We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A complete satisfaction for a holiday maker with convenience”
Review of Hotel Mina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mina
Ranked #300 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A complete satisfaction for a holiday maker with convenience”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Ok like check this out!! We had the worst experience at our first hotel in Istanbul. We got transferred to cutest hotel mina perfectly situated near the blue mosque, Hagia Sophia, grand bazaar, tram line, and even some cool shopping shoe manufacturers with the best shoe styles ever. The hotel phoned us in advance to welcome our stay there. The guy helped us with bags the minute we arrived. The reservations counter said not to worry to leave our bags in reception as he has prepared the room already for us and we can go rest n freshen up. We went up to the restaurant for drinks and found ourself to a breathtaking view of not the blue mosque only but rooftops if other mosques and amazing ocean. Granted the room was small but yet so quaint and classy. Just perfect for a holiday maker. The breakfast was a wide selection. The service was excellent ! Such a warm and fuzzy feeling staying here! Thank you melina it was a great experience;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 383humzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    251
    59
    15
    8
See reviews for
82
220
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

So here we are in Istanbul with the sound of prays in the back ground a very calming and exotic sound. The Hotel Mina is close to all the outstanding sights you will want to see. The Mina's roof top is a picture postcard of the blue mosque. The breakfast is all very lovely and fresh and peaceful. The room is small but all you need to sleep in because your day is spent out enjoying the sights and sounds of everything that is on your bucket list. enjoy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharonb000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have put "excellent"to all the boxes as it would be unfair to put anything less. The hotel is situated in a pleasant location handy for the Hagia Sophia which was the principal aim of the visit. The staff were helpful and courteous for example allowing me to use the online facilities at the desk. The room was clean and well kept. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit the Sultanahmet area at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last Spring - the view from the sea view room showed the back of a mosque and construction from a building below. The "sea view" was over the top of some somewhat dilapidated buildings - one where the roof was in complete disrepair. The interior of the room was "neat" however the moldings were cracked and broken in many places and the bathroom though "modern" in appearance appeared to have been renovated with poor quality materials. The light in the hallway leading to the elevator was broken so the hall was always dark. The restaurant on the top floor was good and the breakfast was fine. If you can overlook the small rooms and minor flaws, the hotel is in a perfect location within a short walk to all the main sites in Istanbul. Wifi is very spotty.....We tried the room service and it was fine......

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMPB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St louis, France
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great location - minutes walk from The Blue Mosque, Haj Sofia, Topkapi, Bazaars, etc. The staff were wonderful, our airport pickup was on time and friendly. The rooms are quite small but very clean and you are not spending much time in the room as you are out all day from dawn till dusk visiting the many wonderful sights of Istanbul.

Breakfast is great and the views from the restaurant and bar are simply stunning!!

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very nice, clean hotel in the middle of things in the old city. The room was small but adequate and provided a good value. The location was convenient to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Hippodrome, Topkapi Palace and the train line. The breakfast room had a wonderful panoramic view of the Bosporis and the attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PromoBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel was our home for more than 7 days while we were in Istanbul for a family wedding. The location to historic Sultanhamet is perfect. The only reason I didn't give it an 'Excellent' is that the rooms were small and definately not ADA compliant. There is an elevator and the shower was easy to get into but since I am 'handicapped' the stairs entering the hotel and the two flights of stairs going up to the restaurant were always a challenge. We had a room overlooking the Marmara Sea that was great and it did take a few nights to get used to the 11:30pm and 5:30am 'call to prayer' but if you get a room on the front side, that isn't a problem. We chose to keep the view and get used to the 'call'. Another thing we learned about is the key situation. You will never get more than one key to the room because the key controls the electricity. When you leave, you take the key out of the slot in the wall and all electricity is cut so you can't charge your electronics or keep the air conditioning running. What a wonderful 'green' situation! The desk clerks were able to communicate somewhat in English and the food and view from the rooftop was very, very good. The free morning breakfast was the best we had at any of the hotels we stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street are quieter but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WGIDIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#296 of 1,156 in Istanbul
438 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#109 of 1,156 in Istanbul
861 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#27 of 1,156 in Istanbul
299 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#101 of 1,156 in Istanbul
462 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanhan Hotel
Sultanhan Hotel
#171 of 1,156 in Istanbul
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mina

Property: Hotel Mina
Address: Piyer Loti Cad. Dostluk Yurdu Sok. No:6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#209 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#211 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mina 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mina Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing