We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, courteous staff”
Review of Hotel Mina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mina
Ranked #297 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed for three nights in September. The location is excellent and staff are courteous and helpful. Good view from the restaurant. Rooms are too small ad is difficult for two!!! We stayed in two different rooms and both were more or less alike.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlespaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 507 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

I booked the hotel through booking.com. The description was not accurate - the surface of the room as per booking.com was supposed to be 25 sqm, but it was actually around 18 sqm.
+
Good location (5 minutes walk to Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi)
Excelent breakfast with great view to Marmara Sea, some of the items in the menu were changed daily
-
Poor cleaning (the carpet and the dressing we dirty)
Small rooms

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 77c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in the Mina twice on a recent trip to Istanbul...this hotel was arranged through out travel agent. On the first stay we were on the 4th floor with a view of the Marmara sea. The room was reasonable, not large and not small, but we werent in there much so no big deal. The bathroom was quite good and the shower spacious. On arrival the air con was not working well (it was extremely hot weather and the room faced the west copping all the afternoon sun), but they fixed that quite promptly. By the end of our stay (3 days) a leak had developed in the ceiling, hopefully that was fixed. This room was quite quiet, we did hear the call to prayer but it didn't bother us (there were about 16 mosques within a view of the hotel and it is an Islamic country!)
On the second stay we were on the 1st floor with a town view which in itself was quite pleasant, however being a busy little square it did get very noisy at night. This second room was very tiny and the bathroom way too small. In fact the door scraped the basin, the loo was squashed in the corner and the shower alcove too small. There was no where to put our bathroom requirements.
However, the staff were fabulous, the breakfast room had a great view, the breakfast scrumptious and plentiful. The rooftop terrace was superb and service for coffee and snacks excellent.
The piece de resistance was the location....two minutes from the Hippodrome, Blue Mosque, Haggia Sophia and the Grand Bazaar. Lots of eateries, lots of little market stalls and oh so much to look at. Oh and not to forget the Bascilica Cistern...what an amazing place.
I would definitely recommend this hotel because we have to remember this is in the old city and of course buildings are old. The tariff is very reasonable considering the location.

Room Tip: Recommend to ask for a room with a sea view....you do have to look over roof tops, but as I said thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aussieannAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Ok like check this out!! We had the worst experience at our first hotel in Istanbul. We got transferred to cutest hotel mina perfectly situated near the blue mosque, Hagia Sophia, grand bazaar, tram line, and even some cool shopping shoe manufacturers with the best shoe styles ever. The hotel phoned us in advance to welcome our stay there. The guy helped us with bags the minute we arrived. The reservations counter said not to worry to leave our bags in reception as he has prepared the room already for us and we can go rest n freshen up. We went up to the restaurant for drinks and found ourself to a breathtaking view of not the blue mosque only but rooftops if other mosques and amazing ocean. Granted the room was small but yet so quaint and classy. Just perfect for a holiday maker. The breakfast was a wide selection. The service was excellent ! Such a warm and fuzzy feeling staying here! Thank you melina it was a great experience;)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 383humzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

So here we are in Istanbul with the sound of prays in the back ground a very calming and exotic sound. The Hotel Mina is close to all the outstanding sights you will want to see. The Mina's roof top is a picture postcard of the blue mosque. The breakfast is all very lovely and fresh and peaceful. The room is small but all you need to sleep in because your day is spent out enjoying the sights and sounds of everything that is on your bucket list. enjoy

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharonb000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have put "excellent"to all the boxes as it would be unfair to put anything less. The hotel is situated in a pleasant location handy for the Hagia Sophia which was the principal aim of the visit. The staff were helpful and courteous for example allowing me to use the online facilities at the desk. The room was clean and well kept. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit the Sultanahmet area at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last Spring - the view from the sea view room showed the back of a mosque and construction from a building below. The "sea view" was over the top of some somewhat dilapidated buildings - one where the roof was in complete disrepair. The interior of the room was "neat" however the moldings were cracked and broken in many places and the bathroom though "modern" in appearance appeared to have been renovated with poor quality materials. The light in the hallway leading to the elevator was broken so the hall was always dark. The restaurant on the top floor was good and the breakfast was fine. If you can overlook the small rooms and minor flaws, the hotel is in a perfect location within a short walk to all the main sites in Istanbul. Wifi is very spotty.....We tried the room service and it was fine......

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMPB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#295 of 1,163 in Istanbul
722 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#84 of 1,163 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanhan Hotel
Sultanhan Hotel
#135 of 1,163 in Istanbul
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#64 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,485 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#211 of 1,163 in Istanbul
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mina

Address: Piyer Loti Cad. Dostluk Yurdu Sok. No:6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#207 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#209 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $60 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mina 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mina Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing