We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning view and awesome hospitality”
Review of Hanedan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanedan Hotel
Ranked #352 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Enjoy the view at sunset and in the evenings as well as at Breakfast. Extremely helpful staff, very friendly and knowledgable. Airport transfers, tour recommendations and bookings, and luggage storage - nothing was too much to ask. Great location in the old part of the city. They helped us make the most of our first (whirlwind) trip to Istanbul. it won't be our last! Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiBrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 491 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We chose this accommodation mostly because of the pictures with the rooftop posted on tripadvisor. But these don't do the hotel much justice. The view is even more stunning than in the pictures. Go up there for breakfast, but also on sunset.
The staff is great, very friendly and helpful. A big plus for the cleanness in the room. We always found our room in perfect order in the evening.
Very close to the main tourist sights, and a plus - it is very close to the sea also.
Great wi-fi.
As a minor setback, the walls seemed a bit thin. There were some noises coming from the other rooms. We didn't mind, but maybe there are some who do. It is, however, Istanbul, one of the liveliest city in the world :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IulianaNechifor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hanedan Hotel for 3 nights in August 2013 and we had a wonderful experience. The staff was exceptional every step along the way, from the pickup at the airport to the check out. Whomever was at the front desk that day was always very helpful and friendly. The breakfast at the rooftop was simple yet satisfying and the view was absolutely amazing...could've stayed up there for hours just sipping coffee and marveling at the view. The room was small (and could get a bit noisy with people going up and down the stairs) yet very clean and the location is perfect for walking around the Sultanahmet district. Overall, we highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denisa30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The best part of this hotel was the staff, especially Sezgin in reception. He immediately responded to our initial email and subsequent communication. He was extremely helpful in providing a wall-socket adapter when we forgot ours, and was seemingly available 24/7. The hotel has an excellent location and the room we were in was quiet (double glazing for the muezzin-shy) and simple. Could do with some hooks on the bathroom door. Breakfast usual fare in Turkey on a very pleasant terrace overlooking the Bosphorus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Decent hotel as long as you don't expect much from the concierges.
Rooms were clean and had a small safe, good A/C and had a small fridge. The breakfast was decent, even the coffee was better than average for a hotel (AKA it wasn't instant which is what we got at other hotels in Turkey). Wifi was good and very fast - sykping was no problem. But that may be all the positive attributes it has.
We had a room on the second floor and while the noise from outside didn't bother us we could hear other guest very clearly but luckily there we no screaming babies or frisky newlyweds.
The shower in our bathroom was impossible to control, once you thought you had it at a decent temperature it would spontaneously get warm or cold for no apparent reason. The toilet dripped which was annoying, although we didn't ask them to try fix it. The beds were squeaky and very hard - I got a bruise on my hip from lying on my side.
Probably my biggest complaint - and only because it was so unnecessary was the attitude of the guys at the front desk. They came across as if they couldn't be bothered and acted as if the smallest request was a serious imposition (as in making a reservation at a restaurant... which we had to ask twice from 2 different guys to actually get done). We didn't ask much at all as we had planned out our trip beforehand so perhaps they were offended we didn't take them up on their advice but that doesn't excuse the behaviour. The friend I was travelling with got up a little early (7am) to go for a run and found the front door locked and the concierge asleep at his desk.
The hotel is in a good location, but there are about 50 hotels within a 200m radius (most closer to the Blue mosque/Hagia Sofia etc) that I would probably give a go if I went again. The area is very touristy so you get constantly bombarded by the guys trying to get you into their shop/restaurant, but that said I felt very safe there walking around as two 25 year old girls.
The airport pick up was fine, but I would honestly recommend to anyone else to get the metro/tram if you go. The metro stop is in the airport and its about a 5 minute walk (downhill!) from the Sultanahmet tram stop to the hotel. It would cost around 3TL per person and take around 45 minutes and again, I would feel totally safe doing it late at night or any other time of day. (On a side note, getting an istanbulkart is totally worth it, we used it everyday going all over the city on trams, buses, ferries, only need one for the whole party)
My experience wasn't terrible, but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smooodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Everyone with whom we had any contact here at the hotel went out of their way to ensure that we were happy. Of special note is Mashallah who is a student who works here. He is an excellent conversationalist and spent extra time with us daily to be certain we had a great day ahead of us. A wonderful breakfast every morning served by two of the nicest ladies I have ever met. The rooms are small, but extremely clean and well maintained. The location of the hotel is simply perfect. I had originally been concerned about street noise but that was never a problem. I don't see how anyone could ever find any fault in this budget hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmccomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Highly recommend the Hanedan. Great location within easy walking distance of all the major sights e.g. Blue Mosque, Topkapi, Basillica Cistern. We had the Seljuk room on the first floor for our family of five which we found to be ideal for our needs. Clean and spacious enough even with the additional 5th bed they kindly provided. Very good buffet breakfast included to be enjoyed on the roof terrace with views across the Sea of Marmara in one direction and the spectacular domes of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia in the other. It was also the perfect place to retreat to when you wanted to escape the bustle of the city below. We grabbed some drinks from a local shop and sat up here relaxing at the end of the day before heading out to eat. Restaurants are plentiful and there is also a handy travel agent on the corner across the road which can organise any bus tickets with a taxi to bus station from the shop, trips etc for the next leg of your journey if travelling. The Hanedan will also orgainse a taxi to meet you at the airport and any tourist excursions. However, we preferred to find our own way about on foot and by tram.

Room Tip: Seljuk is a good family room on the first floor with air con. Faces the street but we had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyofFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#241 of 1,163 in Istanbul
236 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#242 of 1,163 in Istanbul
620 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ocean's 7 Hotel
Ocean's 7 Hotel
#577 of 1,163 in Istanbul
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#150 of 1,163 in Istanbul
490 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anadolu Hotel
Anadolu Hotel
#412 of 1,163 in Istanbul
204 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#303 of 1,163 in Istanbul
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanedan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanedan Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi. Adliye Sok. No 3, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#124 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#156 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $28 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanedan Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - the heart of historic Istanbul and the most convenient location for exploring all that the city has to offer . We are located on a quiet side street and have all of the amenities one may require including Private Bathroom, Air-con, Private Safe, Hairdryer, Direct dialphone, 24 hr Reception, free wireless, Laptop etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hanedan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanedan Hotel Istanbul
Hanedan Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing