We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never using this hotel again”
Review of Grand Ons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Ons Hotel
Ranked #884 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never using this hotel again”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

1. The reception staff was unfriendly, giving wrong advice, not informed and not willing to help with tourist info
2. The room was not cleaned: only the trash was taken and the beds were arranged, but the dust stayed there for the whole trip
3. In the room was very hot and the air conditioned wasn't working properly.
4. One good thing: the silence (well the other guests were noisy, sometimes very noisy, but that's not the hotel's fault)
5. The breakfast was the same every day and very poor; no variety; very few choices.
6. Restaurant stuff looked bored.
7. The view from the restaurant was awesome!
8. We got a room that did't have any view, and when I say "any view" I mean it: the window opened to a hole, I could only see 4 other walls, dark, some cables and some apparatus making a strange noise. If you ever go to this hotel avoid rooms: 1101, 1201, 1301 etc. In my opinion, these rooms had to be transformed into small warehouses.
9. No minibar in the room: only a small empty fridge (which by the way I couldn't open at first because a bed was positioned exactly in front of the fridge door)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    68
    66
    40
    26
See reviews for
34
73
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The rooftop restaurant, overlooking the Sea of Mamara was a great place for breakfast. Room OK. Had a blown light globe, but they fixed it, soon enough. Hotel just a short walk to Ataturk Street, with it's eateries and money changers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Villius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

While it is not the most luxurious hotel in the world, the Grand Ons was definitely one of the highlights of my trip. The reception staff took a while to warm up, but the restaurant staff were superb. One in particular was very friendly and willing to teach and advise myself and my colleague about Istanbul and Turkey. There was nothing that was too much trouble for him to help with. It also appeared to be one of very few hotels in the area with a rooftop deck - something we took full advantage of to enjoy the sunsets over the Marmara Sea.
I would definitely come back if given the opportunity!

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far up as possible to avoid the busy street sounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJPSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Both my partner and I stayed here recently. The first thing we noticed was the unfriendly attitude of the desk staff, one male in particular. We checked in and returned to him to find directions to eating places nearby. He just pointed to his left and that was it!!!! Then mumbled something he must have thought was funny. We also had the pleasure of his company on check out. The hotel was supposed to notify us when our transfer had arrived, but this guy completely ignored the transfer guy and us. He was the rudest guy I have ever come across at a hotel reception.
The hotel itself is reasonabl. Rooms can be a bit cold, especiallly when the A/C does not work. We complained several time re this but helpful harry at the desk just ignored our requests.
The breakfast is amazing. I think it is aimed for the Russian travellers as you would not believe what is served. Chips and hot dogs, beetroot etc?/ and the toaster is hopeless.
Rooms on the upper level are noisy at night, especially street noise. The windows need insulation.
When you leave this hotel, you have to be careful not to fall down the sunken entrances to nearby businesses.
Overall, i would not stay here again!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kaitlandAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

The area of the hotel is not brilliant - we did not go out after dark as it was a bit of a strange area. The nearest tram stop is Aksaray which is about 5 minute walk away.

We paid £250 for the week for two so did not expect much.

The hotel was very clean. Reception staff were efficient but not too friendly. Pool area very small.

Breakfast consisted of bread, eggs, cheese, olives etc but also they served soup and sausages and chips.

No alcohol was served in the downstairs bar which was a shame as the area was very comfortable - to get an alcoholic drink you had to go to the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lale1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Situated just a few minutes walk from the tram line and only a couple stops away from all the main sights is the plus about this hotel. Unfriendly staff and dirty room (hair and dirt on the floor when we arrived, hair on the sheets!). We had booked a double but recieved a twin. Breakfast was OK but tasteless and void of anything healthy, it consisted of dry buns & bread, tasteless cheese and turkish (?) pink sausages and chips...
The sourrounding area consists of mainly clothes shops and a good walk is required for dinner, as there are not many restaurants nearby, with the exception of three just down the road. This does not matter that much though, there are many good ones in Sulthanamet, where the Blue Mosque & Hagia Sofia are located.

Hotel restaurant is on the top floor overlooking the Bosphorous. Hotel is cramed in between other very tall buildings (common in Istanbul), so dont expect a good view unless maybe you stay at the top..

It was a fairly cheap hotel compared to some we looked at, and the standard is acordingly, but for me, a clean room and friendly staff are more important than standard, and sadly this was just not the case with Grand Ons.

Very slow but free Wifi Available.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photobugSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days.

The room was excellent, clean & tidy. Room was cleaned everyday & the staff here, apart from one, were very good & friendly. The communal areas were a very good standard.

We arrived late evening & decided to eat in the hotel restaurant rather then going out, however, the quality of the food was very poor & was very expensive. We had booked for B&B but the breakfast was the same everyday, it was a poor standard and no matter what time we seemed to go it seemed like it had been sat there for a long time. One thing which did seem strange was that they served chips & hotdog style sausages for breakfast everyday.

The hotel was advertised as only being a 10 minute walk away from the old city & tourist area, however it took us nearly 30 mins walk to get to the Blue mosque area. We spent most of our time in Taskim in the New City & this hotel was just too far away from there.

The hotel is just around the corner from the main bus route & Metro stop, the public transport is very cheap. There were several hotels. bars & restaurants around the hotel, some were reasonably priced others not. Laleli appears to have a large Russian tourist base, so much so large number of the shop signs were in Russian. The Hotel seemed to cater more towards a Russian client, and we were the only Turkish/English guests.

Apart from the food, we had no problem with this hotel itself, probably one of the better hotels we have stayed at in Turkey. One thing that would put us off staying here again is how far away from the New CIty it is, as that is where we choose to spend out time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovinthesun26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Istanbul Royal Hotel
#968 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Ant Hotel
#926 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Prestige Hotel
#589 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Delta Hotel
#478 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Barin Hotel
Barin Hotel
#622 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Grand Asiyan Hotel
#674 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Ons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Ons Hotel

Property: Grand Ons Hotel
Address: Azimkar Sok. No:22 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34480, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #884 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Ons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Grand Ons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ons Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing