We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Visitors to the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #365 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not for Visitors to the City”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We found this hotel to be second rate on all accounts. It is out of reach of the interesting areas of Istanbul, which is an amazing city. This meant taking taxis to get anywhere, except to the two westernized shopping areas. The staff was not helpful, the health club was creepy, the restaurant was not impressive. The rooms smelled of smoke and the carpets were sticky.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernheim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makin212, Manager at Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Customer ;

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center while staying us.
Your comments have been shared with our team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

We hope to welcome you back on many more occasions and provide you again with the finest Turkish hospitality at the Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center

Kind Regards,
Merve AKIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    130
    91
    27
    30
See reviews for
70
56
46
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This is not 5*. I stayed here during a convention last week. The place is rather clinical and the staff lack that wonderful service ethic that you see in so many other places in the city. If you are bringing an event to this city stay well clear! Food is a bad westernised version of Turkish.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eventrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makin212, Manager at Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Customer;
We would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your experience at the Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center.
We are extremely sorry about the unsatisfactory level of service that you experienced during your stay and we can assure you that the matter has been thoroughly investigated and will not re-occur.
Your comments have been shared with our team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Once again, thank you very much for bringing your dissatisfaction with the levels of service to our attention.
Kind regards
Merve AKIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Upon arrival the reception failed to code out keycards for the elevator. The view from 12th floor would have been amazing if the windows were cleaned on the outside. Th free wifi is not working at peek hours when most guest use it in the early evening hours. Breakfast is nice but certainly not fantastic. The orange juice is artificial.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2900Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makin212, Manager at Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Customer ,
Thank you for choosing Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center for your recent stay in Istanbul.
We are so sorry to hear that you feel uncomfortable but we want to inform that we continue to thrive to improve our standard of service at all times. And than your comments have been shared with our team members

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center the next time you're in Istanbul.
Best regards
Merve AKIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I liked the cleanness of the rooms and the indoor pool, actually the breakfast was not good for a 5 star hotel compared to 5 star hotel in Dobai or Antallia. I don't like the staff's hospitality they were not as good as I expected, many of them don't know english, but to be honest some of them were so helpful. Another problem was the noise especially in weekend when there was a wedding party in the first floor,and despite my room was in 6th floor I couldn't sleep until 2 am :(( I was so disappointed that they didn't even care about the residents comfort :((((

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azadeh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makin212, Manager at Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Azadeh;
We would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your experience at the Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center.
We are extremely sorry about the unsatisfactory level of service that you experienced during your stay and we can assure you that the matter has been thoroughly investigated and will not re-occur.
Your comments have been shared with our team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Once again, thank you very much for bringing your dissatisfaction with the levels of service to our attention.

Kind regards
Merve AKIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Well, I was very disappointed when my travel told me he didn't find rooms for us ( family from 4) in z options I chose .. Take it or leave it naming Grand cevahir hotel & as we were obligized with the dates for my daughter who's attending a conference there ... We take it ... It!s a large hotel in sisli an active area near from taksim ( two metro stops and around 10 minutes by taxi according to traffic but I found it easier and faster by metro especially that th hotel provides lifts to cevahir mall which is close to z metro station from ten a.m till 6 pm ... I have to thank the bus driver who tell everyone one coming out z hotel about his lifts ) a main bus stop in 5min walk from z hotel too ... The recepcionists are helpful ... Lovely lobby .. Big rooms ..great AC .. Good breakfast ... Few negative things I have to mention to be honest ... The house keeping is very bad ! We ordered more covers for my husband as he got very sick five times!! And we got it after I went angry to the reception .. Also we had to call them everyday for the complementary water everyday although it!s a small plastic glass which doesn't fit with five stars services ... Also, cleanliness was not perfect but ok it appeared it changed according to who's cleaning ... Wireless was all around z hotel ... There is a taxi service in the hotel anytime you attend to go out ... Yaaa I agree with some comments that as a five star hotel it could be better but it wasn't that bad as it seemed in the reviews ... Please consider my review as I'm an excellent traveller and I know well to judge hotels ... Not a bad hotel at all especially the site ... You reach everywhere by transpiration with few information ... Just find a person who speaks English well in turkey :) ha ha ..

Room Tip: I guess all rooms are same .. Corner ones appeared a bit smaller but sure larger than taksim hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadiaJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makin212, Manager at Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Nadıa,
Thank you for choosing Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center for your recent stay in Istanbul.and than thank you very much for your great feedback about the Hotel and we are delighted to read that it was a pleasant stay for you and your family.

We hope to host you again in Istanbul very soon.

Best regards,
Merve AKIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just back from Istanbul. First time at this hotel/ congress center. booked hotel as convenient for my meetings in the city on both sides of Istanbul. The hotel was very quiet partly due to Ramadan and there was no congress meetings. As a result parts of the hotel were closed. Good size lobby area with a coffee shop and basic bar area. lobby. Had a basic room which was spacious, clean, comfortable and actually quite nice in decor. Some TV chanels were not clear (most annoying when there are only a few english channels).

Had breakfast which was plentiful and varied so would suit most people, just remember what looks like pork is beef in terms of sausages/ham/bacon etc. Dinner again was ok but not great.

Staff were friendly and helpful but on occasions was made to feel I was interrupting there conversation. could be boredom on there part as hotel was empty.

Took a massage at the spa, would not reccommend as not an exhilarating experience as I imagined.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dallasbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makin212, Manager at Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Customer,
Firstly , as a Grand Cevahir hotel we are appreciated to hear that you were happy wıth staying ın our hotel.
Besides , the topics of emptıness was because of renovatıon of some parts of the hotel , so we were not able to confırm too many events , organısatıons. Thıs was a compulsary condıtıon durıng the renovatıon perıod. As a not up to Ramadan.
Fınallly thanks your feed back and looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Best Regards ,
Merve AKIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel is far from anything of interest, but if you're staying here, it's probably because you're doing something at the conference center. It's easy enough to get downtown by walking to the metro 10 minutes away, but then it's still a long haul to Taksim or wherever you want to go as a tourist. As a conference center, though, it is lacking because the hotel's wifi just doesn't work. Every day, the hallways were filled with people walking around with their phones or laptops trying desperately to get a signal. It's impossible to get any work done without proper wifi. It's unclear why this is the case. If you're coming here to get work done, plan on going around the corner to a cafe.

For the price it should be a lot better. I've stayed in less expensive hotels where I can at least be connected. The rooms are fine, not big, but certainly big enough, and definitely clean. No complaints there. The staff were very helpful as well. It's unclear why there is a metal detector at the front door though. Maybe I was supposed to feel more secure, but it just seemed strange.

Breakfast was not a huge disappointment mainly because I had low expectations given the size of the place. It was not good. One should go to a cafe for a simit and coffee too.

Overall, this is the kind of place you stay at because you must. Don't expect to enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p4tr1ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makin212, Manager at Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Customer ,

We would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your experience at the Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center.
And than We’ve renovated all guest rooms and changed all access points for internet where located on the floors and local areas. Conclusion is perfect. We have met that related departments for breakfast. They will take care of it. Meanwhile thank you for your suggestions. We value your opinions.
We hope to welcome you again in the nearest future.
Best Regards
Merve AKIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Surmeli Istanbul
Surmeli Istanbul
#444 of 1,150 in Istanbul
214 reviews
Sisli
Biz Cevahir Hotel Istanbul
Biz Cevahir Hotel Istanbul
#364 of 1,150 in Istanbul
103 reviews
Sisli
Istanbul Marriott Hotel Sisli
Istanbul Marriott Hotel Sisli
#83 of 1,150 in Istanbul
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Radisson Blu Hotel, Istanbul Sisli
Sisli
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye
#329 of 1,150 in Istanbul
529 reviews
Sisli
Ramada Plaza Istanbul City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center
Address: Darulaceze Cad. No:9 Sisli, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#251 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We add pleasure to your business Grand Cevahir is Turkey's first 5 stars Congress Hotel and by way of its impeccable principles has really made a difference in the sector. The hotel's congress hall is the biggest in Europe. In addition, with 2500m2 of usable space, it boasts one of the biggest Ball Room in Europe .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cevahir Istanbul
Grand Cevahir Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing