We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SuB Karakoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SuB Karakoy
Ranked #35 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Upon arriving to the Sub Hotel in Karakoy, we truly loved it. We spent a week there last month, and it felt like visiting an old friend's home, Perfect location to explore either sides of the Galata Bridge, Comfortable warm atmosphere, stylish modern decor, friendly helpful patient staff, it is exactly as as it's shown in the pictures, and as the hotel staff describe it, hip hotel in a hip location. The breakfast every morning is the best treat, we would look forward to the breakfast every morning. The staff are especially helpful in recommending attractions, restaurants, and even helped us look for musical interment shops because my husband was looking for a turkish instrument. We also had a Turkish bath at the near by Kilic Ali Pasha Hammami, recommended by the staff at the hotel, they booked for each my husband and I separately, because that is the policy of the Hammam, ladies in the morning until the afternoon, then men from the afternoon until closing time, it was an amazing experience, well worth it. Also, another wonderful thing is that the staff at the Sub Hotel will open an Istanbul map with u while they serve you a welcome drink or Turkish tea as soon as you arrive, and recommend all sorts of places for you to discover in the area, it really feels like visiting old friends, because only old friends make you feel like they'd go out of their way to make you feel this comfortable and make sure you enjoy their city. We will most definitely be visiting again, who can stay away with such details touches as giving a gift to your guests as they leave.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara_d2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    103
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
254
50
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I loved everything about Sub! It's stylish and contemporary - yet also feels like home! Such a warm and friendly welcome from the moment you step inside and great value too. The entrance of the hotel also opens up to an all-day café so whatever time you get back you can enjoy delicious bites and drinks. It's also centrally located in the hip and up and coming district of Karakoy - itself full of buzzing cafes, bars and restaurants - but also just a short walk or tram ride across the Galata bridge to the historic peninsula of Sultanahmet where you'll find all the must-see Istanbul sights from the Hagia Sofia to the Underground Cistern. It's also within easy reach of the central district of Taksim, the ferries, delights of the Bosphorus and so much more!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedmintSerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was a one day trip to downtown Istanbul where we stayed at SubHotel which is located in the heart of the city, Karaköy. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. The interior design is very hip which truly gets its inspiration from the neighborhood of Karaköy. This is why it came across to me and my wife as a genuinely hip place. interesting and creative details. As a graphic designer myself the color scheme in the room took my attention as to how it was well balanced with great warm and neutral tones. The bathroom was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. I also enjoyed the super bed stand lamp which was hanging from the ceiling. The breakfast was served with local fresh produce and had fantastic coffee. The lobby is also very stylish and has a great feeling where I worked for a while without any disturbance. Needless to say the location is literally walking distance to everywhere including to the historic peninsula and the historic Pera area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onur Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I've been to the Sub Hotel several times and the first thing that comes to my mind is the inviting atmosphere. The entrance of the hotel opens up to the cafe, with comfortable seating and great food. We had an amazing breakfast in the morning. The staff, from the welcome desk to the cafe and beyond, were friendly and welcoming. The room designs have one of the most unique looks, but are relaxing and cozy. And the location is unbeatable -- its within walking distance to the major sites, the ferry station, and the metro. Karaköy is also a great neighborhood to discover shopping and the city's best restaurants. Its a hip place stay, eat, rest, and just be. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

My friend and I spent six nights at the SuB Hotel over the Christmas/New Year holidays and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. Although we spent the majority of our time wandering the museums, shops, and cafes in Karakoy, the hotel location allows for an easy 10-15 minute walk across the Galata Bridge to Sultanahmet and primary Istanbul sightseeing. (And after spending an afternoon in Sultanahmet, we were very happy to walk back across the bridge to our "home" in Karakoy and leave the touristy restaurants, aggressive shop clerks, and crowded streets behind.) The staff, particularly Ugur and Pellen, were extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations/reservations and suggestions for shopping and other activities in the Karakoy and Beyoglu neighborhoods. The hotel serves a plentiful and delicious breakfast (try the nut butter!) with Mohammed and the other kitchen staff greeting you each morning with a smile and friendly word, and also has coffee and sandwiches/snacks available throughout the day. While the hotel does not have a license to serve alcohol, staff allowed us to drink our own wine in the lobby/common area in the evenings. The only downside of the hotel is the size of the rooms, but the many other positive attributes (e.g., staff, location, comfortable beds, and stylish lobby/common area) more than make up for it.

Room Tip: While very stylish and comfortable, the rooms in the hotel are relatively small. (And the bathroom i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillinCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed four nights at Sub Hotel over the New Year holiday. Sub's location is awesome -- within walking distance to many attractions on either side of Galata Bridge, and very convenient to tram stops if you're not up to the walk. All Sub Hotel staff were extremely courteous, patient, and helpful, and always a pleasure to interact with. The breakfast buffet offerings were always fresh and well presented -- french toast was the best. The entire hotel was extremely clean and well maintained; the modern/industrial decor was apart from the norm, fresh and inviting. Will definitely stay here again when in Istanbul!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CFeuerstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Best location for walking to the old quarters via Galata bridge, eating great fresh fish directly from the boats and dining out in cool restaurants in the direct neighbourhood. Felt like home, staying with friends!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#26 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#66 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#144 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#39 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#46 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SuB Karakoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SuB Karakoy

Property: SuB Karakoy
Address: Necatibey Cad. No: 91 | Karakoy, Istanbul 34425, Turkey (Formerly Portus Hotel Karakoy)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SuB Karakoy 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the boggling variety of architectural and design styles that crowd the eye in Istanbul, perhaps we shouldn’t be surprised to find the industrial-chic SuB Hotel in Karaköy (née Galata), the ancient commercial and cultural core of the city. And yet, let’s be honest: it is a bit of a surprise. SuB Hotel, quirky capitalization and all, looks more like a place you’d find in Greenpoint (Brooklyn) or Neukölnn (Berlin) than in the oldest part of one of history’s great crossroads of civilizations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your SuB Karakoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing