We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Boutique Hotel!Feels like family!”
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #67 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at the Tashkonak hotel for 2 nights while visiting Istanbul!We contacted the hotel for pick up service from the Ataturk intl airport and they arranged transportation for 25 euros each way!The rooms are pretty nice and roomy !with a kitchenette and a mini fridge!The breakfast was really good served on the Terrace with an amazing view of the Bosphorus!The staff treated us like family,especially Mr Hayati!He gave advice about everything ,and arranged a turkish night dinner for us ,which was really good,and presented a small gift for our youngest son before we left ,I really recommend this Hotel if you're visiting Istanbul.And our family will definetly be back soon!

Room Tip: they have better rooms in the other building of the hotel,not the building that has the reception ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Osmanfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 1,482 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

Thank you Hotel Tashkonak - we had a fabulous time!
From the moment we arrived, we were taken care of. Our flight was early and were not sure if the hotel would let us check in early. But they were wonderful - our room was ready and we were escorted to it right away. A great relief when you are traveling with 3 kids.
We stayed in the family room which had 3 extra beds along with the queen bed- plenty of room to move around and very clean. The staff was very helpful at all times. Breakfast on the terrace was wonderful. Great food, beautiful views and smiling faces to greet you :)
The best part was the LOCATION ! Close to all attractions - we walked everywhere.
All in all we had a memorable time - Thank you :)

Room Tip: Family room is great if you are travelling with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NQTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

It's got nice character with garden and rooftop terrace and the staff were really friendly with all the help. However the room was small and old that made me question about value for money. It's fairly close to Blue Mosque but it's not so easy to find and I got lost number of times. Average breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuyoungKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashkonak, Manager at Tashkonak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay with us. However, I was surprised at the low score that you awarded our hotel and feel I should respond to your criticisms.
All Sultanahmet hotels have the highest rates in Istanbul. The reason for this is the popularity of the area, the high season and the general running costs of maintaining a hotel in Sultanahmet. The Tashkonak, like many of the other older hotels, are converted family houses and, under the preservation orders, must retain the original small room sizes. To ensure that our guests receive value for money because of the small room sizes, I give all our guests a very high stardard of service so that their stay is enjoyable and memorable. We also have a secluded garden (which none of the other hotels have), a breakfast terrace with a breathtaking view of the Marmara Sea, an excellent home-made breakfast buffet and the hotel is located only 5 minutes away from the main historical sites. Most of the hotels in Sultanahmet are in the small side streets that surround the area.
I do not feel that we deserve such a low rating just based on the room rate which was comparable to the rates of the other hotels in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Spent here one week holiday with my wife and two teenage daughters. We enjoyed our stay a lot; service was excellent, staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and cosy. The breakfast was good and the location perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimoRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is very nice hotel in quite area,hotel very clean, room reasonable size with air condition staff very friendly, also you have safe in the room.the hotel very close to all tourist area including blue mosque , hajya sofea and kum kapy .grand bazar very close to.you could use tram every where or bus but taxi reasonably cheap,i will advice people to book shelter bus throw hotel is easer and less problem for you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deeman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed with my family: wife, 2 years and 5 years for two nights. the hotels is situated waking distance from the main attractions you want to see in Istanbul and some very expensive restaurants. the hotel is small with no elevator, rooms are not roomy but very clean, loby is tiny and good luck with internet service, specially from your room. but the people attitude is great they where very helpfull bringing luggage to the 3 floor, and help us with anything else we needed which made our stay at this humble place very interesting, its ran by a family and we felt at home, so I can't complain I can stay there again
when you there make sure you have brk-fast up stairs on the open terrace, but don't stay at the room directly under it because of the noise in the morning from dragging chairs, eat at taksimi square ,plenty restaurant good food and cheap $. next to the hotel there is a shuttle take you to IST airport with good price,waking distance is blue mosk,ayasofia church, shops and the main bazar.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

My wife and I arrived in Tashkonak on 15th July. Our stay was until 20th July 2011. We're very impressed by the accommodation. Initially, we booked for a standard double room and when we reached there, the receptionist told us that it will be cheaper if we pay by cash rather than using a credit card. So we paid in cash and the receptionist was kind enough to inform us that he has upgraded our room from standard to suite. Maybe it's one of their surprises for those who pay by cash.

Wow!! The suite was beautiful and comfortable to sleep. My wife loves the bathroom because it's spacious and clean. Our room was not on the same building as the receptionist area. It was located about 2 mins away. Look for Room No.32. It's beautiful and nice to sleep. The wifi is free and the best part of Tashkonak Hotel is they provide a free one way airport transfer from Istanbul Ataturk Airport to Tashkonak Hotel if you stay is longer. Be sure to ask them about airport transfer before you leave for Istanbul.

Breakfast was amazing in the terrace. Arasta Bazaar, Blue Mosque,Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace are located within mins of walking. And laundry shop is just right in front of you! Don't forget to take a sightseeing tour by a bus! Before we left for the airport, 2 cups of turkish tea were given to us on the house.

We'll definitely come back again but it will be a longer stay next time hopefully.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmrkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#94 of 1,173 in Istanbul
958 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,173 in Istanbul
717 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#53 of 1,173 in Istanbul
981 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#59 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,781 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,173 in Istanbul
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#21 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#44 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $29 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing