We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Excellent hotel, fabulous value for money and staff who could not have been more pleasant and helpful.”
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #97 of 1,151 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect! Excellent hotel, fabulous value for money and staff who could not have been more pleasant and helpful.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here for our first visit to Istanbul. Hotel is very well located for all the main sights and very near the tram too. Lovely inexpensive restaurants all around and in a cobbled pedestrian street. Right from the moment we arrived staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Room was good and had everything we needed and well cleaned every day. We booked well in advance so the price was very competitive. Breakfast was a buffet with freshly cooked eggs/omelettes to order and everything else one could want catering for a range of nationalities and tastes. Then when we left in a taxi very efficiently organised for us, a parting gift too! We will definitely go back. We didn't have time to use the pool so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Antras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,433
    610
    112
    19
    8
See reviews for
339
1,068
206
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is one of about 20 small Ottoman hotels in a safe cobbled street area that is very central and very accessible to all the main sights. My superior room was small but well appointed and furnished. It had all I needed for 2 days of sightseeing and the price on Booking.com was very reasonable. It is 100 m from a tram station, from which you can get to anywhere you want to go.

The hotel staff seem driven to provide excellent service. I got all here that I needed that I got at a top hotel, except for the size of the room. The breakfast buffet is good and broad enough for most western and local tastes.

Down the same cobbled streets are a whole number of restaurants that offer a wide range of local fare that most western tastes will find enjoyable, and one is within walking or tram distance from the Galata Bridge, with its fish restaurants.

It got to the hotel easily from the airport, using the M1 Metro train and then changing over to the T1 tram line, changing at Zeytinburnu, and alighting at Gulhane tram station. Just 3 TL per trip, get your access token at the "Jetonmatic" machine at each station.

From the hotel, if you are energetic, you can walk to the Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Galata Bridge, Galata Tower and the main shopping street in Galata (Tunel to Taksim). If you need some help with the hills, or just don't want to walk, use the tram and the funiculars. Very cheap. You don't need a taxi. Don't even think of hiring a car - it will just be a problem for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian_Neilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have recently returned from a short break in Istanbul. We stayed at the Hotel Sapphire, we booked this hotel because it seemed so central for everything that we wanted to see during our short stay. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with warmth from the start. The reception staff were very welcoming to say the least. We were given a free welcome drink and asked was there anything in particular we wanted to see during our stay. We were told about excursions (no pressure) and told that if we wished we could ask reception anytime and they would book a trip for us should we wish to take one. That day we had a free day but on returning to the hotel we decided to book the half day cruise of the Bosphoros with a visit to the Dolmabache Palace. We had a fantastic time and our guide was brilliant. We had a lovely breakfast the following morning with plenty to choose from plus poached eggs or omellets cooked to order. We did not have time to use the pool or spa facilities but we did take a look and it all looked lovely and clean.
Overall this was a lovely hotel in a brilliant position very central, on a quiet street very close to lots of good restaurants too and we will definately return there on our next visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in June 2012.
We booked the hotel through an on line hotel brokerage and got quite a good deal.
We opted for the hotel pick up and I am glad we did, as the hotel is initially quite difficult to find, but once you got your bearings, it was very easy to navigate.

This hotel is possibly one of the best you can get in Istanbul; on arrival we were given cool drinks while we checked in, and we were offered all sort of tourist maps and tips and guides and things by the reception staff.
The room itself was good, really comfortable beds, a nice big bathroom (all marble) and nice furnishings in the room, as well as being spotlessly clean. It is an old building, and this is noticeable in the room sizes, but at least you could tell where you were when you wake up, I'd definitely be in a room that has some character than be in a chain hotel that all look the same.

The hotel has a great location, located a 20 minute wander away from the Hagia Sofia and other tourist parts of Istanbul, but this hotel is ideal for visiting the Sultan Ahmet area.
The hotel staff were really welcoming, even lending us a bottle opener and glasses when we decided to buy a bottle of wine at 1am and drink it on the hotel veranda!

All in all, I have recommended this hotel numerous time to my travelling colleagues, and if I were to go back to Istanbul, I would definitely stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

You couldn't find much better in this price range. Location is great, all attractions in walking distance,tram 5 minutes away, ferries 10 mins walk. Probably the best buffet breakfast I've had in Turkey. Rooms are clean, well equipped with tea and coffee, satellite TV, and have good bathroom and toiletries Front desk are superb, helpful and with good English

Yes the room are small compared to those in North America, but then this is an old building, in the old city, what is lacking in size is made up for in character.

Pool is small but OK for a quick dip, and sauna is good too..

Lots of restaurants nearby

Some taxi's may have problem finding it as it is in a pedestrian street. Suggest either get hotel to send directions in Turkish to give to driver or print off a map and take it with you.

Room Tip: rooms at back may be quieter in high season
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank witneytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

i along with my family stayed at hotel SAFIR(sapphire) hotel for two nights and a day...... hospitality at the reception, cleaning staff, n all other staff r very overwhelming....... break fast was gud not so great nor bad....... hotel is located in d old city of istanbul so all d history can b experinced while walking down the lanes...... situated near d sea(5min walk) walkin along d sea coast v can see the bhosphorous and also d continent of asia.... u can eat clams from d vendors over der...... climate was cold(4deg celcius to 15deg celcius) which my family thoroughly enjoyed having come from india...... so i suggest every one out there to try d Sapphire hotel as i would b comin back here ven in istanbul.... AND MOST OF ALL THE RATES ARE ALSO REASONABLE.......

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shibi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Loved everything about the hotel, the rooms was clean and had lovely ottoman internal. Stuff was very helpful and professional, the spa was great with a big pool, Turkish hamam and traditional Finnish sauna.

Breakfast was superb! We even got a gift when we checked in (two key rings with the blue eye, against bad luck) and a gift when we checked out (a Turkish tea set and Turkish delight). Will definetly go back there!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiHa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#70 of 1,151 in Istanbul
1,757 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#30 of 1,151 in Istanbul
1,225 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,151 in Istanbul
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#66 of 1,151 in Istanbul
869 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,151 in Istanbul
2,909 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,151 in Istanbul
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Property: Hotel Sapphire
Address: Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#60 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#64 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#71 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#102 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sapphire 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing