We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faded decadence in the midst of a fast developing district” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel de Londres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel de Londres
Ranked #400 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
riberac
Level Contributor
161 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Faded decadence in the midst of a fast developing district”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed for two nights recently after having spent the first part of our Istanbul stay across the bridge in Sultanahmet. The old pictures of this hotel show a Victorian style gardens opposite with a bandstand, all now swept away to make place for a monolithic size Darty electrical store. What a shame. Inside the hall and stairs with gilded banister rails and the bar and salon area all hark back to a more elegant time. One could almost imagine Agatha Christie walking in or Inspector Poirot seated at the bar. The bedroom we had was a good size and clean and comfortable. The district was lively and central to the most amazing restaurants so we were in the right area for being able to see some of the night life. The rooftop bar, a good place to chill out after a day spent on ones feet seeing the sights, has an amazing view of the Golden Horn.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front of the building if you don't want noise from the eateries in the side st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reposriberac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehmet H, Manager at Grand Hotel de Londres, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen the Grand Hotel de Londres for your stay in Istanbul.

Thank you for taking time to share your positive stay experience with us . I am very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Mehmet Hüzmeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    70
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
15
62
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bulgaria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Every time,when visiting Istanbul, I stay in this hotel.I like very much its atmosfera.The place is great-near to famous Istiklal, and even Mata Hari stayed here.Hotel has historical value.Friendly staff.Nice view to Golden horn from roof bar and most of rooms.

Room Tip: Choose room with view to Golden Horn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehmet H, Manager at Grand Hotel de Londres, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the historical value of our hotel, staff and the view.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed here for two nights recently and it was awful. I will admit, the lobby is pretty excellent--red velvet curtains and faded wallpaper and talking parrots and chandeliers. But the room was overpriced and smelled like raw sewage. I had a balcony and paid 135 euro a night for this luxury--but there are discos right next door, and pounding music dance played until four in the morning. When I asked to be moved to another room, I was told "Look around you! There are dance clubs on all sides!! All rooms have that noise!!" I asked for a cheaper rate for the second night, because I had a lot of bags and it was too difficult to move for one night. I mentioned that a friend told me he had paid only 70E/night, that the room smelled of sewage, and that the noise was awful. No luck. So, I mentioned that the Hotel Marmara (a beautiful hotel down the street, where I stayed last time) was only 90E per night and could I get a comparable rate? The desk clerk said, "Marmara is only 15 years old!!!! This hotel is 125 years old!!!!' like that made any sense. The door had one flimsy lock on it, and the shower head was broken. There was nowhere to store valuables. My friend paid even more for her room and it reeked of cigarette smoke and sewage. I have traveled all over, and am okay with simple accommodations (stay at Marmara was a business trip....) but this was awful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whalwtab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehmet H, Manager at Grand Hotel de Londres, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience with us.

I am sorry to learn you were disappointed with your stay on this occasion. Due to the central location, it can be quite noisy on Friday and Saturday evenings so please accept my apologies for the noise caused by the other bars and restaurants.

We have taken note of your comment and will ensure your feedback is shared among related departments and that required action is taken.

Apologies once more for the disturbances we occasioned and we look forward to having a second opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Grab a drink amid the late Ottoman elegance downstairs, but don't expect any of the warmer aspects of decay to follow you upstairs. Nevermind the peeling wallpaper, cramped space, smell of sewage, or leaky shower, we were awoken every single night at 4 in the morning by slamming doors--draw your own conclusions about who'd be coming in and out, and checking in and out at such an hour on a nightly basis. I caution anyone and everyone from spending the night here. The concierge was somewhat responsive to our complaints, but the few euros he took off the price hardly compensated for lost sleep and overall creepiness.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kleps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehmet H, Manager at Grand Hotel de Londres, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send your comments.

I want to apologise for any disturbance we may have occasioned. Please be assured that your valuable comments will allow us to focus on areas in need of improvement. We look forward to having a second opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel has plenty of fading grandeur, and is a nice place to stay. My wife and I stayed in a perfectly reasonable room for 70 euro's a night, and were more than happy. The hotel is a block away from Istiklal Cadessi, so is very convenient, and the Tunel and hence Sultan Ahmet are close.
Breakfast was OK, but not particularly great, and the neighbourhood is noisy (from people having fun), but we were staying there the week of Ramadan, so there were probably more parties than usual.
I understand other guests have fussed about the lack of air-con, which seems a bit unnecessary: the fan in the room works well, and mutes the noise.
The hotel has a grand view of the Golden Horn from it's top floor, and you can have a very peaceful drink or 2 watching water taxis go back and forth.
I thought this hotel was really a pretty good deal, and would be happy to return. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Overall, I found staying rather charming, and I would recommend it to others. At the price, I really think it's a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTownCurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhuzmeli, Manager at Grand Hotel de Londres, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at Grand Hotel de Londres and your nice comments on Tripadvisor.

We are happy that you were pleased with our services. We hope to see you again. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance.

Warmest regards,

Mehmet Hüzmeli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Dating to a similar period to the nearby Pera Palace, this hotel has avoided being updated into international-style blandness. Apparently rooms are being gradually renovated, but we stayed in the cheaper, untouched section. Some elements are truly a bit wonky (make sure your door has a lock), your minifridge may not work, there is no air-con (electric fans are available) and the bathrooms are miniscule, but adequate, yet the atmosphere of faded elegance makes up for any shortcomings. The roof-top terrace has great views and breezes! The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is very well situated - close to Isticlal Caddesi, and a short walk to the top of the Tunel. I will certainly go back when next in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Front rooms appear to be the renovated ones, and have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fragglek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhuzmeli, Manager at Grand Hotel de Londres, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable comments.

Your constructive comments have been already shared with the team with the aim to improve our services.

As you said we gradually renovate the old rooms and your comments will help us target better all those aspects we need to improve during this process.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Mehmet Hüzmeli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

I  have referred to Tripadvisor many times in selecting hotels but I am now having doubts about the reliability of reviews. I am amazed that any one can give this hotel anything other than a very bad review.

I checked in and then checked out again 10 minutes later.

Read the reviews that rate this hotel as "Terrible" they have it described accurately.

Beware!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank OleDunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Business Life Boutique Hotel
Business Life Boutique Hotel
#442 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Beyoglu
Room Mate Kerem Hotel
Room Mate Kerem Hotel
#138 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Hotel de Pera
Grand Hotel de Pera
#423 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Next2 Hotel
Next2 Hotel
#79 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Beyoglu
Troya Hotel
Troya Hotel
#232 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#67 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Londres

Property: Grand Hotel de Londres
Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. No:53 | Tepebasi, Beyoglu, Istanbul 80050, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #400 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de Londres 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Buyuk Londra is one of the few establishments managing to survive from that era to our time. Passing through many renovations, the hotel still graciously reflects the atmosphere of the 1900's. With some of its rooms overlooking the Golden Horn and a lively bar, Hotel Buyuk Londra is the meeting point of many people – local and foreign- looking for something different and special... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel de Londres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buyuk Londra Istanbul
Buyuk Londra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing