We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique city, a lovely hotel and lovely people”
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #98 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Dehradun
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique city, a lovely hotel and lovely people”
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Sapphire in Istanbul for two days, en route to Rome in March. Our selection of this hotel was based on the ratings of the hotel in TripAdvisor, its vicinity to the sights to see in the old city and, of course, the budget. I am happy to say without any reservation that we had rightly selected this hotel on all these points.
The hotel had arranged a free pick-up from the International airport, saving us about 40 Liras. When we reached the hotel, there was a sweet welcome cold drink, a Turkish Sherbet, waiting for us. The room was very clean, with artistic furniture and the breakfast quite delicious. The hotel staff, especially one Mr. Halil- Musa- Deniz, was friendly and efficient and arranged for us Bosporus Cruise and, later, a visit to famous Hamm near the hotel. I recommend all visitors to Istanbul not to miss out on either of these two attractions.
The hotel is a walking distance from the famous Ayasofya. We were mesmerized as much by the stunning architecture and mosaics of Ayasofya as by its history. Built initially by a Christian Emperor as a basilica, it was further nurtured by Ottoman emperors. Such respect for other religion and architecture should be exemplary for all in the present times.
Apart from the historic monuments which we enjoyed visiting, we found a walk through the city sides quite refreshing. On a street right opposite the Blue Mosque, we made friends with one calligrapher – reputed locally, it seems, as Professor Sinan, Jr after the famous architect Sinan who had designed Ayasofya and the underground Cistern. It was a memorable experience to watch his hand dance artistically over a paper and paint calligraphy in Ottoman style.
Given an opportunity, I would like to visit Istanbul again. And again, I would stay at the same Hotel Sapphire. No doubt about it!
ChaitanyaMehta

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaitanyaMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,437
    611
    113
    19
    10
See reviews for
341
1,074
206
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

After being in Turkey for a 10 day tour we arrived at the Sapphire exhausted and in need of some relaxation, and the Sapphire did not disappoint!
The rooms are beautiful and the mattresses are super thick and amazingly comfortable.
Location couldn't be better for exploring Istanbul with a tram stop right around the corner and the major sights a short walk away.
The breakfast selection was huge and we walked away feeling very full every morning.
The staff are brilliant and very helpful, and the room was excellent value for money compared to some hotels we had stayed at previously in Istanbul.
We loved it here and would not hesitate to come back again or recommend it anyone who is going to Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleMissKrafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed here for our first 2 nights in Istanbul. First night just 2 of us and the second night our adult daughter joined us. The staff organised a room upgrade for her to join us and the charge was only small. They moved our luggage and welcomed our daughter like a long lost friend. Just so nice. The rooms were small, but well laid out. Tea & coffee in the rooms too. Small, but functional bathroom with lots of hot water. Breakfast was a huge buffet with lots to select from. Indoor pool is a bonus! The farewell was personal and a parting gift such a nice touch. Ali and Denis are wonderful on the front desk and more than happy to help out and give you tips on local things to see, do and eat. Not the cheapest hotel, but such a nice place to stay it is worth it.

Room Tip: Request french bed if you want a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

The hotel was very nice, we have the best time in Istanbul.
This hotel is near most atractions. And the price for a room with breakfast was very good.
PS: Thank you for the present on day of departure, very nice of you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Fly into Ataturk airport NOT Sabiha Gokcen to get reasonable transfer to the hotel.

Scam - hundreds of shoe polishers on pavements. If one seems to drop a brush then ignore it. A trick to get you to use him then charge crazy rate. I gave him 2 lira (50p) and told him to beat it!

Hotel - try to link up with other guests for taxi to airport. I suggested the hotel should post daily, guests looking to share for the following day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blakeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Very good location on a quiet pedestrian street in the old city - all major attractions incl Blue Mosque, Topkapi palace, Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar withing 10 min by foot, close to tram station. Small but cozy room with air con, decent bath/shower, free safe, free functioning wifi, tea/coffee, flat TV-set (mostly turkish channels) etc. Generous breakfast with big variety of local and international dishes. Free hammami and small pool in the basement. Excellent hospitality of the staff at the desk - they helped with reservations to tours and provided transportation from (free) and to (only 20€) the Atatürk airport. All their suggestions for the restaurants for the dinner were perfect incl the popular restaurant with local dishes and nice service on the opposite corner of the street. Safir (as it's written on the hotel label) was suggested to us by our friends who had been there last year and it turned up to be a very good choice. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a cozy little hotel in the heart of Istanbul with an extremely friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunFunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Just returned from a long weekend stay at The Sapphire. The hotel is within walking distance of all the main sights, the staff are charming and helpful and the breakfast contains a selection to please everyone. Tea and coffee is supplied in the room and the beds were blissfully comfortable. I would have no hesitation in recommending The Sapphire for a weekend break or longer. While there do pay a visit to the resturant on the corner, Pasazade, serving delicious Ottoman cuisine.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAGLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#68 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,762 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#30 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,239 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,155 in Istanbul
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,155 in Istanbul
2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#70 of 1,155 in Istanbul
876 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#29 of 1,155 in Istanbul
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Property: Hotel Sapphire
Address: Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#60 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#64 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#72 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#102 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sapphire 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing