We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well appointed closet. Umm, I mean room.”
Review of Fuat Pasa Yalisi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fuat Pasa Yalisi
Ranked #622 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Fuat Pasa is located in Saryier not Istanbul city proper. It is the only hotel in that area.
This is a very expensive hotel. It is a very nice hotel. The rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable (as long as you don't suffer from claustrophobia). Seriously, I think my closet is larger than their rooms, and so at 300+ Euro a night that earns them 3 stars for severe lack of value.
That said, if you really are the type that just wants to stay in the nicest place around, whatever the price, then this is your hotel. It also just happens to be the only hotel so there's that too.
We only came to stay ere by chance as there was a sudden snow storm that closed the road back toward Kilyos. The hotel was kind enough to lower their standard rate from 300 Euro a night to 150 Euro a night for stranded travelers. That was nice of them and should earn them another star but, even at 150 Euros a night, the room size is a joke. Sorry just can't go 4 stars here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rio_in_march
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Fuat Pasa Yalisi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 84 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

Quite nice hotel in what was once an ottoman family villa on the shore of the sea. Rooms are comfortable and the wi-fi runs well at all times. The view on the gulf is nice especially at dawn and at night. Unfortunately the road built just on the waterfront is a bit noisy. Don't ask too much from staff as seems they're just there. Breakfast full of different choices, really good. Haven't tried the restaurant. In past three years I always go there when visiting customers in Istanbul. Prices are good, around 90€/night with wi-fi and breafast, at least this is what I pay, my agent books it for me. All in all a viable option unless you want to stay closer to the city center.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuka70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very nice Hotel, Turkish imperial style, magnificent hall and restaurant.
Problems:
Rooms overheated at 28°C without possibilty to cool them down.
(Window opens on the main hall)
The food in the restaurant was beyond acceptance (burned bread, pumpkin was overripe and disgusting, soup almost non edible).
Breakfast served only starting from 07.00 am and if you are on a business trip its way too late.
At least the personnel was kind and attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window to the outside
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel looks really nice. Rooms are somewhat small but ok. Breakfast is really good. A lot of personnel serving. However, the hotel is surrounded by noisy roads. official prices are huge, but we got special prices via a travel agency, which have been 30 % of the regular one.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed here for a week. The first room was tiny and the ceiling sloped so much that at one end of the room it was 8 feet tall at the other end 5 feet. The bathroom was sizeable and well fitted out. The problem was twofold. The air conditioning was broken and the window opened onto the interior atrium which meant that there was no fresh outside air to help. The temperature in the room reached 28 degrees. I asked the staff at reception to fix it but they shrugged and said it was not a hot day and then they turned their backs on me and started to deal with another customer. I got their attention again and they said they would fix the day. Two sleepless nights later I asked to be moved to another room and they said they were full. I asked the evening reception if they had a spare room for a friend and was told they were only half full so no problem! after an email from my company they moved me to another room which was much better and had the sea-view.

The bar is very expensive the food only average but breakfast was good and plentiful.

There was a noisy party one night that went on late.

It is also worth mentioning that the hotel is someway out of central Istanbul and not suitable for tourist sightseeing

I would not go back here again.

Room Tip: Atrium rooms have no fresh air and the sea view rooms have a very busy main road between the hotel a...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sf1sf1sf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Excellent location on the Bosporus. Renovation from an authantic Ottoman minister' mansion (Fuat Pacha). Nice service, good restaurant. Wonderful to have a walk next to the sea.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damien h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I can't imagine why anyone would want to stay here unless they had business at Koç University (which I did). Located in Sariyer district, it is 45-60 minutes from the airport and 30-45 minutes from the central districts of Taksim and Sultanahmet. However, it is the only hotel in the area and it's not bad. The rooms are tiny and lacking amenities, the walls are thin, and the staff has limited English. On the other hand, it is right on the Bosphorus so there are lovely views and walks nearby, and it's near a ferry terminal if you want a quick cruise up to the Black Sea coast. The service and breakfast were good, and sometimes it's nice to stay in a "real neighborhood."

Room Tip: Street side rooms don't have a view but are somewhat quieter. If you need a desk, you should ask...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Istanbul
1.1 mi away
Istanbul Vilayetler Evi
Istanbul Vilayetler Evi
#414 of 1,159 in Istanbul
29 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grand Tarabya
The Grand Tarabya
#99 of 1,159 in Istanbul
521 reviews
5.5 mi away
Limak Eurasia Luxury Hotel
Limak Eurasia Luxury Hotel
#184 of 1,159 in Istanbul
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ajia Hotel
Ajia Hotel
#428 of 1,159 in Istanbul
182 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kilya Hotel
Kilya Hotel
#595 of 1,159 in Istanbul
26 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kilyos Kale Hotel
Kilyos Kale Hotel
#8 of 11 in Kumkoy
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuat Pasa Yalisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuat Pasa Yalisi

Address: Cayirbasi Caddesi 148, Istanbul 34450, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #622 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $78 - $619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fuat Pasa Yalisi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yali was thought to be built in late 18th century by a pasha. Then, it passed in title and was used as house by Kececizade Fuat Pasha, II.Abdulaziz’s grand vizier, for a long time. After Kececizade Fuat Pasha, yali was continued to be used as house for some more time. It was restored in republican era and started to be used as hotel and guesthouse in 1930s.Kececizade Fuat Pasha Yali, one of the most beautiful waterfront houses in Bosphorus, has been serving since 1991 with the name of Fuat Pasha Hotel.After having been a quiet witness of Istanbul ’s history for two centuries, Kececizade Fuat Pasha Yali is now combining Ottoman architecture and modern hotel management, to put this combination into service of tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Fuat Pasa Yalisi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing