We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended when in Istanbul” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Konak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Konak Hotel
Ranked #276 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Highly recommended when in Istanbul”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very clean, comfortable, excellent staff, and great location for us. Staff was very helpful in getting a taxi and only a 10 minute walk to Taksim Square and Iskitlal Street. Starting with the great location: across the street from Sultana's (see another review on them). There is a convenience/liquor store if you want to purchase your own Efes beer or Yakut wines (right next door to the right as you exit the hotel); 1 block further to the right are currency exchange stores; 1 block to the left are fruit markets, chestnut and simti vendors, and a 5 minute walk left is Polo Patisserie with to-die-for dark chocolate and pistachio cake. And if you must, there is a Starbucks a block away on the opposite side of the street but take care to use the crosswalks as the traffic is, well, Istanbul traffic!

Meals: Large and varied breakfast buffet and items quickly replaced when they ran out. We only tried the dining room once and that was for light appetizers upon our arrival after the 12 hour flight.....the samosas were hot, delicious, and not greasy. They served Kavaklidere Turkish red and white wines (Yakut winery) which were very good and balanced.

Noise/staff: Despite being on a busy street, our room was very quiet and we did not hear any street noise....being an old building the walls are thin, and our neighbors were very loud but the excellent staff handled the situation quickly and efficiently and no noise after that.

Cleanliness/atmosphere: Very clean; take in the framed artwork of Turkish women and daily life scenes hanging in the hallways leading to the breakfast area. Very interesting ceiling decor in the lobby (not meant sarcastically, it is very interesting) and unique chairs and couches reminding you that you are in the city from which rose the Ottoman Empire.

Overall: Highly recommend for the location, cleanliness, and friendliess/efficiency of the staff will definitely stay here again on our next Istanbul trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    157
    64
    16
    12
See reviews for
62
92
19
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Upon arrival there was an issue with our room so we had to switch hotels and the staff couldn't have been more helpful during that uncomfortable process! So friendly and accommodating the entire time. We only got to stay one night, unfortunately, but the room was quiet and there was a large variety for breakfast. It's about a 10 minute walk to Taksim. Cost about 45TL for a cab to the airport. My friend and I stayed in two other hotels during the trip to Istanbul (one near Blue Mosque and one off Istiklal street) and if I had to do it again I would just stay at a hotel off Istiklal street since that's where you'll spend most of your time and it's more convenient for nightlife and such. This is a great hotel option for something off the beaten path though!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristinaZ4833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Although this hotel is in Taksim, you have to walk for 10 minutes to get to the metro, the location is quite good though, with a number of restaurants and markets at a short walking distance. The rooms are ok but a bit small for a 4 star hotel, but ask for a good view, cause our room view was over a closed area were they had stored items...
As for the food, I had my breakfast included but it wasn't satisfactory at all!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghada A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Some unusual decor - but in general a very clean and comfortable hotel. Based in a good location very close to Taksim square and walking distance to a lot of other cool places. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Might be best to request a room at the back of the hotel as Cumhuriyet Caddesi can be a busy noisy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim198212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear that, we could make you happy with our service.

We are looking forward to accomodate you at Hotel Konak again.

Sincerly,
Cengiz Akcay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is situated near Taksim Square, which is easly accessible with public transport or the HAVATAS buses from Ataturk Airport. The Sultanhamet historic district is about 30-40min away by public transport. The hotel has freshly renovated rooms which are very nicely furnished and clean bath, clean rooms with AC and safe. Baths have even 2 showers.
The breakfast is plentyfull for everyone however the coffee and the juices are not that good. But the rest ist frehs and good quality.

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking in the backyard. These rooms are more quiet than the ones facing the Cumhu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cirrus75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinions with us and our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to accommodate you on your next Istanbul visit.

Sincerly,
Cengiz Akcay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in November. Small Hotel but comfortable rooms, clean, with good restaurant.
Recommend for short stays. Reasonable charges. Very good location, walk able distance to Taksim square.Good staff but they should improve on their English.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashanth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinions. As Konak Family, our guest's happiness is always our priority. And please be informed, your suggestions are also taken into consideration.

Thank you one more time for staying with us and looking forward to accommodate you with Hotel Konak hospitality on your next visit.

Sincerly,
Cengiz Akcay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Booked a double room for 3 nights atleast 2 months in advance.
Reached hotel tired at 03:00 AM. Manager in-charge shocked us saying that there are no available rooms for the night as some occupant was sick and had decided to extended his stay!!!!
That was ridiculous and he did not seem too apologetic about it.
He put us up in another nasty hotel nearby and had us picked up at 11:00 am next morning.
Extremely unprofessional and pathetic least to say...

Having said that, the next 2 days in contrast was absolutely brilliant! The rooms are very modern and clean.The day-time staff was very efficient and professional.Breakfast was very good!
The hotel is centrally located and about 45-60 minutes ride from the airport.

So if u r unlucky you can have a nasty experience otherwise it will be a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D039043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to say sorry one more time about this inconvionce. It was very difficult for us to have such a problem at very late time like this. Unfortunately, one of our guest could not leave the room because of his health problem on the check out date and it made us to accomodate you in another hotel. We are also sorry about the other hotel but it was the best one which we could find after that time.

But we are glad to make you happy at least for the rest of your stay.

If you contact us directy for your next visit, you can be sure that, we will make you forget that unpleasant experience.

Sincerly,
Cengiz Akcay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
#352 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#181 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Beyoglu
Taxim Suites
Taxim Suites
#346 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Central Palace Hotel
The Central Palace Hotel
#377 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Sisli
Inncity Hotel Nisantasi
Inncity Hotel Nisantasi
#420 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#145 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konak Hotel

Property: Konak Hotel
Address: Cumhuriyet Caddesi 75 | Elmadag-Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#154 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#193 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#201 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Konak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Konak Hotel is located in the heart of the Taksim Square, which is close to the Lutfi Kirdar Exhibition Center, ICEC and Military Museum. Shopping, night life, restaurants, bars, clubs, museums and historical places are all walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Konak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing