We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A funky hotel with LOVELY staff”
Review of SuB Karakoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SuB Karakoy
Ranked #39 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A funky hotel with LOVELY staff”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my friends for 5 nights at Sub, its a wonderful small hotel, very clean, extremely courteous staff especially Pelin, who was very sweet & helpful. The hotel is conveniently located close to the main attractions of Istanbul. If you like staying in a cozy boutique hotel, STAY AT SUB!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    105
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
48
262
53
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a great experience for five days at the Sub Hotel. The hotel is in a great area, just over the Galata Bridge. You are 15 minutes away from both the historic areas and the main street for shopping, plus you are a 2 min walk from the T1 tram that takes you throughout the city. The hotel rooms were well appointed and the beds were nice and comfortable, and everything was clean. We stayed both in #21 and #44 and did not have any issues with noise and fell asleep without waking up. The breakfast was outstanding and the staff made the stay feel like you were an extended family member.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asm331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our time at the Sub Hotel was fantastic. It is a cool, funky boutique hotel. At first I wasn't sold on the location, but it ended up being perfect. Right on the tram line (though we walked almost everywhere). We were able to walk up to Taksim Square, to Beyoglu, Sultanahmet, and enjoy great little cafes and restaurants right in our area. The staff truly made our experience. Everyone was beyond helpful and friendly - we couldn't have asked for kinder individuals. They spoke excellent English and made themselves very accessible. We stayed in 2 different rooms - 44 and 21 (we left in the middle of our stay for a few days in another region of Turkey). I would definitely recommend a room on the higher floors and toward the back of the hotel. The music/bass from a nearby club was somewhat loud on the weekend. But nothing the White Noise iPhone app couldn't cover up! The rooms were VERY clean - I liked the hardwood floors because it felt cleaner than carpet. The curtains kept the rooms dark (great for sleeping in!), and beds were quite comfortable.

The breakfast spread was AMAZING. The breads and pastries (baked in-house) to the olives and cheeses and organic jams and spreads. Unreal. Such a wonderful way to start your day in the mornings! And when we had an early morning flight, they even offered to make us sandwiches to bring along because we'd be missing breakfast.

If you like small, boutique hotels that aren't run-of-the-mill, the Sub Hotel is for you. We would definitely recommend it to any friends traveling to Istanbul!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room in the back of the hotel for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericacoh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Location is excellent. Very nicely decorated with a cool ambiance. The room was comfortable, albeit a bit small. Very friendly and helpful service. Only downside was excessive street noise, including nearby mosque with early morning prayers.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zcrampton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Sub Holte has a perfect location to explore either sides of the Galata Bridge (Sultanahmet and Taksim). Hip hotel in a hip location with friendly and helpfull staff. Hotel is art, stylish and so cool. I enjoyed all my time at Sub Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macbeth2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved every bit of it. The staff is unbelievably helpful and attentive. Pelen and Ugur worked the front desk and were always ready to help with recommendations, and went above and beyond to always ensure our stay was going well. Rooms are super clean and funky. Breakfast is delicious (don't miss it!). Kitchen and cleaning staff are always smiling. When we checked out, they insisted that the water we took from our mini fridge and wine we had at the bar are on them!

The beauty about this hotel is it's in Karakoy, and that's a 15 min walk from Istiklal Street and Sultanahmet. You are in a funky area where the hip go to dine and drink, but the area is still cute and relatively quiet considering you're in the heart of Istanbul. I highly recommend you stay at SuB Hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor, not facing the street room is what we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Special-k-t-dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Here are the great things about Sub Hotel - the design, location, and staff. The hotel aesthetic is uber cool and modern, and the staff worked to make us feel at home, explaining Istanbul on a map, making dinner reservations and restaurant recommendations, and making sure that a car service was waiting early morning to take us to the airport. The location is great - a nice walk across the river to the Sultanhamet and all the tourist sites, and a nice walk in Beyoglu to the nightlife area and restaurants. The breakfast was delicious.

On the other hand, this hotel is directly across from a mosque. We were woken up EVERY morning at 4 AM as if the call to prayer were right in our room. The walls are paper thin - we could hear nose blowing in the room next door. The room we stayed in was pretty small and did not have drawers for us to put clothes into. For these reasons, I was shocked by the cost of this hotel - I am sure you could spend the same amount of money and get a nicer hotel, nicer room, and still good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the street side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DS228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubIstanbul, Owner at SuB Karakoy, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Monique,

Thank you very much for your kind review here. We are thrilled, that you all had such a great time with us and wish to welcome you back soon.
To be fair, I would like to point out for all our readers, that you had apparently booked the room through a third party company, which charged you a premium. We do not support that kind of practice, therefore, please refer directly to our website for the lowest friendship rates. Always.
Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#33 of 1,150 in Istanbul
738 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#75 of 1,150 in Istanbul
198 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#3 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#16 of 1,150 in Istanbul
251 reviews
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#45 of 1,150 in Istanbul
323 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#57 of 1,150 in Istanbul
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SuB Karakoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SuB Karakoy

Property: SuB Karakoy
Address: Necatibey Cad. No: 91 | Karakoy, Istanbul 34425, Turkey (Formerly Portus Hotel Karakoy)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SuB Karakoy 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the boggling variety of architectural and design styles that crowd the eye in Istanbul, perhaps we shouldn’t be surprised to find the industrial-chic SuB Hotel in Karaköy (née Galata), the ancient commercial and cultural core of the city. And yet, let’s be honest: it is a bit of a surprise. SuB Hotel, quirky capitalization and all, looks more like a place you’d find in Greenpoint (Brooklyn) or Neukölnn (Berlin) than in the oldest part of one of history’s great crossroads of civilizations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SuB Karakoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing