We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“byzantine mosiacs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mosaic Museum

Mosaic Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.93*
and up
Big Bus Istanbul Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #64 of 1,033 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“byzantine mosiacs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

the mosaics depicted everyday life rather then religious scenes. Its a small museum but worth the visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simoneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    180
    62
    19
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“unheralded gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went first thing in the morning and had the place to ourselves. The small museum houses some amazing historic mosaics, which are very impressive and beautiful. This museum is included if you buy the Istanbul Museum card pass, so definitely worth a visit!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dannycas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gets a bad rap. Deserves a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is so close to the major sites (Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia). Most guide books seem to say to avoid this museum but I thought it was very nice. It's essentially just shows one portion of what was once and incredibly large mosaic floor from Constantine's palace. While artistically it's not like the mosaics at the Hagia or Chora it is still beautiful and I could only imagine the effort of the artisans placing the millions of tiles it would have taken to create it. If you use the Museum Card this is included so definitely take a look. Only takes a few minutes if it does not interested.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PDX-PDX-PDX-PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice little reprieve in busy Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We bought the museum pass, and included was the Mosaic Museum. We hopped by one day when we were particularly overwhelmed by touristy stuff. It was great - really small, built on the site of an old Byzantine Palace, it houses a number of lovely restored mosaics. You can walk right past them and read about the restoration. This museum is small - I saw everything amazingly well in 15-30 minutes. A nice little attraction near the Blue Mosque!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nld99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Loved this museum! Really gave you a sense of Byzantine history.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This small and relatively inexpensive museum had HUGE mosaics that have been re-laid as they were in the Byzantine Empire's Great Palace, which is being exhumed slowly. But I had been seeking more history from the Byzantine Era, and this was one place I found it. Great explanations of each mosaic, too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DelhiExpat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosaic Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mosaic Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing