We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, honest and safe”
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #89 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Cosy, honest and safe”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 6 and I'd like to say that the glowing reviews are all true. But I'd like to add something else to all the accolades. On the 3rd morning, I accidentally left a big wad of cash under the duvet and it was duly returned in full to me. Real honest cleaning lady! Another night, I had an error reading on the safe box and the reception guy came dashing up within seconds to the rescue . Solved ! Yep, both the men at the reception are really, really great. Helpful with directions and provide recommendations that don't break the bank.Breakfast, the best there is in Istanbul. Awesome Comfy cosy yet grand looking little Ottoman style room. Walked back late at night, safe ! Thanks for the lovely stay.Wish I could stay longer, breaks my heart to leave. You guys are great :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GuliWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    446
    75
    7
    5
See reviews for
375
521
101
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a great little hotel, right where you want to be in old Istanbul. With just a short walk to the hippodrome and blue Mosque, it couldn't be more comfortably located for sightseeing in Istanbul's old section.

The staff is very nice, the rooms are elegantly decorated, and it makes a perfect temporary home when you are visiting one of the world's great cities.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UnclePen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wien
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

If we ever come back to Istanbul it´s also beause of that place. Friendly, competent, supporting, polite, helpful at any time in any way. Our lugagge was lost on the flight (turkish airlines), the gentleman at the reception called for us at the callcenter (we could never have done by ourselves!) and helped to get the bag as soon as possible to our hotel. The rooms are nice, clean, hairdryer, shampoo, fridge, TV, big, good towels and a great view to the water (marmara sea, bosporus, golden horn). the breakfast was best ever, on the last floor, in an fully windowed roof-room, everything the heart longs for. The rose-jam was as fullfilling as the sausage in spicy sauce. there´s also a sun-terrasse with direct view to the blue mosque and the marmara sea. thank you very much, this was our very favourite stay in visiting a big city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

this is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyy overdue review! :)
i just got the time to browse and review places I've been to.

Anyway, this is a very nice hotel right at the center of Istanbul and walking distance to all tourist attractions such as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Bazaar, etc. The rooms aren't big but good enough for you to rest if you're just in Istanbul to explore the city and won't need long time staying in the room.

McDonalds, Chinese Restau and some other local restaurants/cafe are just around the corner so this hotel location is really perfect.

I like the breakfast area at the rooftop, the spread is enough plus they make fresh strawberry jams :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank behbexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed here with 6 other ladies for 3 nights. We took advantage of the airport transfer service, which was excellent. All of our rooms were lovely; 3 shared a huge room on the ground floor, 2 shared a room on the second floor and I shared a room on the third floor. Please note that there is no lift, so if you struggle with stairs this would not be recommended, as the breakfast room is on the fourth floor. We were given a lovely welcome and the Manager gave us superb advice on what we could do in Istanbul as we were only there a short time. We negotiated a price with him for a walking tour and he kindly arranged this for us, and the tour was absolutely fantastic and a meal was included as part of the day. He then kindly arranged a further boat trip for us on the following day, especially as it was 11.50 pm at night when we asked him if there was any possibility he could arrange this. He very kindly arranged this and it was also very good. The rooms are lovely and clean, nice bathroom with shower, and working air con, also a fridge. Please note that there is not a kettle in the room, but i had packed one so this was not a problem and you can milk and water at the shop next door. The Breakfast was lovely and the Breakfast room had fantastic views across the city. This Hotel is in easy walking distance of all the sights. This is certainly a hotel i would return to when I visit Istanbul again!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickiSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently spent 4 nights in this hotel. We received free airport pick-up for booking 4 nights, which was very convenient and handled smoothly. The location of the hotel is perfect, a short walk to the Sultanhamet Square area and the tram, but in a quiet side street away from the hustle & bustle. We had a double room at the back, overlooking the nice garden. It was quiet and comfortable. The rooms are not luxurious or ultra-modern, but are spotlessly clean and pleasant. The included breakfast was fantastic - everything was fresh and homemade and there was a good selection of hot and cold items. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but not in the slightest bit pushy. They gave us good recommendations for restaurants, helped us to make a reservation at a hammam and arranged a taxi to the airport for us. The breakfast staff were also friendly and welcoming. The only slight negative was that the wifi wasn't so reliable - when it worked, it worked well, but sometimes it didn't work at all. I'm not sure if this was just a problem in our room or throughout the hotel. It was not enough of a problem to stop me from recommending this hotel. I'd certainly stay there again if I were to return to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louloulau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Location first of all was amazing. Placed strategically near all the matters , it was perfect to witness all that was important in our 3 day stay. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating as a gentlemen named Ismail went out of his way to contact family back home to let know we safely arrived. Hotel was boutiques' and very clean. Breakfast was amazing on the rooftop looking over the beautiful mosque and landscape of the city. Would recommend for the fact it's very accommodating and priced right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nesim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#70 of 1,155 in Istanbul
956 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,155 in Istanbul
710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#76 of 1,155 in Istanbul
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#133 of 1,155 in Istanbul
481 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#96 of 1,155 in Istanbul
88 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Property: Tashkonak Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing