We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stability is a sign of mastery”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #86 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stability is a sign of mastery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were in Istanbul in May for the fourth time, and once again stayed at the hotel "Tashkonak".

I have to admit that it is very nice to come back there each time, where you feel like at home.

As before, this hotel distinguishes a homely atmosphere, well-appointed rooms, comfortable mattresses, cleanliness of all areas in the hotel, delicious home-cooked breakfasts, lovely views from the upper terrace of the hotel, a cozy green garden, where you can drink a cup of tea, and most importantly - friendly, helpful, attentive staff who will help you to resolve any issue and problem.
Thank you very much! We’ll come back!

P.S. Every room has central heating and air condition, therefore you can feel comfortable in any time.

Room Tip: If you need silence, ask rooms with view of the garden. Large Double room has optimal area for comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    444
    75
    7
    5
See reviews for
375
518
101
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My first time in Istanbul and I stayed at Tashkonak Hotel. Hotel was recommended by my colleague and it's proven that hotel lives up to its standard. Am very happy with the services they have provided me with. Many thanks to the front desk personnel (in particular Hayati and Ismail) who made my stay a very pleasant one. Breakfast spread was good, although small but clean and well kept room. Hotel is in the best location of the city. Easy access to many well known places. Tashkonak Hotel is highly recommended. - Ms Rahmat, Singapore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mae R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multan, Pakistan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed in Tashkonak for four days with three friends. We had two rooms. Tashkonak Hotel is one of the best hotels to stay in Istanbul. Their location is very central, their service is great and rooms are very clean and comfortable. Staff is very cooperative. Breakfast is really good. Their front desk people are very cooperative. They guide tourists and give them suggestions to visit different places and for sight seeing. Their interiors are done very nicely, very arty. Overall it was a great experience staying there. If i would ever visit Istanbul again i will stay in Tashkonak for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amama F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We've been lucky enough to stay in 5 star hotels around the world, but the Tashkonak is the best we've stayed in for service and location.

We chose this hotel due to the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Our family room was spacious and on the first floor. The cot was waiting in our room so we could settle our son after the flight. The little touches that made the hotel stand out were:

We ordered a takeaway (no room service in hotel) and said no bread as I'm gluten intolerant. When the food arrived it was covered in bread and the staff called up and asked for a fresh one for us.

The local laundrette was closed as the owner had popped out. The hotel staff took our washing round, paid for it and collected it later that day.

We witnessed the staff going out of their way to help other guests.

Breakfast was on the fourth floor with a view of the Blue Mosque.

The hotel is a 15min walk from the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapi Palace and Hippodrome. A sightseers dream location.

The only gripes were the water fluctuated between hot and cold, and sometimes the cutlery wasn't clean fully. Despite this we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Rooms are small but clean, well-kept and comfortable, with the good firm mattress that is essential after a day on foot in Istanbul. The staff were kind and accommodating even during rush hour at the front desk -- they're obviously used to looking after luggage and it was no problem to check out at 11am, then come back at 10pm to my bags and a perfectly on-time airport shuttle. Beautiful roof terrace, lovely downstairs garden, great breakfast, central location. Excellent value overall.

Room Tip: I could see one of the minarets of the Blue Mosque from my bedroom window (312) over rooftops, trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumeza69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here in Tashkonak with 03 other friends for four days and we were very pleased with the hotel. We stayed in the family room (02 connected rooms) on ground floor. Everything is perfect in Tashkonak whether it is comfort in the room, cleanliness, attitude of front desk, there suggestions for sights seeing, Breakfast spread, view from the breakfast room and everything else is just perfect.
Very near to all attractions like blue mosque, Hagia Sophia,cistern,topkapi palace and grand bazar you can reach all these places by walking. They also provide free one way airport transfer which is a plus and of course pretty convenient.
I would like to thank Ismaeel, Aameen, Hayati and everyone else at Tashkonak hotel who made our stay memorable and stress free in istanbul. I will stay back at Tashkonak if i will be going istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0ve-t0-TravL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was my second stay at the hotel and the services and facilities continue to be excellent. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the hotel now has free wi-fi, which they did not have 3 years ago. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a lot of additional choices you don't see in hotel buffets, much more home-cooking like. I also appreciated the free airport transfer, the free tea/coffee service in their garden, and the discount if you pay in cash!

I was at first a bit concerned because our rooms were on the street side, not on the garden side as I had the last time, and I thought it might be very noisy. While there is street noise that can seem quite loud, even with windows closed, it did die down relatively early which allowed for good sleeping. There is a mosque right across the street, but it did not always have the early morning call to prayer, which was much appreciated. When it did have though, it did wake me up. So you may want to pack some earplugs, or run the A/C for some background white noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden side room for more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#156 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#58 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#66 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Property: Tashkonak Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing