We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Truly Amazing Day!”

Istanbul Custom Tours-Private Day Tours
Ranked #5 of 409 Tours in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Whether you are interested in history, architecture, or how to brew the perfect Turkish tea, Istanbul Local Guides has you covered! We are ready to take you around Istanbul or all of Turkey, for one day or the duration of your trip. Istanbul Local Guides are just that locals who care deeply about making your trip to our beautiful country an experience you will remember for a lifetime. Delight in the sights, sounds, and smells of Istanbul: no other city on earth straddles two continents -Europe and Asia- and has been home to three great empires (Roman, Byzantine, and Ottoman). In a city like this, it's important to have a local friend who can help you to navigate, all the while ensuring you the most personal experience possible. Istanbul Local Guides will fascinate you with the story of Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, will wander with you (and help you bargain!) in our bazaars and spice markets, and host you in our favorite restaurants off the tourist track. If your interest is modern Turkish culture and politics, discovering the very best Turkish kebabs, or anything in between, we'll tailor-make a trip just for you. With Istanbul Local Guides, you'll get knowledgeable, experienced, and very friendly guides, all at an affordable rate. We specialize in private Istanbul tours, Cappadocia tours, Ephesus tours, Turkey Tours. Besides the classic tours, we offer you custom made tours. Should your travels in Turkey extend beyond magnificent Istanbul, rest assured that Istanbul Local Guides is there to help you on every leg of your journey.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Truly Amazing Day!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I really find it hard to put into words what an amazing experience we had with Aykut. He was well prepared, charming, accommodating and made sure our full day was well organized. I was part of a group of 8 he took on tour in late September to Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sofia, lunch at the Hamdi Restaurant, Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, Spice Market for turkish delight and the Basilica Cisterns.
This was just a small part of seeing this fascinating city. I highly recommend you book through this company and ask for Aykut. A fantastic guide who definitely loves to share his wealth of knowledge and it's so much appreciated! This tour was the highlight of my entire trip!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank okgirlatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“AYKUT is your key to Istanbul!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had planned a cruise onboard the Royal Princess with a one day stop at our most anticipated port...Istanbul. We barely scratched the surface of this vibrant and historic city......but Aykut certainly gave us our best chance! He was organized from start to finish, anticipating our needs, modifying the itinerary for our requests ( the man jumped out of our private van to secure possibly the best baklava ever) so we could enjoy on our trip back to the ship. Aykut is organized, knowledgeable, easy going and charming. Our family thoroughly enjoyed Istanbul thanks to Aykut.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WEARECANADIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Township of Washington, nj
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Excellent Adventure in Istanbul”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked with Aykut Ayik months before our trip to Istanbul, Turkey. My wife and I were traveling with 3 other couples and decided to visit in Istanbul for 2 days before a Black Sea cruise. Aykut Ayik addressed any concerns we had as a group. We opted for a 2-day tour. One couple could not walk long distances so Aykut Ayik customized the tour to accommodate us all . Necip was our tour guide and he was excellent. We visited all the major sites. Necip's knowledge of and passion for Istanbul was impressive. He made us want to come back and visit again. We definitely do so in the future.
When we returned from our Black Sea to Istanbul, Ayuk met our group at the cruise ship terminal and had us driven to the airport. The tour company gave us the best service ever.
I highly recommend Aykut's company to all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyer214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“An amazing, thorough well spoken and organized guide!! Ask for him as soon as you know you will be in Istanbul!!!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked Aykut many months before our arrival in Turkey. He seemed so flexible and willing to accommodate us....almost too good to be true. And he was!!! We actually had him booked for two days with two different groups of people which I was initially a little concerned about in the event he wasn't to our liking. However, he didn't disappoint. He was so informative, had a great sense of humor, attempted to get us places before the crowds and was quite easy going. He was willing to go along with whatever schedule we wanted and accommodated us in any way he could. Each of the two days were different, interesting and captured the main attractions in Istanbul. He basically put the itinerary together for us but was willing to alter it to our liking. He helped us get the best prices for our purchases, provided us with tastes of Turkish Delight and took us to amazing restaurants with spectacular vistas. He assisted us with picking up our luggage from out hotel and got us to our ship at the exact time we asked to be dropped off. He told us to remember him and spread the word about him by remembering his name...Aykut...or "I cute" (and he definitely is). We would highly recommend and trust him for any tour he can provide.


Visited September 2013

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ozzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Touring with Necip”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were only in Istanbul for one day, but thanks to the excellent work of our tour guide Necip our party of eight was able to get a real taste of the city. Can't wait to go back and spend more time in this fascinating place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveler55050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Custom Tours-Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul Custom Tours-Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing