We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ortakoy Princess Hotel
Ranked #1,050 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nowhere close to being 5 star. It took more than 40 minutes to check in with no particular reason for delay. They don't have a single iron or ironing board in the hotel. Room was pretty dark, moody and very noisy. I wouldn't stay here again and would not recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannyjayadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Ortakoy Princess Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 163 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Old hotel in excellent location. Very breakfast choice at the place. But: constant traffic jam in surrounding, horrible noisy airco, noise from inside bar or street. Extremely slow reception personnel. Very weak informations, hard to find breakfast in 3rd floor. Rooms very outdated, door lock working with min 10 trials... Not worth the price at all.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank BranoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because we were in Istanbul for a conference at Boğaziçi University and it was one of the conference hotels. It was not AS bad as some of the recent TripAdvisor reviews lead me to fear. No, it is not a 5-star hotel by any standards. But the room was a good size, a free bottle of water was provided every night, the breakfast spread (with view of Bosphorus and bridge) was substantial. (I don't understand the complaints about breakfast. It's a really good Turkish breakfast, several cheeses, jams and honey, salad and olives, lots of hot pastries.) We had a room at the back (429) which cut down on traffic noise. (By the way, check the window is properly shut. Our first night, the window was open a crack, and we had a noisy night. Once I shut it properly, the sound insulation was pretty good.) There were weddings on the Thursday and Friday nights, but the noise was very distant and not disturbing. The main problem really is its location in Ortaköy, if you plan to travel around the city a lot but would like to lie down around 6 o'clock. Ortaköy is not on a metro line or a tram line. At rush hour it takes the bus 40 minutes to an hour to make the trip from Kabataş. At least the bus only costs 2 TL whereas a taxi in the same traffic jam will cost much more. Ortaköy itself is actually very pleasant - there's a waterfront square beside the mosque with a few restaurants where you can see the skyline of Sultanahmet in the distance and watch cats stealing fish from the fishermen. But I think next time I'd go there for an evening, or an afternoon, and pick a hotel near a metro/tram line, probably in Taksim or Beyoğlu.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, and I think higher up is better with regard to wedding band noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityGirlCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is NOT a five star hotel. The room keys aren't working properly. The wifi is poor. The breakfast is completely underwhelming. The shower is rather on the flaccid side, and for the first ten seconds or so the water from the tap is of a slightly brownish colour. The windows are poorly isolate and it's quite noisy. Worst of all though are the staff: they have no idea how to relate to people from elsewhere. Their English is rudimentary,but it's their unhelpful ness that stands out, often verging on plain rudeness. Only exception: Adan. Shame the service leaves so much to be desired because Ortakoy is very lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niemerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked a room in this hotel mainly for its location and the rooftop terrace and pool, despite mixed reviews we read online. The service was a disaster - unfriendly and unhelpful. The hotel is run down and old, only one lift out of 2 worked, the furniture looks like it's been there since the '70s, rooms stink of stale smoke, beds are tiny, bathrooms are small and very basic. The main reason we chose this hotel was for the pool and terrace - we got kicked out of it at 4pm for them to set up a (very tacky looking) wedding.
The gym is one of the only good things about this place -as is the pool if you get a chance to use it! Bottom line: Don't book this hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fionacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights over this weekend and there was a wedding on each night - Friday, Saturday AND Sunday - meaning that sleep before midnight was impossible. The disco was so loud it sounded like it was in our room and made the walls shake. When we complained on check out, the General Manager was extremely rude and very unhelpful. There was no apology and all she saw fit to do was very begrudgingly give us 10% off our total bill. Her attitude was appalling and how someone can be in a service job like that and behave the way she did astounds me.
Never again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We slept in a room on the 4 floor above the street 406. It is very bad insulayed against noice. Even with ear plugs you here the whole night noice of traffic and other ....

Plus 2 nights 2 weddings with a lot of noise.

Sorry this is not a hotel who deserves it stars.

Thank brusselei
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Deep Hotel
Deep Hotel
#878 of 1,159 in Istanbul
11 reviews
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Besiktas
Dedeman Hotel Istanbul
Dedeman Hotel Istanbul
#503 of 1,159 in Istanbul
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel
Besiktas
The House Hotel Bosphorus
The House Hotel Bosphorus
#153 of 1,159 in Istanbul
577 reviews
Besiktas
Corner Hot
Corner Hot
#11 of 1,236 in Istanbul
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ortakoy Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ortakoy Princess Hotel

Address: Dereboyu Cad. No:10 Ortakoy, Besiktas, Istanbul 80840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,050 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $59 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ortakoy Princess Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ortakoy Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing