We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good option close to Taksim Square-Convenient Price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Konak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Konak Hotel
Ranked #263 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good option close to Taksim Square-Convenient Price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Nice and friendly service in all areas (front-desk, room service, restaurant, etc.). We had a business meeting there and also gave us excellent service.

Rooms are very clean, nice rain-head shower and not noisy taking in account that the hotel is on a very transited street.

Breakfast OK, good quality but nothing outstanding. We take lunch at restaurant and this was better, good food, tasty and nice serve.

Internet could be better (some times were problems with the WiFi connection).

Overall good experience and good price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeamoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, General Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

As Konak Family, we would like to thank you for your nice review and looking forward to accommodate you for your next Istanbul visit again.

Sincerly,
Cengiz Akcay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    158
    66
    16
    12
See reviews for
63
93
20
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located just a couple of blocks from Taksim Square with easy access to the subway. There are a number of good restaurants nearby. It was close to the Hilton, where I had a conference. The staff are AMAZINGLY nice, accommodating, and helpful! We had a king bed and the room was very spacious and the bathroom more than decent. A/C worked well. We actually had a balcony (although it didn't really look onto anything). Overall the room was good for the price. The only complaint was that there was an odd odor in the room. Honestly, it wasn't overly strong except in the first minute. Nevertheless it was a great room. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinions with us. As a 4 star hotel which the primary object is guest happiness, your reviews are assisting us to improve our service and quality.

We would like to thank you one more time for staying with us and looking forward to accommodate you with Hotel Konak hospitality again.

Sincerly,
Cengiz Akcay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from Konak hotel. Staff at front desk and entry foyer are very pleasant and helpful. They provide great guidance on transportation and sights to see. Overall nice place and would consider staying again for the value. Two concerns or two things to think about when booking this hotel:

(1) I was surprised when I checked in that they indicated I needed to pay for the room, when I had a copy of the prepaid invoice. The clerk indicated they needed to run the card there. Seemed odd to me. I asked another employee and told that was wrong. I had in fact, pre-paid for the entire hotel stay and no additional funds were due. They were not able to issue me a refund to the my credit card but gave me a statement in Turkish that indicated that credit card transaction was cancelled.
(2) Rooms are small, especially 504. Friends stayed in a room for same price on the sixth floor with a larger room and a balcony. Just luck of the drawer, I guess.
My shower area was nice with a rainhead shower but not pleasant with mold and mildew on the shower floor, grout and chalk areas. It was gross to be near all of the mold/mildew. The rooms and halls have odd smells to them... The hotel is full of glade plug-in refreshners. They are on every floor but it does not help. It is not overwhelming and should not distract you from staying here. I just opened the window in my room for fresh air and was fine.
The beds are definitely firm without much support.

The breakfast is not bad for no cost but I would resist paying extra for the breakfast buffet. If included in your room, fine but nothing spectacular about the breakfast buffet compared to hotels like Doria Hotel in Bodrum. Friends also stayed at the Hilton across the street and had multiple compliments about their breakfast buffet experience.

Again, the front desk staff and bell staff are great. I can't say enough about them and their service. The hotel restaurant staff is not helpful and fumbled badly when we ordered some drinks in the lobby area. I acknowledge Turkey is a Muslin county and alcohol is not as predominate as in the states. However, it was a complete joke when they made drinks as they had no idea how. I am fine if you don't know but just say it or ask. That is why they have hotel leaders to help the less experienced but that was not occurring.

Room Tip: I would ask to view the room upon check-in before agreeing to it. There are also two elevators wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StLouisCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us.

As we understand, you had a few problems during your stay. Please kindly be informed that, your opinions and reviews are important for us in order to improve our service and quality.

Your reviews have been shared with concerned managers and we will do our best it.

Thank you for your kind interest one more time and looking forward to accommodate you with Hotel Konak hospitality for your next Istanbul visit.

Sincerly,
Cengiz Akcay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel and were very happy with the staff, room, service and location. The rooms were clean and serviced daily. The bathroom was modern.The breakfast was good, a wide range of choices, some very strange to us for breakfast, like red sausages and stewed vegetables but there were plenty of other items and the hot foods changed daily. It was far enough away from the issues in Taksim Square but close enough to access the things we were wanting to get to like Istiklal Street and the funicular train that gets you down to the Bospherus area, where you change to other trains. close also to restaurants and lane shopping. Once they get the road works sorted it will be even easier to walk up to Taksim. It is a real construction zone at the moment but not so close that it disturbs you in the hotel itself. Very good value for the price. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We asked for a view. We got level 7 and a view of the very high density housing around the hotel. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annettet454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure that, hearing your satisfaction on your accommodation.

Thank you for staying with us and looking forward to accommodate you with Hotel Konak hospitality one more time.

Sincerly,
Cengiz Akcay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Only stayed for 1 night but we were very impressed. The young man who greeted us was very cheery and most helpful. Our room was very large with an equally large bathroom. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was a plentiful selection of the usual .The Hotel is only a short walk from an area full of other large Hotels and excellent cafe's. We found this out when we were given directions by the reception, to get some laundry done. The Hotel doesn't have a weekend service. Excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear that, we could make you happy with our service. This was our primary object.

Thank you for staying with us and looking forward to accomodate you at Hotel Konak again.

Sincerly,
Cengiz Akcay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very clean, comfortable, excellent staff, and great location for us. Staff was very helpful in getting a taxi and only a 10 minute walk to Taksim Square and Iskitlal Street. Starting with the great location: across the street from Sultana's (see another review on them). There is a convenience/liquor store if you want to purchase your own Efes beer or Yakut wines (right next door to the right as you exit the hotel); 1 block further to the right are currency exchange stores; 1 block to the left are fruit markets, chestnut and simti vendors, and a 5 minute walk left is Polo Patisserie with to-die-for dark chocolate and pistachio cake. And if you must, there is a Starbucks a block away on the opposite side of the street but take care to use the crosswalks as the traffic is, well, Istanbul traffic!

Meals: Large and varied breakfast buffet and items quickly replaced when they ran out. We only tried the dining room once and that was for light appetizers upon our arrival after the 12 hour flight.....the samosas were hot, delicious, and not greasy. They served Kavaklidere Turkish red and white wines (Yakut winery) which were very good and balanced.

Noise/staff: Despite being on a busy street, our room was very quiet and we did not hear any street noise....being an old building the walls are thin, and our neighbors were very loud but the excellent staff handled the situation quickly and efficiently and no noise after that.

Cleanliness/atmosphere: Very clean; take in the framed artwork of Turkish women and daily life scenes hanging in the hallways leading to the breakfast area. Very interesting ceiling decor in the lobby (not meant sarcastically, it is very interesting) and unique chairs and couches reminding you that you are in the city from which rose the Ottoman Empire.

Overall: Highly recommend for the location, cleanliness, and friendliess/efficiency of the staff will definitely stay here again on our next Istanbul trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Upon arrival there was an issue with our room so we had to switch hotels and the staff couldn't have been more helpful during that uncomfortable process! So friendly and accommodating the entire time. We only got to stay one night, unfortunately, but the room was quiet and there was a large variety for breakfast. It's about a 10 minute walk to Taksim. Cost about 45TL for a cab to the airport. My friend and I stayed in two other hotels during the trip to Istanbul (one near Blue Mosque and one off Istiklal street) and if I had to do it again I would just stay at a hotel off Istiklal street since that's where you'll spend most of your time and it's more convenient for nightlife and such. This is a great hotel option for something off the beaten path though!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristinaZ4833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
#351 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#184 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Beyoglu
Taxim Suites
Taxim Suites
#352 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Inncity Hotel Nisantasi
Inncity Hotel Nisantasi
#418 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Sisli
Ibis Styles Istanbul Taksim
Ibis Styles Istanbul Taksim
#335 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Oztanik Hotel
Grand Oztanik Hotel
#796 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konak Hotel

Property: Konak Hotel
Address: Cumhuriyet Caddesi 75 | Elmadag-Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#154 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#188 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#202 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Konak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Konak Hotel is located in the heart of the Taksim Square, which is close to the Lutfi Kirdar Exhibition Center, ICEC and Military Museum. Shopping, night life, restaurants, bars, clubs, museums and historical places are all walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Konak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing