We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but noisy at weekends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Central Palace Hotel
Ranked #414 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but noisy at weekends”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the hotel from Friday to Sunday night - unfortunately our room was on the first floor and was very noisy due to a bar/restaurant in the street next door. We complained but were told there were no rooms on higher floors available. The hotel itself is lovely and breakfast was very good with a wide choice of food. The locations is perfect - very close to Taksim Square and lots of restaurant options in the area that are in walking distance. We returned to the hotel on the last night of our tour and we given a room on a higher floor following our feedback to the tour company and this was absolutely fine - even had an exercise bike in.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor (above third)!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    87
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
30
72
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for three nights following a Greek Isles cruise and flight to Istanbul. The hotel is modern and comfortable. Our room was large, with a separate sitting area, elegantly decorated and soundproof. The first night we were so tired we ordered room service, which came within 20 minutes, was delicious and reasonably priced. The service was very good and the internet wifi was free. A negative point is the location; it is a bit far from the old town. However, it is easy and fun to get to the latter by public transportation. Buy an Istanbul Card at the booth in Taksim Square, take the funicular and then the tram. The trip takes about a half an hour. Another minor negative point: no alcohol is served in the hotel. All in all, I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, NOT facing the street, as there is activity on the street all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFSAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel a total of 4 nights. The accomodation was modern chic and was very comfortable by all standards. The staff, namely the concierge and reception staff were very professional and friendly. This hotel lacks nothing. We had one concern with a leaking jacuzzi and an air conditioner that decided to play games and within minutes of phoning the reception, someone was sent up and the problems resolved. They were so accomodating that they were prepared to swap our rooms and send staff up to help us pack. Very efficient, very professional. The breakfast buffet is reasonable, not far from our western standards. The dinner at the restaurant and room service food was very good and reasonably priced by Istanbul standards. The hotel is centrally located to all shopping establishments. I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveller who enjoys luxury and homely comforts while away from home.

Room Tip: I would recommend you stay away from room 406 if you like quiet, the staff elevator is adjacent to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosaria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Coming off a cruise ship, we booked this hotel for a four day stay on the recommendations onTripadviser alone. We were so glad we did: great value for money. Absolutely charming, from the liveried doorman, to the beautifully furnished public rooms. Wonderfully friendly service. As mentioned by others, the location is superb, close to Taksim Square, and lots of restaurants for a late night nibble.
I was impressed with the breakfast buffet (2 rooms of food) for an unlikely reason: 2 mornings out of the four there was a beautiful Creme Caramel on the bar. I guess they put out any desserts that were left over from the cafe and room service the night before. Being a person who showers, I found the high futuristic bathtub a bit high to step in and out of: had to be careful not to slip. Free internet in your room for your computer or other Wifi electricals.

We took the Blue Hop On Hop Off bus line from Taksim square (this line crosses the bridge into Africa, whereas the Big Red Bus line doesn't), which truly takes you pretty much everywhere you want to sight see in Istanbul for a cheap price. Another tip is to take the new tram, one end of which is a few blocks from the Dolmabahçe Palace on the shores of the Bosporus, which is truly grand, and has a fascinating harem. (Prepare to wait in line to get in, but it is worth the wait) Not knowing about the tram, we took a cab to the castle, and then discovered the tram station a few blocks away on the way back. For the same fare, we stayed on the tram and saw a bit more of the city going toward the airport (Passing the Old Town stop because we had spent a day doing all the sights there the day before). When we had had enough, we got off and got on the tram heading back (same fare) then got off at the Spice Market - Fantastic smells, colors, candy, and even fish and animals)! After, we walked to Hamdi Restaurant which is right by the Spice Market on a second floor, and had a good Kebab with a fabulous view back at the river and downtown.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shar0n_Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyneton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel is close to Taksim Square and is small enough to provide friendly service. Our room was a quite large executive suite on the 10th floor with a wonderful view and was very comfortable.I was able to use the internet on the ground floor without charge and the breakfast is of very good standard.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed here while attending a conference at the Lutfi Kirdar conference center. I was upgraded to an executive suite which was borderline palatial! The rooms have cute little balconies that are only large enough to stand on. I didn't try out the Jacuzzi tub, because when I started to fill it the water came out brown and I got grossed out. The room had ash trays, so it may have been a smoking room, but honestly I couldn't smell a trace of smoke and I'm super-sensitive. Must be all the hardwood and marble. The location was great-- it's in Taksim, but not on the main road so it's a little less crowded. It's a short walk to the metro or funicula and a reasonably short walk to the conference center. The breakfast was also good. I discovered loquats there. They also have a good variety of herbal teas. Most of the menu is the same every day, but there's enough selection that you can easily eat something different every day.

Room Tip: Take the metro instead of a cab to get just about anywhere. Metro is cheap and taxis will cheat you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nano5th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Nice small hotel with good decor, very good location with nice comfortable rooms, no alcohol is the only reason we wouldn't stay again! The spa was closed when we went down at 3pm? Not sure why! The breakfast was ok!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathiesavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Nippon Hotel
Nippon Hotel
#323 of 1,155 in Istanbul
501 reviews
Beyoglu
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
#352 of 1,155 in Istanbul
185 reviews
Beyoglu
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#127 of 1,155 in Istanbul
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
LaresPark Hotel
LaresPark Hotel
#344 of 1,155 in Istanbul
428 reviews
Beyoglu
The Parma Hotel Taksim
The Parma Hotel Taksim
#281 of 1,155 in Istanbul
198 reviews
Beyoglu
Lamartine Hotel
Lamartine Hotel
#555 of 1,155 in Istanbul
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Palace Hotel

Property: The Central Palace Hotel
Address: Kocatepe Mah. Lamartin Cad. No:18 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34037, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#193 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#280 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Central Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Central Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Palace Hotel
Central Palace Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing