We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 star hotel at 4 star prices”
Review of Konak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Konak Hotel
Ranked #323 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StevePalmDesertCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Sales Representative at Konak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 421 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

I stayed at the Konak apartments with friends in September 2009. The weather was perfect - hot without being scorching. The staff at the hotel are attentive and friendly, including the cleaners who always looked very happy. Our apartment was impressive compared to other cheap holidays we have taken so we were very pleased to find clean spacious bedrooms, a basic kitchen and a small but neat and sufficient bathroom. The only drawback at the apartments was the pool which is small and stuffed-in awkwardly between the building and the road. None of the apartments nearby seemed to have anything much better, however.
The Konak apartments compete with a lot of other apartments in the area so it is perhaps not surprising that they try to persuade you to eat with them rather than exploring elsewhere. The food is fine and well priced. It is as good as anywhere else nearby but smile and be firm when it is not convenient to eat there. They do put on the pressure at times.
Overall, the resort is lovely, except the beach is small and you have to search hard to find sand amongst the gravel but the sea is OK for bathing.
I recommend a boat trip on the Amazon 3 with English speaking George and Gertrude. They provide quality food and a day's sailing for £10 (sterling is widely accepted in Marmaris) and their son Barbaros is a good diver and very cute.
The resort is also handy for fake rolex watches and dubiously branded t-shirts. Avoid quad biking unless you want to get very wet and pressured into giving big tips and buying extortionately priced photos.
Overall, the Konak apartments pleased us immensely. It was always a nice place to come back to after a trip or a day at the beach.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
Thank asiandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We booked this holiday at the last minute with extremely limited information about the accomodation, so weren't really sure what to expect. We arrived in the very early hours of the morning and were pleased to find the reception manned 24hrs and the member of staff on duty offered to help with our bags. Our apartment was on the first floor and was clean and spacious. The facilities were basic i.e. fridge, sink, 2 electric rings and plates, cutlery and glasses. There was aircon in the bedroom however this is an additional £25 per week and being September we didn't need it so didn't bother. The bedroom had 2 single beds and these are fixed on either side of the room so not recommended for honeymooners! The balcony was large and had table and chairs. The bathroom had toilet, shower and sink, perfectly adequate. There are several small shops near at hand to buy essentials. Be warned that the restaurant downstairs plays music (fairly loudly) in the evenings, but the music stops at midnight every night so unless you are planning very early nights this shouldn't bother you. The boys who work in the restaurant (Emre, Enes, Akon, Mustafa, & anyone else I've forgottten!) work extremely hard and are always cheerful and attentive. They also put on a bit of entertainment each night- dancing etc which is good fun (though the lyrics of their yogi bear song perhaps aren't suitable for young children!). Food in the Konak restaurant is ok- much the same as anywhere else in Marmaris, not gourmet cuisine but something for everyone, reasonably priced and reasonable quality. We found the best restaurants were in the harbour (about 20 mins walk). If you have never been to Turkey before be ready for the hassle from restaurant owners who will try to stop you and encourage you to come in to eat. Once you have learned to switch off this isn't really a problem though it can be annoying at first. The pool at the hotel is ok- clean but small and next to the road. Marmaris beach (about 10 mins walk) is not great as it's more dust than sand but the sea is warm. If you are looking for good swimming and/or a nice day out, take a boat trip from the harbour. We went on the Amazon boat trip with George, the captain, his German wife Gertrud and their son Barbaros. Would thoroughly recommend this- £10 for a full day out including lunch. Drinks are reasonably priced on the boat and you can buy a piece of Gertrud's home made cake to have with your afternoon coffee. The boat makes several stops for swimming at beautiful places with clear water and they don't play annoying music or try to sell you stuff like some trips- very friendly and more like being guests than customers. The only other trip we did was the Quad bike safari (£10 though is apparently £20 in high season)- would recommend but be prepared for a fairly scary bus trip on the mountain roads, take old clothes and something to change into after, and don't take too much money as they are quite pushy about leaving a tip and trying to sell photos of you on the quads at £5 a go. While on the subject of money, many places take pounds and with the current exchange rate the prices are often cheaper in pounds than lira so do take some english money with you (though you can withdraw pounds from some of the cashpoints). All in all we had a great time, would definitely go back to Marmaris and wouldn't think twice about staying at Konak Apartments again. Don't go expecting 4 star luxury but if you are looking for good BASIC accommodation this is definitely worth a look.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westcliff-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

we stayed at the konak app for 2 weeks at beginning of sept 2009. The restaurant to be fair had good food and the boys running the show are really nice, but when you decide to eat elsewhere they are not very pleased and let it be known. The rooms themselves are shocking very dirty and the cleaner should be shot, she never cleaned the room once, we had to do it ourselves, bed was changed once in the whole 2 weeks and we had to ask for clean towels or we would have been using them for a fortnight ! Then she had the cheek to leave an envelope with Tip Box For Cleaning on it. Also when she left the room she never locked the door we were lucky we were not robbed .

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aidan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

I stayed at the Konak appt's for 2 weeks in July 09, I can honestly say i had one of the best holidays there, i went with my mum and aunt and they loved it aswell.....the appartments are very clean, the food is great...we end up eatin' there nearly every night as it was that good and the staff well what can i say about them.....AMAZIN'...... they would do anythin' 2 help you and they were always happy and avin' a laugh with you...they had us laughin' mornin', noon and night!! The Konak boys are the BEST they dance everynight (there very own routines!!!) and work really hard to make sure everyone is enjoyin' themselves....we loved them and so will you....Emre, Enes, Rambo, Kemal, Akin & Yasin!!! They are all so great!! All the other staff were really nice and very helpfull aswell the chef's Ismile and the rest!! The beach and bars are only 10 minutes away aswell which was great!! I would give these appt's 10/10 for everythin'.... entertainment, cleanleness, food, the banter lol ...ect I really really loved the people here and will be defo goin' back 2 Marmaris and aye......i'll defo be stayin' at the Konak again as i wouldn't stay anywhere else now!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowKirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

What can i say about the Konak, well there is nothing bad about it! The rooms are a good size, kept very clean. The staff are great, nothing is to much trouble for them. The food is great. only moan is the swimming pool is not that big and not many sunbeds, but that said, we always found one! The beach is about a 10 min. stroll away. There is loads of things to do in Marmaris for young and old!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trev-dart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Konak_Hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Sales Representative at Konak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Feronya Hotel
Feronya Hotel
#607 of 1,163 in Istanbul
256 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Oztanik Hotel
Grand Oztanik Hotel
#981 of 1,163 in Istanbul
276 reviews
Beyoglu
Avantgarde Taksim Hotel
Avantgarde Taksim Hotel
#617 of 1,163 in Istanbul
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Point Hotel Taksim
Point Hotel Taksim
#167 of 1,163 in Istanbul
927 reviews
Beyoglu
LaresPark Hotel
LaresPark Hotel
#384 of 1,163 in Istanbul
440 reviews
Beyoglu
Eresin Taxim Premier
Eresin Taxim Premier
#554 of 1,163 in Istanbul
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konak Hotel

Address: Cumhuriyet Caddesi 75 | Elmadag-Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#154 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#200 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#221 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $50 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Konak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Konak Hotel is located in the heart of the Taksim Square, which is close to the Lutfi Kirdar Exhibition Center, ICEC and Military Museum. Shopping, night life, restaurants, bars, clubs, museums and historical places are all walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Konak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing