We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!”
Review of Cafe Mese

Cafe Mese
Ranked #434 of 13,595 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you are tired of running the gauntlet each evening in Istanbul, tying to pick a restaurant without being strong-armed, Cafe Mese is the perfect place. There's no "sell". Instead it's like most restaurants we am used to in Europe and North America: check out the menu, take a seat, and enjoy the evening. They have a small menu, but everything we ate was great. Wish I had trusted my instincts and gone into this place earlier on our trip. I know we would have returned several times!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank behanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    81
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
turin, italy, eu
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best in Istanbul”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Maybe because they don't pull you in when you pass by... maybe because you can have a very good meal without spending too much... maybe because staff are really friendly... this is a top ten restaurant!
Namastè all!
The Little Prince :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank little_prince_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent dishes and service”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

In a street with dozens of indifferent eateries, Cafe Mese stands out and is definitely worth a go. The food is freshly prepared; the decor is appealing, but best of all, the staff are friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JWBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to go for a good meal which leaves you feeling full up and satisfied”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was a place very near to our hostel and Somewhere we had seen on trip advisor but were really Pleasantly surprised by the great food! Very different to a lot of the places we had been to in Istanbul already and somewhere we felt offered something a bit different to your usual kebab with a variety of different carbs. Following amazing complimentary mini bread rolls (home maid?) and a lush pesto-esque dipping sauce, we started with the assorted meze which was awesome and the best we have had by far- especially the green beans yum! - then I had a 'crunchy salad' (which unfortunately had too much lemon juice on it) and he had the most AMAZInG Turkish ravioli - mega food envy from me! Good wine and then also given lovely Turkish coffee with a piece of Turkish delight to sweeten the deal. All for a very reasonable price! If we were here for longer we would definitely be going back! Waiters and waitresses were all lovely aswell!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Visit Once & More”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The cafe is modern and the staff is friendly and not pushy like most other restaurants in town. Menu has something for everyone with appetizers, salads, pastas, local dishes and other main courses as well as a dessert menu. Found the place on my 3rd night in town and went back the next day and I saw people also visiting again from the day before. The food is wonderful, with just the right portion and gourmet feel. And best of all the place is reasonable at 10-20 Turkish Lira for meals. Check out their website for a food and beverage menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkippyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mese also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Mese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing