We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Konak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Konak Hotel
Ranked #272 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Wuustwezel, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

nice breakfast,
big clean room,

but it s always busy on the street

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your valuable thoughs with us and our guests.

Please kindly be informed that, your rewievs will be saved and evaluated as very important advices in order to improve our service standards.

Thank you one more time for staying at Hotel Konak and we are looking forward to accomodate you with Hotel Konak hospitality.

Best Regards,
Cengiz Akcay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    158
    66
    16
    12
See reviews for
63
92
19
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Konak Hotel is excellently located, being only a few minutes on foot from central Taksim Square. Our room was clearn and quiet but we did not get the double bed we requested. Wifi was only available in the lobby. Breafast was fairly uninspiring. An OK choice for a short stay in Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HallyHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for staying at Hotel Konak.

We would like to thank you for sharing your inspirited opinion with us.

We want to improve your happiness by recording your preferences and requests to provide an accommodation according to your preferences on your next visit and looking forward to accommodate you with Hotel Konak hospitality again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed here while on business in Istanbul. The location is perfect - easy walk to restaurants in the Takism and Nisantasi neighbourhoods. While traffic is always crazy here, I had no problem getting in and out of the district with a pre-arranged driver and car. The hotel is very funky with a fun decor. My room was on the 7th floor at the back of the building with a small balcony. While it was quiet with respect to street noise, voices did travel from the neighbouring room. Furnishings were "sparse" as my room did not have a desk or proper table which made deskwork somewhat of a challenge. Amenities were basic and strangely no facial tissue or washcloths were provided. The rate included a breakfast buffet which was quite simple and after 6 days a bit boring. There appeared to be a number of travel groups staying so there was plenty of activity and breakfast was often busy. I did not have dinner at the hotel - but the main dining room on the lobby floor did not appear busy. Staff were certainly accommodating and helpful. I took advantage of the complimentary airport pick up which worked well - even though my flight was delayed. I would certainly consider staying here again and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_Toronto_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind opinions with us and other guests. As Konak Family, we are trying to satisfy our guests with the most recent service techniques. We want to improve your happiness by recording your preferences and requests to provide an accommodation according to your preferences on your next visit.

We would like you to know that, your complaints especially about breakfast has been shared with concerned department manager.

We are looking forward to accomodate you with Hotel Konak hospitality for the next time.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Pros:
- Room is a nice size with a good bathroom

Cons:
- We were given a twin room instead of the double we booked. When we asked for a double, we were told that we have a double room and that a double room = two twin beds. So it appears the front desk does not know basic hotel terminology.

- The air conditioning does not work. It is just blows warm air. We asked the front desk multiple times. Each time we are treated like idiots and told we did not turn it on. There are two buttons..... cool and on.

- We are at a conference and need to iron clothes. The hotel is large and appears to have 1 iron. We asked in the evening to use it, they told us to come back at 8 am. We asked at 8 am , they told us to come back in the evening. This is not a feature of a 4 star hotel.

- The wireless has worked 1 day out of 5. The front desk told us that it is just the way it is.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ndgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to apology about your all stay. We suppose that, there are too many misunderstanings between you and our front office department.

I have already contacted with Front Office manager and we are trying to figure out what happened.

We would like to apology personally and find a way to compensate your stay. Please contact us by sending an e-mail to konak@hotelkonak.com with your name, your accomodation dates and your room number.

We are really sorry about this inconvionce and hope to be able to compensate this on your next accomodation at Hotel Konak.

Waiting for your kind e-mail.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have just returned from 5 nights at the Konak hotel. As I am cursed with being a light sleeper, I e-mailed the hotel a few days before arrival requesting a quiet, non smoking room. From past experience, this sometimes is effective & sometimes not. When the taxi drew up outside the hotel, my heart sank as it is situated on a very busy dual carriageway. However, bless their hearts, they gave us a room at the back of the hotel on the 6th floor.(610). By Istanbul standards, it was quiet although nothing can shield you from the call to prayers each morning at dawn. The view wasn't great, facing a very shabby building and a demolition site, but who cares, we slept well & that is the main thing for us.

All the staff were courteous and helpful, but for some reason the bathroom sink did not have a plug. My husband found this made shaving a swift experience. The hotel maintenance man came with me, and reported to reception that the plug was missing. However, one never appeared during the 5 days. Apart from that niggle, everything was fine although we felt it is more of a good 3 star hotel rather than a 4 star. Can't decide if the swirly carpets & wallpaper are retro or from the 1970s. The breakfast was very extensive, but often we would be later than business people and the favourites such as fruit sald would have run out.

We found the location to be very good. From Taksim Square (5 mins walk) we could take the funicular to get the tram to the old town. Very clean, frequent & cheap. It always, always beat the traffic, which was often at a standstill. There is also an excellent airport shuttle from Taksim at 10 lira each (approx £3), every half hour in modern air conditioned coaches. Loads of restaurants in the area & lively in the evening.

Room Tip: it paid off for us to request by e-mail before arrival a quiet room. The higher floors seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zorrobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Sales Representative at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your opinions with our guests.

A you mentioned, we tried to reserve a quiet room from the back side. We are really sorry about your view (:

We also recorded your other complain and forwarded to department manager.

We hope we can accomodate you again with a better service.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanchardstown, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We arrived late at 1st April (no April fool) after a delayed Turkish Airways flight. We got the top floor and it was spacious and comfy. Only problem was of planes flying above, but that was it. Next morning, after a well-needed sleep. Breakfast sadly had a small selection. We later went to a city tour with the travel department(sadly the travel department will I not go there again). We had dinner out at nearby Faros, which was very tasty. Next morning, same limited breakfast. After breakfast, the group left and so did I. I thought it was very good.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerPlus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Sales Representative at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments on tripadvisor.com

As Konak Family, we are trying to satisfy our guests by improving our service and quality. These reviews are very important for us. We would be really grateful if you can kindly write us, what can we do to improve our breakfast quality. You can reach us by e-mail; konak@hotelkonak.com

We are looking forward to host you in Konak Hotel again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Hotel Konak (Cumhuriyet Cad., Istanbul, Turkey) has two room areas (area A and area B) as we could see in the reception area when we arrived (April/May 2012).
We´ve booked “a double or a twin superior room” for 5 nights in this 4 star hotel. When arrived to hotel our first room was in area B. It was small, only one double bed and different from pictures we saw on website but it was clean and since my friend and I were staying for 5 nights we decided to our best confort to ask if we could move for a twin room. Then surprisingly our much bigger new room had big windows (on the first the window was over our head and above the bed), air conditionair working properly and silent, a small working area with desk and a lamp and a small couch.
It was when we decide it would be fair enough to ask for a reduction on final price since the first room where we spent the first 3 days was low below the confort and quality of our 2nd room.
The manager (Mrs. Ozlem) told me that in this hotel all bedrooms were superior. But she couldn´t explain then how we could find such huge quality and confort diferences between rooms of same category.
Our “no refund” room booking doesn´t mean that we have no rights in complaing. On a “no refund” booking we don´t lose right to complain when the service given isn´t what we´ve asked for and the manager should have understand it. We didn´t want money back. We never asked for a refund. We just request for a recalculation of final price.
The behavior of manager isn´t appropriate for a 4 star hotel. We were very disapointed with such treatment.
This is why I DO NOT RECOMEND this highly priced low quality hotel and score them low on travel websites.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank carlos m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Sales Representative at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for sharing your reviews with our guests. I would like try to answer your complains.

First of all you made a reservation for 2 people but you did not mentioned that, if you want a french or twin room. According to our availability, our front office reserved a superior room with one double bed for you. When you requested a room change, we changed your room and move you to a twin bedded room. You had to stay in superior french bedded room for two nights because we didn’t have any twin room for that 2 nights.

Normally, twin bedded rooms are bigger than french bedded rooms because these rooms have 2 beds. If you write your request before the arrival, we could arrange a twin bedded room for you. But if you don’t mention your request, we cannot know are you coming with your wife/husband or a friend.

Before your departure, you asked our reception for a final calculation. You thought you stayed in a single room for 2 nights and you wanted your money back fairly. But the problem was your room was a double room, not single. Our Front Office Chief Mr. Vuruskaner showed you a single room to realize the differences between double and single rooms.

As a result, we explained everything before your departure. Our only fault was reserving a room with one bed for you but the reason of this inconvenience, we didn’t know your preference.

Although all these, we offered you a free transfer to the airport, just for your satisfaction but you didn’t accept this and told us you are a travel agent and threat us writing this kind of reviews on the web. If you are a travel agent, you could be more judicious about this situation.

We are sorry about this inconvenience and would like to accommodate you again, without any misunderstanding or problem.

Best Regards,
Sales Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#181 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Beyoglu
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
#353 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Beyoglu
The Central Palace Hotel
The Central Palace Hotel
#368 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Taxim Suites
Taxim Suites
#347 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#147 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Beyoglu
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#137 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konak Hotel

Property: Konak Hotel
Address: Cumhuriyet Caddesi 75 | Elmadag-Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#154 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#189 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#201 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Konak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Konak Hotel is located in the heart of the Taksim Square, which is close to the Lutfi Kirdar Exhibition Center, ICEC and Military Museum. Shopping, night life, restaurants, bars, clubs, museums and historical places are all walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Konak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing