We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cartoon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cartoon Hotel
Ranked #730 of 1,111 Hotels in Istanbul
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location was great - right on Taksim Square. The service or quality of hotel rooms was not up to four star it claims to be. The air-con was the noisiest i have ever had in a hotel room, that combined with the street noise made it hard to sleep. Also, if the Hotel wishes to have cartoons as its theme then it should go the whole way, not just the Cartoon Channel playing on the restaurant TV, a few random plastic cartoon character figurines around the place and tiny cartoon character stickers on the picture frames.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel for a quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Superivan4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    84
    89
    46
    28
See reviews for
65
79
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

No sleep.. Too weak noize proof. Amazed how few people speak English.. Ok breakfast... Safty boxes were portable, take it with you when you leave the hotel. Did not feel safe, had to carry all valuables always with you. Construction work of a new street just next to the hotel. It began very night at 11pm.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one room from the back. Not to the street, construction works begin at 11 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pirkko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Cairo,Egypt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

the location of the hotel is great you only need to cross the road to reach taksim square,the underground and bus station.the draw backs were with the front disk officers again who knew that the flight will arrive @8 am and refused to make an early check in for more than twenty guest on the same flight.we had all the baggage an all these people in the tiny reception for three hours.and we were surprised with the room that is located some where with tobacco smoking smell that burned our eyes we stayed in this room for one night with a promise to change it and they did it.the other room was better,below average cleanliness,but our friends stayed in a better room in the new extension(lucky them).

Room Tip: new extension rooms,or choose the main street view high floor away of the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alshaimaamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I Stayed there for about a week. Let's start with the pros: 1-great location, by that I mean that everything that's anything in Istanbul is almost is at walking distance. 2- Reasonably clean room.
3- Breakfast variaties are very good.
The cons: Terrible AC in the first 2 days. Twin beds were actually a double bed with two matteresses, uncomfortable if you're travelling with your body!. Most importantly I believe is that for a " 4 star Hotel", this is poor. I believe you can get a much better accomdation in one of the higher ranked hotels here on TripAdvisor with the same price bracket as this one. I had little time to arrange with my travel agency and that's why I had to go with this one!

*** There are some construction works currently ( Spring 2013) in the Tarlabasi Bulvari right infront of the hotel, so you might need to consider that temporarily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sultan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed there with my friends for 5 days, The Hotel in a Perfect location Directly infront of Taksim square with all the facilities, only 3 min walk to Istiklal Street which is the night life in Taksim.
Although not all the rooms are like the Pictures but most of them very good, clean and with enough space either in DBL or TPL rooms.
I strongly recommend friends and families to book in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3azayem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I recently stayed in Cartoon hotel Istanbul for 5 days, and would not recommend it to anyone for many reasons such as (1) very small rooms, (2) breakfast was terrible (3) front desk always extremely busy so you have to wait so long just to get to talk to them (hotel is very understaffed), and location is not quite as was suggested to us by the travel agent. Overall poor and definitely not going there again.

Room Tip: There are simply no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walid_F_Saleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo-Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed there with my family for 7 days ,the hotel location is perfect with a walking distance to isteklal st Taksim square and Under groung station.
Room quality is fair and you can hear all outside noise if you are in early floors...breakfast is good for 4 star hotel.
It was good value for money but will try another in my next visit.

Room Tip: Try the higher floors to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mezz-Nono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Feronya Hotel
Feronya Hotel
#443 of 1,111 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Beyoglu
Senator Hotel Taksim
Senator Hotel Taksim
#496 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Beyoglu
Alkoclar Keban Hotel
Alkoclar Keban Hotel
#392 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#143 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Beyoglu
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
#372 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Beyoglu
Aston Residence
Aston Residence
#365 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartoon Hotel

Property: Cartoon Hotel
Address: Tarlabasi Bulvari No.36 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#388 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cartoon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cartoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartoon Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing