We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #94 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great location with easy access to all the major sites.Lovely restaurants close by - in the same street in fact just out the front door! Exceptionally helpful staff who went out of their way. Comfortable rooms and facilities.Istanbul is an incredible city and well worth the visit. We stayed 5 nights which probably a good amount.

Room Tip: Superior double room with balcony & peak of the Bosphorous - room 505
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RalphSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    607
    112
    19
    7
See reviews for
336
1,065
206
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We enjoyed 5 nights at this hotel recently, and were very impressed by the excellent attention we were given by the staff. On the front desk, they were very knowledgeable and helpful, arranging trips for us and an wonderful guide for one day. Even when I needed a dentist, they helped out. The room was clean and comfortable; the lady who cleaned the room let new towels on our bed made in beautiful designs - a small touch, but with good breakfasts and the high quality of service from everyone, made our trip to Istanbul a memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panther136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our last 2 nights in Turkey, after spending nearly 3 weeks travelling in Turkey, it was the perfect way to end our stay. The staff were very helpful and knowledgable. Our room was great, location was good with the tram just round the corner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a short break in Istanbul and had 3 very enjoyable nights at the Hotel Sapphire.
On booking the hotel I was contacted and informed of the free shuttle service the hotel provides from the airport. which was a real bonus! It was free just the one way, but only 7 euros per person for the return journey.
On arrival at the hotel ( we were dropped on the adjacent road as the hotel is on a pedestrianised street, which meant a 2 minute walk! ) We were greeted by a lovely young man from the front desk who promptly fetched us a drink and some Turkish delight, which was a lovely gesture. We were also given little Turkish eye pins for good luck..so thoughtful of the hotel.
Check in was straightforward, and carried out sat in the grand entrance lobby, the young gentleman showed us a map of where the hotel was and where in proximity the main attractions of Istanbul were. We were also given information about the leisure facilities and restaurant times..all very comprehensive.
Our room was on the 3rd floor, and while compact in size, the opulence of the room more than made up for it. The bathroom was well stocked with toiletries and plenty of towels and slippers.
Tea and coffee making facilities were provided as was a mini bar which for once was not extortionately priced as most hotels prices for their mini bar contents are truly ridiculous.
Our double sized bed was comfortable and the room had the option of air conditioning.
A free safe was handy and the TV was great.
Breakfast at the hotel was good with plenty of choice but if you like a full English this isn't on the menu! However there was an omelette station and fried eggs to order.
The hotel is very central in the old town and all the main tourist attractions are within walking distance. Also the hotel is surrounded by excellent restaurants the majority of which were very reasonable. The main street outside the hotel after dark is very pretty with twinking lights. The area is also very safe. One street down is a main road with plenty of touristy shops which leads to the banks of the river and the Galeta bridge. The views from the middle of this bridge are stunning both the skylines of the old town and the new town were beautiful.
We visited the main attractions, but had the most fun in the Grand Bazaar and the Spice Bazaar, where all the shop keepers are game for a bit of friendly bartering! We came away with lots of bargains ( or so we hoped!!! )
Istanbul is an amazingly diverse capital, one which I would recommend to anyone. What my husband and I particularly liked was the lack of rowdy youngsters, the old town is certainly a place for a more mature clientele and a very international one too.
Our last evening after a full day of walking and sightseeing we made use of the hotels leisure facilities and enjoyed a sauna and a refreshing dip in the pool.
On departure we were presented with gifts of Turkish delight and a set of apple tea with cups/saucers and spoons which again was a wonderfully kind gesture.
Even before arriving home I received a lovely email from the hotel manager ensuring we had enjoyed our stay and would be welcomed back anytime at a discounted price.
Collectively all these thoughtful little gestures makes this hotel an exceptional place to stay. I can certainly understand why it consistently rates highly with guests. When I return to Istanbul I would not consider staying anywhere else.
Well done Hotel Sapphire- keep up your excellent work!

Room Tip: I should imagine all the rooms are much the same and therefore to a high standard. We were facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laviniajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottesloe, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A well placed hotel in a road of good restaurants. A short walk from the so many 'must sees' and also close to the ferries. Wonderful buffet breakfast and staff who are helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SVNGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel offers grate value for money. I would stay again with no hesitation and would most definitely recommend to anyone. The staff at front desk wete very informative and it was never an issue to guide us in the correct direction. The kitchen staff and restaurants need more attention and should offer food that caters for the European pallets.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warrenhamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at hotel Sapphire for 3 night. It turns out to be one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in Istanbul. The hotel staffs are GREAT especially Ahmet, Onur and Yavuz.They're warm, friendly and accomodating.They tried to help me and my friend with everything that we need since we walked into this hotel. You don't have anything to worry if you come to Istanbul for the first time. The hotel staffs will provide you with every informations that you need to know, maps, tourist attractions, restaurants, tours what to be careful of in Istanbul, do's and don't's and so on. If you have any questions or comments, just tell them. I'm sure they will do their best to make your stay a pleasure. Also, we have to thank you Yavuz for helping my friend by bringing wet cloth with soap right after he saw my friend messed her pants with tomato sauce. We didn't ask for help. He really did exceed customer's satisfactions.
Also, the location of this hotel is everything, just close to all major attractions by walking distance. Breakfast is a wide varieties with hot and cold plates which is very nice to start your days. The amazing staff and location make this hotel an excellent value in Istanbul. I'd highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annikari16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#72 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,753 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#28 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,202 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#156 of 1,141 in Istanbul
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,042 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,895 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#136 of 1,141 in Istanbul
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Property: Hotel Sapphire
Address: Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#64 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#69 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#102 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#106 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sapphire 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing