hotel
#671 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Ons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Ons Hotel

Property: Grand Ons Hotel
Address: Azimkar Sok. No:22 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34480, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #886 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Ons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Grand Ons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ons Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing