We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in excellent location”
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #96 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hotel certainly lived up to all the good reviews I had read. The position is excellent, in a pedestrian street lined with restaurants near Gulhane Park. It is only 1 short block from the major tram line which takes you to all the major sites in the old city and to the Grand Bazaar or to Dolmabahce Palace if you go in the opposite direction. The rooms are smallish, as in most hotels in this area but the beds are extremely comfortable, with top quality linen, nice towels, and a collection of toiletries provided. All rooms have a frig and mini bar as well as an electric kettle and a collection of coffees and teas. Breakfast is excellent and even includes a station where a chef will prepare eggs for you however you want. The staff are outstanding for their professionalism and courtesy. Best of all was the heated small pool with spa jets, heaven after a long day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: High up and at the back is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AninaBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 2,197 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We found the hotel through good ratings of tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. Hospitality was there by well trained staff and the feel of the hotel seemed to be of a well founded establishment.

Our pleasent experience with the hotel started before or stay. We were in the vicinity before we booked so dropped by. Hotel was little off the mainroad in a charming Lane. Though did take us abt 5 mins around to find - would have been nice to have a sign from the main road to help find the place. Hotel staff very much helpful to show us a room right away. Yes the room were on the small side but was a efficent use of space.

We arrived at the hotel to check in few days later early in the morning at 8 am , tired after an overnight bus. Front staff took our bags and offered us free breakfast while they check to see if aroom was available. We expected spread of the usual turkish breakfast, which were there, but also salad and hot food!

We got our room almost right away from the feast. We could see the room was litetary just ready when we walked in. From the reservation we requested double bed and room facing opposite of the street and both were perfectly met.

Bed was very comfortable and great hot shower. Had a relaxing rest overall. Location is near all the main attractions and the restaurants down stairs were an attraction of its own.

The next day we were checking out an hour before the breakfast time bit mousy of the food was ready before that so we had a hearty meal once more.

Better yet, staff have us apple tea and turkish delights as a gift when we were checking out. Such a nice touch.

Will definitely visit here again when back in istanbul.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MdmKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

A friend and I met up in Istanbul for a few days of vacation and chose the Hotel Sapphire based on previous positive reviews. Overall, I would say that we made a good choice and that the reviews for the hotel are accurate. We stayed in a twin room that was a bit on the small side based on North American standards but was comfortable with firm beds and good pillows. The hotel breakfast was free and featured a good selection of hot and cold foods and dishes that changed during our four days at the hotel. The location of the hotel is the real selling point and we were able to walk to all the major attractions and museums. It was also located near many shops and restaurants and we did not have any problems finding places for lunch and dinner. The hotel service was solid and staff were helpful when asked questions.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcdeportesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

While the hotel room itself was average in terms of decor, the room was neat and tidy. I did have an issue with my shower not draining and the water not being hot. However, when I told the staff, they got right on it, and by the time I returned from sightseeing, everything was fixed and running smoothly! The real pluses of this hotel (besides the attentive staff) are the breakfast (fantastic!), the airport shuttle (convenient!), the location (a stone's throw from everything you want to see!), and the sauna/pool. After a cold day of walking around the city, it was awesome to come back to the warm sauna and rehash the trip with friends. All in all, a very satisfying experience--would recommend!

Quick tip--there's a great restaurant on first, right-hand corner when you are standing in front of the Sapphire and facing towards the park (Pasazade) that has awesome food. Skip the other pushy restauranteers and go there! Unfortunately, we didn't find this until that last night and got suckered into a less satisfying meal at the grill house across the street. Overpriced and terrible service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel is quite good. The service and the personal of the hotel is very friendly and hospital. We had a worm greeting with a small present at the moment of check-in, and checking out of the hotel. The breakfast is perfect: a great variety of everything.
A small bemol: the rooms are quite small and dark even in the bright day. The swimming pool needs the better maintenance.
The price is quite hight.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Situated in a pedestrian street very close to the Topkapi Palace, Hotel Sapphire is ideally located. Step outside the door and there are two restaurants highly rated by Trip Advisor reviewers within two minutes walk (Pasazade and New Hatay).

From the Sapphire it is about ten minutes walk to the Haghia Sophia, Blue Mosque and the Basilica Cistern and there is a tram stop very nearby if you fancy excursions further afield.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful - they arranged transfers to and from the airport for us at reasonable prices. The drivers arrived on time and even waited for us when our incoming flight was delayed.

The breakfast buffet offers many different options - there is a guy making eggs/omelets to order and three or four different varieties of halva to choose from (just in case there weren't enough other delicious high calorie options available in Istanbul!)

Despite being called Sapphire, the interior of the hotel appears to have been selected by Auric Goldfinger - all yellows, ochres, mustards and (of course) golds. Some of the decor is looking a bit tired ('shabby opulence'?), but the hotel is generally clean and functional. Comfortable beds and reasonably quiet rooms, although the walls are quite thin. There is a swimming pool in the basement, which is pleasant to use after a day of sight-seeing.

Our only real complaint was that our daughters' room on the 5th floor was really hot (in February!) The airco made it even worse. Our room on the third floor was a reasonable temperature. so not sure what was going on with temperature control.

All in all a very enjoyable 4 night stay. Would definitely return to the Sapphire.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FionaL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel staff picked us up at the airport, which was nice, because the city layout can make it confusing. Our flight was late, so it was very nice that their staff waited for us.

The hotel is great and location fantastic for walking to all of the main sites; the staff's recommendations were excellent too.

They had very comfortable rooms, good food, a talking parrot in the lobby and incredible staff. We definitely would stay there again, it was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The view from rooms on the sixth floor is incredible, ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedSpecV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#57 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,767 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#26 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,299 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,140 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#205 of 1,159 in Istanbul
323 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,159 in Istanbul
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Address: Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#59 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#63 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#72 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#101 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $37 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sapphire 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing