We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce, but disappointed in service”
Review of Aren Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aren Suites
Ranked #41 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here because of the many five star reviews on Tripadvisor and I feel let down by all of the great comments. I will say that the location is as advertised and the views from the roof balcony (as well as our room 502) are breathtaking. The rooms are newly furnished, clean and well designed. (It is not a full bath, though, as there is no tub--just a shower). As some other (more recent) guests have pointed out, the sound levels can be disturbing and sound proofing is non-existent. In addition to the guests (and their young children), there was construction going on from 11 am until about 4:00 pm. The hammering sounded like it was right next door, but it wasn't.

The breakfast was so so. It was a cold breakfast with few choices. (Brown bread or white, boiled eggs, two types of soft cheese, a couple of types of cereal, one type of local pastry, plain yogurt that you could add jam to. The coffee was down to the dregs and we had to ask the assistant to make more.)

Although we are staying in high tourist season, the value for money was so-so.

In addition, I take issue with other reviewers who found the staff friendly and helpful. Some of the desk staff are friendly and others are sullen. But none of them were helpful in guiding us to simple establishments. (We were looking for an electronics store because we needed an adaptor for the Turkish plugs and the two that they had on hand were designed for European plugs, not American. And we were also looking for a laundry and they would only refer us to the hotel laundry. Yet there is a laundry and dry cleaners within 200 meters). If you want directions, you will be handed a map and that's the extent of the help. My definition of helpful is much different: pick up the phone to find a store, or google a location on the internet, and then give careful, explicit directions. That is how the desk staff of a hotel gives help to out of town guests.

Sorry, I expect more from a top rated boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank markfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MehmetSumengen, Manager at Aren Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Markfour

Thank you for your comments and choosing our hotel on you last stay

It was me who was taking care of you. I remember your question about laundry. The hotel does not have a laundry service itself so we were going to send your laundry to the same place you saw around. Also we are doing best to help our guests, like directing to stores around or checking online as you said. Probably there was a little bit rush so we couldn't answer you totally at that time. Please accept my apologies for this.

We hope to see you in our hotel again with better service

Best regards

Mehmet Sumengen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for Aren Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 669 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed at Aren Suites and it was one of my best experiences. The hotel has very comfortable and modern rooms. And the terrace is lovely. I reccomend everybody to have couple cups of turkish tea (cay) there. If you are an author or song writer, you will agree with me: you will enjoy your time writing there while seeing the beauty of Istanbul and feel like the part of local people. And the most important point is the staff. They are very helpful and kind. They answered all my questions with patience and came with many solutions. I will be back to this hotel soon and learn about Istanbul more ;)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Putri_Indri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenSuites, Manager at Aren Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2014

Dear valued guest
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Sincerely,
Mehmet Sumengen | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I had a short but great time in Istanbul ... my hotel was perfectly located, all historical attractions are within walking distance so exploring the city was very easy ... though I would have loved to spend more time in the hotel: clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable room, very good breakfast, lovely roof! great service, everybody was doing their best to make me feel at home and I felt I was given VIP treatment (Thank you, Mehmet Sümengen (a manager who really cares) ! ... great job, Furkan! (the most helpful, patient and polite receptionist I've ever come across - with a good sense of humour ;)) .. I'll be back, next time with my family! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenSuites, Manager at Aren Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2014

Dear valued guest
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Sincerely,
Mehmet Sumengen | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Likes:
1. Ultra modern building.
2. Large rooms, very nicely decorated, good bed, complete bathroom.
3. Location is a quieter place, but still very close to the Blue mosque and all monuments. Ideal to visit Istanbul.
4. Although not cheap, it is still good value considering the modernity of the building and the size of the room.
5. Very friendly staff at reception.
6. Terrace with a view, no restaurant but perfect for a quiet drink (Bring Your Own) with view on Istanbul by night.
7. Very good and free internet.
8. Breakfast buffet is very decent, on the Turkish style (do not expect sunny side eggs and hashbrowns), but with plenty of fresh fruit.
Dislikes (a bit):
1. Many families with children running everywhere and smashing doors. In my experience however, they went to bed around 11:30 pm, so it is not too bad.
2. Although it is not far from the old town, there is a steep slope to climb.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanLouisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We booked this hotel on one day's notice after a booking at another hotel failed. The staff were incredibly attentive, friendly and nice, especially Mehmet at the reception. The room was huge, 400 TV channels, free highspeed WIFI, jacuzzi bathtub and fantastic beds. Great location 5 minutes away from the Blue Mosque!

The minibar had prices that were on par with prices in convenience stores, unlike other overpriced hotels! (water 1 TL, etc)

We will definately come back to this hotel in the future and we recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexfromnorway_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MehmetSumengen, Manager at Aren Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear alexfromnorway_123
Thank you for your nice comments. We hope to welcome you on your next trip to Istanbul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

The place is obviously newly renovated which has been nicely done. The location is perfect to explore Sultanahmet. There were however very noisy other guests, which was annoying because the sound proofing is very poor and the young staff at the reception was not able to handle this well. They also forgot their earlier confirmation that we could stay another night, which again was very annoying.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank JH_AW_IH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear JH_AW_IH

Thank you very much for your comments. We do our best to make our guests comfortable during their stay. When you informed us about the noise from the other room, we immediatly called the guest and told him that you were disturbed, maybe he did not understand us because of his bad English. We could try to inform the guest again but unfortunatelly you haven't informed us. As I wrote before, we try to make our best to make our guests happy. You already know this, like you found the room small for three people, we arranged an extra room for your daughter as complimentary. We will be very glad to see you in our hotel again and provide you with a better service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel was a great start to our holiday. We were made to feel welcome, the rooms were very clean and bright. The staff were pleasent and helpful. Most places are within walking distance to the hotel. Check out the views from the roof, it's great to relax in the evening. Would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranjana_ranjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear ranjana_ranjana
Thank you for your nice comments. We hope to welcome you on your next trip to Istanbul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#82 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,455 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#8 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,468 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#71 of 1,159 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#57 of 1,159 in Istanbul
735 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#20 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,006 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#72 of 1,159 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aren Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aren Suites

Address: Kucukayasofya Caddesi Gelinlik Sokak No.13 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $55 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aren Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicely decorated boutique hotel in the historical area of the old city. For the ones, who want to feel at home away from home. Enjoy your stay with a complete sea view in a relaxing, friendly atmosphere and a warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aren Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing