We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but not what we expected.”
Review of Konak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Konak Hotel
Ranked #306 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We booked through a travel agency for 4 nights. When we arrived they gave us a very small room with no desk or table only two beds and a teeny nightstand. I had to put my things on the floor and my husband had no where to place a laptop. The shower dis not drain properly and the air conditioning could not be moderated. They have no blankets so you had to choose between freezing and cooking.
When we complained they brought in a small table having it in the room meant we could not reach or open the closet.
They say it's a few meters from Taksim, well yes about 800 m from anywhere you would want to go there.
After two days they gave us a nice large room, maybe if we had got it in the first place our feelings about the hotel would be different.

Room Tip: Make sure you see the room before they give it to you. They said ours was the best room and it was r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viajero6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for sharing your review with us.

Your review which you noticed on tripadvisor.com has been shared with our managers. Your rewievs will be saved and evaluated as very important advices in order to improve our service standards.

Sincerely,
Hotel Konak Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 432 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wonderful hotel. Konak has a very interesting feel to it. Color and decor selection is unique and unforgettable. Staff are all very friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi was average for a hotel and channel selection on the LCD was also average. The overall environment of the hotel is extremely appealing. Once you leave the hotel, the streets of Istanbul are bustling with adventure, food and entertainment. A few meters from Taksim Sq. During breakfast, my friend and I were approached by a member of the staff, probably middle-management, who gave us a map, and a clear, informative and detailed step-by-step description of the optimal way to take in Istanbul, depending on the amount of time we had allocated for sight-seeing. Request information, they do it well!

Will definitely return, affordability, location and atmosphere all wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tarek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for staying at Hotel Konak.

As Konak Family, we are trying to satisfy our guests with the most recent service techniques.

We would like to thank you for sharing your inspirited opinion with us and looking forward to accommodate you with Hotel Konak hospitality again.

Sincerly,
Cengiz Akcay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here in December when it snowed at times so was freezing cold but the heating in the room kept us toasty warm. The twin beds were comfortable and had enough blankets to stay warm for the stay.

The bathroom was very well sized and even had a bath (much appreciated by my friend after a full days walking).

WiFi worked well in the room and the cleaning staff changed the linen daily.

The only downside was we had to walk to the hotel down the road for breakfast each morning (as I said it snowed occasionally while we were there).

The hotel is well placed in Sultanahmet for the mosque, Hagia, Topkapi and the Archeological Museum and the light rail provides easy access to the bus station as well as Galetta area.

There are plenty of restaurants nearby to have dinner. We had a room at the back of the hotel but as on a busy road a room overlooking the road might interfere with sleeping.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tumbuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinions about an Istanbul Hotel.

As we understand you stayed another hotel (: Our hotel is located in city center, Taksim.

We hope, we can accomodate you with Hotel Konak hospitality in the future (:

Best Regards,
Cengiz Akcay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

nice breakfast,
big clean room,

but it s always busy on the street

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your valuable thoughs with us and our guests.

Please kindly be informed that, your rewievs will be saved and evaluated as very important advices in order to improve our service standards.

Thank you one more time for staying at Hotel Konak and we are looking forward to accomodate you with Hotel Konak hospitality.

Best Regards,
Cengiz Akcay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Konak Hotel is excellently located, being only a few minutes on foot from central Taksim Square. Our room was clearn and quiet but we did not get the double bed we requested. Wifi was only available in the lobby. Breafast was fairly uninspiring. An OK choice for a short stay in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HallyHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for staying at Hotel Konak.

We would like to thank you for sharing your inspirited opinion with us.

We want to improve your happiness by recording your preferences and requests to provide an accommodation according to your preferences on your next visit and looking forward to accommodate you with Hotel Konak hospitality again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed here while on business in Istanbul. The location is perfect - easy walk to restaurants in the Takism and Nisantasi neighbourhoods. While traffic is always crazy here, I had no problem getting in and out of the district with a pre-arranged driver and car. The hotel is very funky with a fun decor. My room was on the 7th floor at the back of the building with a small balcony. While it was quiet with respect to street noise, voices did travel from the neighbouring room. Furnishings were "sparse" as my room did not have a desk or proper table which made deskwork somewhat of a challenge. Amenities were basic and strangely no facial tissue or washcloths were provided. The rate included a breakfast buffet which was quite simple and after 6 days a bit boring. There appeared to be a number of travel groups staying so there was plenty of activity and breakfast was often busy. I did not have dinner at the hotel - but the main dining room on the lobby floor did not appear busy. Staff were certainly accommodating and helpful. I took advantage of the complimentary airport pick up which worked well - even though my flight was delayed. I would certainly consider staying here again and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A_Toronto_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind opinions with us and other guests. As Konak Family, we are trying to satisfy our guests with the most recent service techniques. We want to improve your happiness by recording your preferences and requests to provide an accommodation according to your preferences on your next visit.

We would like you to know that, your complaints especially about breakfast has been shared with concerned department manager.

We are looking forward to accomodate you with Hotel Konak hospitality for the next time.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Pros:
- Room is a nice size with a good bathroom

Cons:
- We were given a twin room instead of the double we booked. When we asked for a double, we were told that we have a double room and that a double room = two twin beds. So it appears the front desk does not know basic hotel terminology.

- The air conditioning does not work. It is just blows warm air. We asked the front desk multiple times. Each time we are treated like idiots and told we did not turn it on. There are two buttons..... cool and on.

- We are at a conference and need to iron clothes. The hotel is large and appears to have 1 iron. We asked in the evening to use it, they told us to come back at 8 am. We asked at 8 am , they told us to come back in the evening. This is not a feature of a 4 star hotel.

- The wireless has worked 1 day out of 5. The front desk told us that it is just the way it is.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ndgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to apology about your all stay. We suppose that, there are too many misunderstanings between you and our front office department.

I have already contacted with Front Office manager and we are trying to figure out what happened.

We would like to apology personally and find a way to compensate your stay. Please contact us by sending an e-mail to konak@hotelkonak.com with your name, your accomodation dates and your room number.

We are really sorry about this inconvionce and hope to be able to compensate this on your next accomodation at Hotel Konak.

Waiting for your kind e-mail.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Avantgarde Taksim Hotel
Avantgarde Taksim Hotel
#686 of 1,178 in Istanbul
174 reviews
Beyoglu
Feronya Hotel
Feronya Hotel
#691 of 1,178 in Istanbul
264 reviews
Sisli
Lampa Design Hotel
Lampa Design Hotel
#248 of 1,178 in Istanbul
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Cartoon Hotel
Cartoon Hotel
#1,006 of 1,178 in Istanbul
331 reviews
Beyoglu
Ramada Istanbul Taksim
Ramada Istanbul Taksim
#237 of 1,178 in Istanbul
197 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Oztanik Hotel
Grand Oztanik Hotel
#1,002 of 1,178 in Istanbul
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konak Hotel

Address: Cumhuriyet Caddesi 75 | Elmadag-Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#131 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#151 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#210 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $52 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Konak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Konak Hotel is located in the heart of the Taksim Square, which is close to the Lutfi Kirdar Exhibition Center, ICEC and Military Museum. Shopping, night life, restaurants, bars, clubs, museums and historical places are all walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Konak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing